We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“culinary heaven”
Review of Art Bar Funkel

Art Bar Funkel
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BT35 6BB www.artbarfunkel.com
Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you want to fine dine when in newry then your best place to go is art bar funkles. The restaurant has a superb menu will different meal sets from around the globe and all cooked to a very high standard. They also have a good wine selection or if you fancy a beer them krombacher beer is on tap. A little pricey but then it's imported from germany and has no chemicals, perfect with curries. The staff are friendly and service is good. If you visit before 5 pm they have a set menu which is excellent value, Or if you want something cooked thats not on the menu the chefs will do their best to oblige.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Your review is music to the chefs ears. Thanks Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 455 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

I love this restaurant!!
Today I decided to take my two little toddler boys in for some lunch. I was a little nervous, as being boys they have mind of their own!!
However, I must say the girls serving were excellent, and so so helpful. I don't think I've experienced such patience and helpfulness in a restaurant before, when it comes to dealing with children.
So thanks so much to you, and yet again the food was excellent, I even finished off the boys lunch after my own! :)
Hope to get back soon for a night out without the kids :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you Maria. The staff are brillant and we are lucky to have them. I will pass on your lovely comments to them.
Aidan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic experience. We had a table of seven adults. Waitress was so helpful and explained the best way to order from the wonderful choices on the menu. We had a variety of dishes from all parts of the world. Food was really fresh and well presented. Service was fantastic. Toilets clean which is a good gauge to how clean a place actually is. Cost us £22 each, good value as we had 3 bottles of wine, 2 west coast coolers & more than enough food to fill us. One of us took a dessert too. A truly great place to eat out with a party of people. A real chance to taste a bit of variety. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are delighted you all enjoyed your experience with us. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went with a few mates one Sat night and all I can say we will be back!
Food was amazing and service second to none.
Ribs are to die for..........

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank paulm645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks Paul. We look forward to welcoming you again. And yes the ribs are pretty awesome?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had the best ribs ever. The staff was outstanding! Beyond outstanding they were really quite gifted. Their timing was impeccable. Their knowledge of their menu was flawless. Each dish was a taste extravaganza...balanced...integrated...rich and full. It had the feeling of dining with friends in a space that says, enjoy, relax and take your time. Clearly the chef here is gifted. The menu is diverse to interest any palate yet it flows and compliments. One more note on the ribs...if you love Alberta beef or are a fan of the long horn from Texas and love BBQ you must try their ribs. Holy doodle cakes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rjbucherjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

This review made me and the staff grin from ear to ear. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Bar Funkel also viewed

Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Art Bar Funkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing