We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in Ireland?”
Review of Mourne Drive B&B

Mourne Drive B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mourne Drive B&B
Ranked #6 of 12 Newry B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best B&B in Ireland?”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Another great stay in this lovely B&B. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable, the breakfasts legendary and Stephen and Anne are the perfect hosts

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireDave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
33
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2010

What can I say that hasn't already been said!

Stephen and Ann are excellent hosts and made me feel extremely welcome. As a single business traveller, who was only on his second trip to Northern Ireland I thought this B&B was wonderful. The room and en-suite was excellent, and the breakfast was stunning. Sorry Stephen I didn't get to have your lovely cooked breakfast, but I would be as big as a house if I eat one every morning.

The cost of the room was unbelievable. I told Stephen and Ann that they should charge more for the facilities that they offer.

If I'm ever in the area I will certainly be staying here again and I will make sure that they charge my bosses company more money next time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigCRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

What can I say.......
Accomodation is beautiful, exceptionaly clean and tidy.
Mr & Mrs Downey provide the perfect place to stay, very kind and genuine people who really know how to provide fantastic hospitality.

Why would you stay any where else?? I certainly wouldnt.... You will not find better accomodation any where else in Newry.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTwinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

newry is a lovely town and this b&b is 5 mins walk away. it is extremely clean with great facilities and cracking power showers.
i have stayed in many a b&b but none have matched the service of this place. the owners are great and extremely helpfull 10/10 cant think how they could improve it in any way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatout_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This place has to be seen to be believed. The breakfast is the best i've had, and the place is immaculate. The showers are awesome too! Can't fault this place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMike1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed at Mourne Drive for two nights whilst attending a wedding in Newry. The B&B is very modern, clean and comfortable and Anne and Stephen were great hosts. We stayed in the Mourne suite which had its own modern en-suite bathroom with the most amazing power shower! The room was large and the bed extremely comfortable, we didn't want to get up! The breakfast was brilliant and it kept us going until dinner.

The B&B is about a 15 minute walk from the town centre. You have to climb up a hill to get there so some people may prefer to get a taxi to and from town, but it is only £3.50 so not expensive. The B&B is on a main road so we had to keep the window shut at night but this wasn't too much of a problem. Stephen was extremely nice and offered to take us back to the bus station on the Sunday free of charge.

We would definitely recommend this B&B to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terributterfly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

The best bb we stayed in Ireland, Stephen and his wife made us feel so welcome, the room was 5 star hotel standard , clean and breakfast was excellent.
We loved it

chris and graham gaylor melbourne australia

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank percmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
1.0 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.1 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belmont Hall
Belmont Hall
#2 of 12 in Newry
71 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Highfields B&B
#4 of 12 in Newry
3 reviews
2.7 mi away
Flagstaff Lodge
Flagstaff Lodge
#1 of 12 in Newry
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourne Drive B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourne Drive B&B

Property: Mourne Drive B&B
Address: Mourne Dr 2 Hollywood Grove, Newry BT34 1BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Newry
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to the newry market and already receiving rave reviews, Mourne Drive B&B offers you a home away from home experience. Located 5 minutes from the city centre, Mourne Drive B&B is the perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mourne Drive B&B Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing