We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chaukori
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KMVN Tourist Rest House Chaukori
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Average Accommodation”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in TRH Chaukori on 20th May night and departed on 21st morning. The hotel offers a good view of the valley and Panchuli peaks. The location is superb. However, as usual like other KMVN properties there is no focus of management towards proper maintenance of rooms. I booked two Super Deluxe rooms. The house keeping is not satisfactory. While designing the toilet, the KMVN management did not consider ergonomics. There was no towel in the rooms. We had to wait for 12 hours to get towels. There are flies in the dining room. The rooms do not deserve the status of a Super Deluxe status. There is a tower from which one can see the mountain peaks. The floor of the tower is made of Aluminum chequered plate with wooden support. Couple of places the floor has come out of the mounting and can cause any accident. It clearly implies that the KMVN management has no focus towards the satisfaction of the tourists. Overall experience is average. I would never recommend this hotel to others. However, one can try the cottage which offers excellent view.

Room Tip: One can try the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
43
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

KMVN Chaukori is situated at a very picturesque, calm and quiet place, with a main building and cottages in front of it. The property is safe. You can sit in the chair in front of main building, and sip a cup of tea or coffee even in the evening, and feel the silence of the valley. The main building consists of an old building, and a new building behind it. Old building has ground floor rooms, reception and dining room; the new building has first and second floor rooms with balcony(see photos). View from first floor rooms is not very good because of the old building. View from 2nd floor rooms is best and unobstructed, where you can see the peaks, the valley and sunrise right from your room. We stayed in 2nd floor room situated at one end(201) which provides view of sunrise and the valley, and it's very beautiful in night also, when you can see the lights in houses and roads in the hill. Cottages are also good, but all cottages does not have the same view, during our stay, boarders of C1 and C2 cottages used to come in early morning to watchtower to see sunrise, so check the view before you stay at a cottage. Rooms are clean, spacious,warm, have attached clean bathroom with geyser, overall a well-maintained standard property. Food was good, staff is courteous. We just loved the place.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms provide best view, view from 201 is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skolkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Chaukori KMVN is situated in a valley with a magnificent view of the Himalayan range from Nanada Ghanti to Annapoorna. The view from the terrace (or the observation tower) is wonderful. You can sit for hours basking in the sun taking in the view. As a welcome chnage there are a large number of chairs so you don't have to compete with others for seats.

Regarding facilities: The Manager was engaged - busy enjoying himself in the Holi festivities. However, the other staff (particularly the kitchen staff) welcomed us, and did their best to provide food. Their kichdi was quite nice. The rooms were very nice, though the geyser switch had burnt out in C5. It is best to take the cottages (particularly C5 and C6).

Parking facilities are more than adequate.

Room Tip: Cottage is best - choose C6, or C5.The view can be enjoyed from the huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZHusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We selected Chaukori as we wanted to relax in Kumaon and just enjoy the majestic mountains. And KMVN Chaukori is the place to get the best views. The property consists of few cottages and main building. We stayed in two of the cottages with splendid views from the rooms itself.
It is a govt run hotel but still I would give 3.5/5 on upkeep and service. But we were not bothered at all because we got excellent views and enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Since it was Holi, the festival of drunkeness, I'd like you to take that into account when I say that the services were subpar and the food, pathetic.
The rooms are tidy and parking facilities ample.
There arent too many budget options to stay at Chaukori though.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the 2nd floor to have an unhindered view of the snow capped range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumantra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Traveled with my Family to Chaukori in Nov 2012, After a amazing drive up to the rest house, I was a little disappointed with the entrance of the guest house, but as soon as we entered, we were at an amazing place... You can send the whole day sitting at your balcony, watching the different shades of the beautiful range of Himalayas, starting from Nandadevis, to Rajrambha to Panchachuli, which are visible without any problem....
Overall a property very well maintained, with great helpful staff,..
The quality of the rooms could have been a little better... but that is superseded by the view.
Always choose the Deluxe or Superdeluxe rooms on the top floor in the new building,.. if you want to have a clear view the sunrise from the balcony.....
The Food was great....

Room Tip: Always choose the Deluxe or Superdeluxe rooms on the top floor in the new building,.. if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aindril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is an awesome place to stay if love to spend time watching Himalayas. Just take a sit in the the neat and clean lawn of the hotel and the day will pass. From Chaukori you can see Trishul, Nandadevi, Nandadevi East, Nandakot, Nandaghunti and some other peaks also.

If you stay at cottage or Super Deluxe rooms, you will get the best view. Sun rise is awesome here.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd floor Super Deluxe rooms and you will get best view of sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jajabor1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaukori
19.7 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 4 in Binsar
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ojaswi Resort
Ojaswi Resort
#1 of 1 in Chaukori
85 reviews
20.2 mi away
Milam Inn
Milam Inn
#1 of 5 in Munsiyari
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel Pandey Lodge
Hotel Pandey Lodge
#2 of 5 in Munsyari
40 reviews
6.5 mi away
Linger, Chestnut Grove Himalayan Lodge
24.4 mi away
Hotel Uttarakhand Kausani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KMVN Tourist Rest House Chaukori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN Tourist Rest House Chaukori

Property: KMVN Tourist Rest House Chaukori
Address: Chaukori, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Chaukori
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chaukori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing