We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service in the reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avanti Mohammedia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mohammedia
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service in the reception”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is very nice. Perfectly located by the beach and close to the centre. It is also very clean and have a modern feeling.

However, the service in the reception is terrible. They should consider replacing that staff as it is dragging down the whole experience of the hotel. They did not find our booking, but instead of trying to find it they told us it did not exist. After some argumentation (about 30 minutes) they continued looking and then found it - without giving us any apology.

We had booked a suite but when we got in to the room they had given us a standard room. So back to the reception and the same thing happened again - she told us that we had booked a standard room and I had to fetch my booking receipt to prove her wrong! That was the first encounter, when we then tried to ask them for something they just said "Yes" and nothing happened.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    37
    18
    23
See reviews for
17
34
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice hotel, but very expensive drinks. 40 MAD for 1 box of coke! The safety is very good, and it's also very clean. I had a seaview room, and am just glad it wasn't too much sun on the small balcony. It might be so hot, so you must spend your time by the pool or the beach anyway. So it's not a problem that it was small and without furnitures (i even used the chair from my room out there in the evening) The beach is very nice, and it's just to walk through the door in the garden. It's not recomandend for women alone. Mostly men on the beach and like me, I guess you will feel very uncomfortable there wearing your bikini. It's nothing for kids here, not even a small playground. The only thing is the pool. It's not wireless internet on the room, only in the reception area. It is a cable for the laptop in the room, but that's getting "old fashion" now. The food in the pool bar/restaurant was nice but the breakfast was not much to talk about. They had good coffe, and some cakes. Maybe it would have been better when the breakfast started, but 1 hour before ending it was not much bread left. I did not see anyone using the pool that used the shower first.. is that normal? I guess not. Anyway, this is a nice hotel with serviceminded staff and good safety, and I will recomand it if you are planning to go to Mohammedia. There is also SPA and fitness. It's also easy to get there, 45 min from the airport in Casablanca, 60 min from the airport in Rabat. They do also arrange transfer from airport if you like. I would stay there again if I go to Mohammedia.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview has just some eveningsun, no furntiures on the standard rooms, but looks like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Location: good. On the Corniche next to the beach making it easy for a pleasant walk past cafes. The taxi from railway station to the hotel cost me 8 MAD in a petite green taxi.
Menu: Food is reasonably priced but the drinks are overpriced. 80MAD for a Casablanca local beer is the highest price I have experienced in Morocco. I only had a cheese burger lunch. I did not stay for dinner. Breakfast was disappointing. It should be so much better than it is. I compare it to lower quality hotels in Rabat. Eggs were not changed in the 20 minutes i stayed. There was no offer to have any other freshly cooked eggs.
Wifi: In my room above reception the wifi coverage is poor, just inside the bathroom was ok. Otherwise you have to be in the common areas like reception.
Room: My room 139 was fine. Nice quality bed sheets, clean, TV worked including English movie channels FOX and MBC2. Shower over the bath always had good pressure and hot water.
Swimming pool: was good. It seemed slightly heated making it comfortable to use. Sun beds and towels were available.
Gym: looked well equipped, modern and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

everytime I am in Mohammedia I spend my stay here, but the service is always worst: no loundry bags, if you ask something you get just "yest" but without any service.
I reserved a room coming in person but the staff didn't reserve (it happened several times).
avoid it if you can

Room Tip: don't come here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luca.buso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mohammedia hotels

Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

First of all the hotel is known in several names: Avanti, L' Amphitrite and locals calls it Samir.
Public areas are of high quality decoration .
Rooms are quite spacious but furnishing is poor, for example balconies are not furnished. The sea view rooms are on the shade side and if you wish some sun you are facing the parking place.
Staff is friendly but 99% french and arabic speaking, so reception is the only place for information in english and it is not always quite reliable.
The food quality is not meeting the pricing level. There are several good international restaurants around the city and its easy and cheap to take a "petit taxi" to Esplanade du Parc or harbour.
Breakfast food quality is better than average but service needs much improvement.
Clientele is mostly business and working people and occasionally golfers.
Gym is worth visiting.

Room Tip: Never have a room above the kitchen, noise is terrible occasionally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PepiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I read the reviews before comming here and while a lot are correct there are some things that are not.
Reception as they say has many people but only one capable of helping most of the time but they are polite and helpfull.
The location is not bad with many restaurants close by if you walk they are a few minutes to local coffee bars that provide basic food in clean surroundings to a fifteen minute walk away or a five minute taxi ride for some quality restaurants with good food and wine.
Regarding taxis the big taxi refered to in another review is normaly an old Mercedes that travels long distances outside the town limits the other taxis are smaller and called petit taxis which only drive locally but unless you tell them both taxis will pick up other passengers along the way and share your trip :-) it is also quite normal in the big taxis to have two people in the front passenger seat and four in the back so all very cosy.
A local petit taxi to the Parc area should cost 7 Dirhams (60p) but quite often the drivers push for 10 Dirhams so if in doubt tell them to put the meter on.
one last thing about taxis is that after 8pm there is a 50% surcharge so watch the time in case you think you are being ripped off (as if a taxi driver would do that)

I would not recommend eating in the hotel except for breakfast which is buffet style and the same in the evening.
The bar is very expensive charging £6 for a small bottle of beer this is better value at happy hour 7-9pm when you buy one get one free but try and get served 15 minutes before 9 and they all ignore you to prevent you having too many free ones.
There are other bars in and arround the Parc area where you can buy a beer for £2 for the same bottle.
things i dissliked were smoking is allowed all over the hotel even in the restaurant and people have total dissregard for whether you are eating or not.

The rooms alhough air conditioned get smoke from other areas which mean opening your room door greets you with the smell of an ash tray.
my balcony door did not lock but they changed rooms for me with little fuss.
Laundry is supposed to be same day return if collected before 9 but even when i called them to collect at 7:30 am it was still not returned and speaking to reception who made a phone call and confirmed it was on its way to my room did not make it appear till the next day.
My room was a car park facing room which i found no problem regarding noise etc

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebigscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

On arrival i was allocated a room where balcony door did not lock. After complaining, i was given another room and after entering i discovered it was occupied by someone else! The third room was eventually ok. The is very little in the area to see or do, so you are dependent on hotel. Choice of food in restaurant was limited. Service from staff was slow and poor. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mohammedia
22.0 mi away
L'Amphitrite Palace
L'Amphitrite Palace
#1 of 1 in Skhirat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
13.4 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#32 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
18.7 mi away
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
#6 of 75 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Casablanca
16.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
#8 of 75 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#38 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti Mohammedia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Mohammedia Hotel

Property: Avanti Mohammedia Hotel
Address: Avenue Moulay Youssef, Mohammedia 20800, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Mohammedia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mohammedia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avanti Mohammedia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open in 2011, Avanti Mohammedia, presents the ambience of a boutique-style hotel. Your City RESORT with Atlantic Ocean beachfront location,only 20 minutes from Casablanca & 45 minutes from International Mohammed V airport. All 157 guestrooms (30 sqm) including 18 suites from 70sqm to 350 sqm) feature modern amenities and personal workspaces. There is a choice of 3 restaurants offering a mix of international and local cuisine.Drinks and refreshments are served in the Lobby Bar, evening Lounge, and poolside, whilst the Night Club is the spot for late-night clubbing. The spa offers a comprehensive menu of treatments, therapies and pampering to relax and rejuvenate the senses, while a generously-sized swimming pool and well-equipped exercise room add to the pleasures of wellbeing. For meetings, seminars and private parties, Avanti Mohammedia, offers a convenient and dedicated venue, including four meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avanti Mohammedia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing