We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing was too much trouble”
Review of Victoria House

Victoria House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilrane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria House
Ranked #3 of 6 Kilrane B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

At the end of a long day's drive with my parents, who are in their 70's, we rang the doorbell at 10pm to enquire about vacancies. In spite of the lateness, Tony and Vivienne made us very welcome, and couldn't do enough for us. Rooms are excellent - small but beautifully laid out, all with en-suite. Free wireless internet, and great breakfasts of course, with eggs laid by their own hens in the garden. This b&b is only 4km from Rosslare Harbour, but is surrounded by some great countryside, and far enough from the main road that the traffic can't be heard. Liked it so much we stayed an extra night! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Tony happily fetched us at the Hertz location in nearby Wexford where we dropped off our rental car before taking the ferry the next day. He is a natural 'entertainer' and one of the few male B&B hosts who showed us charm and enthusiasm. Our room at Victoria House was spacious and attractive and made us sorry we were only spending 1 night. A good choice for the night before (or after) a ferry crossing to Wales. Easy walk to a pub for a good dinner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoebe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We needed a place to stay over night so that we could catch the ferry the next morning. Tony was very generous by offering to pick us up in Wexford, as we had to drop our hire car off there (I don't understand why they don't have a drop off desk at the terminal). Tony also provided us with transport to the ferry terminal in the morning. Could not have asked for better service. Tony and Vivienne were able to direct us to a good meal that night and Vivienne's breakfast in the morning was excellent. A very nice way to fininsh a two week holiday in Ireland. The rooms wre comfortable and of a high standard.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We attempted to stay here for one night before catching a ferry: we booked in advance on the basis of the reviews and the brought it forward a night but let them know, We arrived as arranged early evening and were shown to our room. We immediately had to give our breakfast order for the next morning. It was a cold day but it was colder still inside.It was obvious the room had not been used for some time although it was nicely decorated and very clean We asked for it to be warmed and were told the heating had been on and was on a timer and would be coming back on again. It did and was promptly switched off again after less than half an hour. We complained and asked for a portable heater to take the considerable chill off the room. One was brought but it was worse than useless and the heating remained off. If you touched or sat on the beds they were freezing and were so cold they felt damp.. After half an hour of this nonsense we packed up our stuff and left. We went to a hotel down the road to a lovely warm room, with full bathroom and bar and restaurant and it wasjust 13 euros more than the Victoria House.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Cold and unwillingness to do anything about it.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jumpingjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, S Wales, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We booked Victoria House as the last stop on our tour of Ireland as it was very convenient for the ferry. We were extremely pleased with the standard of our room, which was very clean, nicely decorated and big. The ensuite was also very good.

The B&B is also close to a couple of pubs where you can get some food in the evening.

The breakfast was very good with a nice choice available and it is clear that they are geared for getting people on their way in time for the ferry, which of course is helpful. The drive to the harbour takes a only a few minutes.

Vivienne & Tony were great hosts and they keep the place immaculate.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beti_Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotley Gate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We booked this B&B through the discover ireland website as we had decided to visit Ireland at the last minute and after a long drive in the UK were pleasantly surprised at just how close this was to the Rosslare ferry terminal. We were greeted by Vivienne the owner and made to feel welcome from the very start. Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. As this was our first visit to Ireland we were given lots of information about the surrounding area and as we were staying for five nights wanted to make the most of our time there. Vivienne's husband Tony offered to drop us both off at the pub or restaurant wherever we wanted to go on an evening, and even picked us up, what a star!!! Our third wedding anniversary was on the Wednesday, and after we arrived back to the B&B after a long day in Cork, Vivienne had been looking out for us arriving back, and brought sparkling rose wine and strawberries up to our room which we thought was such a kind gesture.
We will miss Vivienne's wonderful irish breakfasts as they set us up for all of the day's we were out exploring. We highly recommend Victoria House and Vivienne and Tony are brilliant hosts and as we want to go back to Ireland to discover the west coast we will definately be staying there again!!!!! Thanks again from Bob and Krissie

  • Liked — Clean and Comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbysgirl19aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

I'm surprised there aren't more reviews of this B&B on TripAdvisor. It was a great place to stay. Our room was lovely, clean, and quiet. There was plenty of parking, and it is very conveniently located just a few minutes away from Rosslare Harbour. The owner was more than happy to fix us an early breakfast so we could catch the ferry. And, I thought the price was very reasonable. There were two pubs down at the end of the street, which was nice too. I'd highly recommend this B&B if you are leaving or arriving via the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndigoLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilrane hotels
0.0 mi away
Cloverlawn B&B
Cloverlawn B&B
#1 of 6 in Kilrane
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abrae House Guest House
Abrae House Guest House
#2 of 6 in Kilrane
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: Kilrane, Rosslare Harbour, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare Harbour > Kilrane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kilrane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every bedroom has a TV which includes the Irish stations RTÉ1, Network 2, TV3 and TG4 (Irish speaking channel). That also includes some British channels such as BBC1, BBC2, ITV1, S4C (Welsh Channel 4) and Channel 5. All rooms are en-suite. All bedrooms have tea and coffee facilities. There are 3 bedrooms open to guests at present. Parking will be no problem as there is a large private car park on the grounds. Victoria House is a non-smoking Bed and Breakfast. At present, the house is non wheelchair accessible as all bedrooms are upstairs. Currently, there are no facilities for pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria House Kilrane, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing