We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing meal”

Bellinis Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 120 Restaurants in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
newry
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing meal”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

just to say i went to belinis as part of a large group for our christmas party and we all agreed that the meal was extremely disappointing,luke warm soup.small portions,shrivelled up roast potatoes and a desert that nobody took more than one taste off,would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    60
    25
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“food very greasy”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had melon to start, watermelon, gala and honeydew - on 2 sticks - it was dry and a bit tasteless. Then i had surf and turf with plain prawns. The prawns were rubber and the grease on teh plate from the steak was unbelievable and quite sicking to look at. I left most of my main meal as the steak was resting on teh mash which was also covered in brown grease. I decided to order pavalova for desert. It was as though someone had thrown cream onto a meringue base and put the melon from the starter on the top. Best thing about the meal was the bottle fo wine. The staff were very friendly but the food is terrible. We then went down to the bar and for a Friday night there was very few people in it - at 10pm.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful 1st Floor Restaurant”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had another great meal in the restaurant here which is upstairs. The bar food is tasty enough but the menu, setting and service in their restaurant is top notch. We all dined off their £20 set menu and got 4 courses and a glass of wine each - and there wasn't a drop of food or wine left! Service is really attentive but not over fussy and the surroundings made you think you were like somewhere in Italy. Can't wait to go back:)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelfastOxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“enjoyed it”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

good food and great atmosphere, stayed on till the music had a good boogy. Great night. We'll be back next year.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Tonight was excellent”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Our booked restaurant was cancelled at the last moment - not their fault so had to re-book to Bellinis and was that a good choice - it was excellent. Four of us went for the 4 course at £20 a head - excellent & what portions ( glass of wine & starter & main course & desert & tea or coffee). Despite really struggling to eat it all ( because it was so good) we had to admit defeat & go for a doggy bag and the pets will be eating really well tomorrow. Had a very tasty bottle of Marlborough wine £17.
Service was excellent - the girls couldn't be more discreet but at the same time so attentive.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank rftu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellinis Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Newry, County Down
 
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Bellinis Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing