We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour ... and go elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour ... and go elsewhere”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Alarm bells should have gone off when I booked by phone and the woman I was speaking to kept yelling to someone in the background, without excusing herself to me, which was rather rude. I had read earlier reviews and had what I thought were realistic expectations, but our Lakeview room was absolutely dreadful and nothing like the photos on the website. I paid $120 for a room with a view of Lake Rosebery, but it wasn't worth half that. The room smelt musty and the furniture was a strange mix with no wardrobe. A solitary coathanger hooked on the TV's wall mount provided the only hanging space. The bathroom was dark, dirty and cramped, the bed linen was stained, there were cobwebs hanging from the powerpoints and mould/mildew on the curtains. There was hair on the bathroom walls and in the bed. To add to our grief, the owner's little black dog kept coming to our deck and barking at us, unprovoked. It woke our neighbour and I eventually had to go to reception and ask them to remove it. I can't comment on the food as we were determined not to spend another cent on the premises and went to the local pub for dinner, but I would certainly not recommend this place for accommodation. The attached photos reflect my comments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CHoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    41
    18
    19
See reviews for
20
71
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The room we had was terrible. The bathroom must have been from the 50's and was covered with black stains (probably mould). In a separate corner there was a fridge and a microwave and something like kitchen board but no glasses, cups or any kind of cutlery. When i went to the kitchen of the lodge to ask for 2 wine glasses they refused to hand out any glasses at all in a very rude way. Apparently they had "lost" 20 pint glasses in the last few days and basically accused their previous guests as thieves. As a result of that no other guests get any glasses from the kitchen anymore. 20 minutes later i went back to the kitchen asking for a knife&spoon as there was nothing in the room. A lady standing close to the already closed kitchen barked at me "what do you want?" Unbelievable! asking for cutlery I wanted to borrow, she shouted at me that there is no cutlery for guests either. I have never been at a hotel with such an attitude problem. In the morning we ordered 3 fried eggs on the side of our included continental breakfast. When we checked out i was happy to pay for the eggs. The lady responsible for the check out told me that she is going to charge me 14 AUD (11 EUR) for 3 eggs!!! We got into heated argument about the price for 3 bloody eggs. In the end i left the place without paying for the eggs. The lodge has a massive problem in dealing with their guest who paying an awefull lot of money to stay there in the first place (at least according to european standards). Than you get treated like piece of s....t. I have never experienced such an hostile atmosphere towards hotel guests in any place in the world. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: do not choose any room at this "lodge" in the first place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mirko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I glanced at the menu, and said to the man behind the bar "You do not appear to cater for vegetarians" He leered and said "Make yourself happy and eat some meat" I left and went to the Towns other hotel. The menu there was similarly disappointing, and while she was less of a smartly, the best that the lady behind this bar could offer was "It's not on the menu, but we do have some fish" We will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Once a hostel for the migrant workers who built the nearby dams, reflect on its history. It could have been demolished or left to rot in one of the highest rainfall areas in Tasmania but it was saved. Yes the dogs are a pest, the service a bit light on and the rooms not much improved since the 1950's. But we liked it. The bed was comfy, the sun was shining and sitting on the terrace watching the sparkle off the lake in this remote area in the late afternoon..well we wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest, they are for the local workers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doobasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in an economy room for 75 a night. Yes the room smelt a bit musty so we opened a window. The room was basic but clean which is exactly what it advertised. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beautiful views and scenery. We would stay here again given the opportunity. Dinner was delicious. Fishing and kayaking were fun on the lake and we lucked out with fine weather.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We paid 78 dollars per night for basic double room, it was the cheapest in our 7 night trip in Tassie. Actually it's cheeper than backpakers double room, and better quality than that.
Just 40min drive from Cradle mountain, and bed is enough comfortable, Linen is very clean, wall isn't too thin for good sleep.. (even room is very small and little dusty.) It's enough good value for this price. Pub food and salad bar were enough good value as well.

However, Tullah village is nothing attractive for tourist. If you are not very young and you can pay 50 dollars more per night, you may happy to pay and stay lovely country side near Cradle Mountain. (like Mole creek, or small villages near Sheffield.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uron00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a long day of hiking, we were initially excited by the thoughts of a spa room. That quickly changed when we drove in to what looked like a school camp or mobile home village. After checking in with the not so pleasant reception lady we went to our room. It was clean but that's only because it's newly renovated. We had noticed while getting our bags from the car there was a construction site right next to us. We questioned the male manager who was marking out a dig site if they were working there the following day. He was rude but assured us he wasn't. The spa was a godsend, but the only good feature of the room. It was hot and stuffy, only one small window and an ineffective fan. We awoke the next morning to a hell of a racket outside our room, constriction was indeed taking place out there and then we discover that the watermain had been severed! No shower, no toilet, no cleaning teeth! We once again found the male owner/manager and when questioned, he got in my boyfriends face and threatened him with physical violence! What the!?! My advice to all you unsuspecting travelers out there, GIVE THIS PLACE A BIG MISS!! Upon checking out said male owner called us a liar and accused us of throwing a rock through a window. At least they gave is the room for free but we will never ever go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missagentd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullah
20.1 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
974 reviews
17.5 mi away
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zeehan
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Tullah Tavern
#1 of 1 in Tullah
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
431 reviews
19.0 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,245 reviews
20.1 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullah Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullah Lakeside Lodge

Property: Tullah Lakeside Lodge
Address: Cnr Meredith & Farrell Sts, Tullah, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Tullah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tullah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tullah Lakeside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tullah Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tullah Lakeside Lodge Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing