We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Bar Funkel

Art Bar Funkel
Ranked #1 of 115 Restaurants in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BT35 6BB www.artbarfunkel.com
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had the best ribs ever. The staff was outstanding! Beyond outstanding they were really quite gifted. Their timing was impeccable. Their knowledge of their menu was flawless. Each dish was a taste extravaganza...balanced...integrated...rich and full. It had the feeling of dining with friends in a space that says, enjoy, relax and take your time. Clearly the chef here is gifted. The menu is diverse to interest any palate yet it flows and compliments. One more note on the ribs...if you love Alberta beef or are a fan of the long horn from Texas and love BBQ you must try their ribs. Holy doodle cakes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rjbucherjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
This review made me and the staff grin from ear to ear. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    82
    28
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

lovely food and great service. staff very friendly. could offer a bigger chicken choice though. perfect for a night out with the girls

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ciara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Summer lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had lunch here with 3 friends a few weeks ago! Really nice spot with good service and good choice of menu. Shared lunch for 2 - soup of the day and choice of sandwich for £10! Good value and very tasty! Very busy place with lots of people out for lunch from work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your warm comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

fantastic spot great food. really nice restaurant staff were very pleasant and it wasnt to expensive

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigbigpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Share this with your supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went to Art Barfunkel with a work colleague after a long week and was definitely looking forward to a steak but when we arrived we discovered it was a plate sharing experience. At first I was disappointed but the menu was so interesting that I wanted to order a taste of everything. The staff very helpful with refining our choices and we ordered just the right amount of food. Everything was fresh and beautifully cooked and we left feeling comfortably full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lortirma, Owner at Art Bar Funkel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am delighted you experienced and enjoyed the sharing concept. We look forward to you visiting again so you can experience more of the varied menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Bar Funkel also viewed

Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Art Bar Funkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing