We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It just gets better…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It just gets better…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having already visited Vilamendhoo on two previous occasions since the re-furb our third trip was just as stunning as ever. Many positive comments have been written about how beautiful the island is and with these we wholly agree. However what makes the island so special for us and makes us want to return are the staff and level of service they provide. It is clear to see that Vilamendhoo is a resort that cares and takes pride in all they do.

The staff and management are so friendly and approachable and are always keen to take on board comments and assist in any way they can. As a traveller with very specific dietary requirements Vilamendhoo does everything possible to accommodate my needs which, is very reassuring – hence our return visits. Having contacted them prior to our arrival we found them to be as helpful as ever. Special thanks must go to the team of Chefs – Gary, Maurice & all of the Ahima staff in doing all they can to help - they do an absolutely wonderful job.

It has been lovely to re-visit the island to see the many continued improvements that have been made, also the special touches the hotel provide. Many of the staff are still there from our first visit and remember us – making us feel very welcome.

Everybody’s wish list is different for their perfect holiday and it would be impossible to please everyone. From our experience however the staff do all they can to make our trip as positive and enjoyable as possible. Thank you to each and every member of staff who collectively create a wonderful holiday for us. We are lucky to have travelled to some wonderful destinations however Vilamendhoo holds a very special place in our hearts.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in wonderful surroundings in a friendly environment then don’t hesitate, book!!!

Would we go back again….? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LJ555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,215
    557
    126
    31
    19
See reviews for
448
2,116
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from a brilliant week at Vilamendhoo. This is a breathtakingly lovely island with white sand and tropical palms and flowers. There are also fruit bats and birds, not to mention the gorgeous house reef. It is sooo peaceful despite operating at 95% occupancy. It never felt crowded, there is plenty of space for everyone. We stayed in a Beach Villa on the north side (cooler and breezy) and then swopped to the south side (hot and sheltered). Both were lovely rooms. We loved the outside bathroom, our swim stuff dried in no time! The food was varied and always a great selection. We liked having a designated waiter, Ahmed, who anticipated our drinks order each meal. We chose not to have all inclusive as we only wanted the occasional wine or coffee. All inclusive is a good deal if you want all the things on the list, but if for instance you are diving then you'll not need to pay the extra. All the staff are calm and courteous. The beach in front of the rooms have plenty of shade but you can always find the sun too. Seaplane transfers were smooth and we never waited too long. A very lovely way to arrive with spectacular views of the atolls. This was a weeks diving holiday for my husband and snorkelling for me, to get away from the winter - but it felt like a 5 star honeymoon, my best holiday ever and I can't wait to go back! and yes, we did see Manta Rays, Whale Sharks and turtles both diving and snorkelling.

Room Tip: North rooms have more breeze, south are warm and sheltered. We liked being on the east end it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This paradise resort is 40 mins away from Male by seaplane. Its supposed to be one of the best resorts exactly for snorkling. Reef is situated right close to seashore and no need to swim to far away. Reef has 11 entrances and in each part of island it differs- live and dead corals, different fish and etc. I am sure everybody will find his favourite spot !
Island itself is not huge but very comfortable in everything speaking from accomodation in nice beach house just few steps away from water to pools and restaurant area. Honestly this is level of 5 stars hotel in my own experience and trust me I know what 5 stars means ! Food is awesome too, grilled fish was best I ate in my whole life.
For the price we paid we also got 1 boat cruise free of charge and 15 mins massage is SPA center totally free as well. SPA is definetly nice , recommend it.
Its a shame about people who [--] about that nice resort. I wonder what they compare it with ..!!! I cant remember any big minuses that would spoil my experience there
If u are looking for best - value Maldives resort which will give you amazing snorkling experience together with nice accomodation and food- THAT'S IT. Dont look more expensive places, no need to pay more when Vilamendhoo exists!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our third visit to Vilamendhoo in less than a year. We return to Vilamendhoo because we cannot think of any reason to go elsewhere. The diving is spectacular and the EuroDivers dive shop and staff are the best. They are professional and a pleasure to dive with. We are now both Advanced Open Water Divers (PADI) thanks to them.
The room had a wonderful view and was clean and comfortable. It is serviced 2 to 3 times a day and kept clean and fresh.
The food is a great range for all sorts of tastes, from the flaming curry to the bland. The desserts are great too. I went with soup, salad, and multiple dessert more than once.
The check in and check out was straightforward and the transfers to/from seaplane were well orchestrated.
Sadly, we are moving out of the region...but hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Choose a Jacuzzi Beach Villa standalone rather than a duplex. The south side is quieter since the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

From the minute we arrived in male the service and organisation was fantastic.
We stayed in a JBW, number 208, perfect location, near restaurant, bars and spa :), after reading reviews they said that this side was the windy side, we loved the breeze, it was really needed, sun and a lovely breeze, perfect. Room lovely, all staff and guest were so friendly. Food brilliant, cocktails lovely. Spa, wow, best massage ever. Mini bar was an extra bonus and we enjoyed a lovely cold drink sitting outside our room looking at the beautiful views. What a holiday. I'd would rate it a 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vickyHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our third time on the island ( first time was before the refurb, and last 2 since ).
Transfer between international and domestic was very quick and smooth.
The seaplane via Trans Maldivian Air (TMA) was, as usual, a scenic delight !
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, as were everybody else on the resort the room ( 185) was kept very clean and although there was the occasional ant ( well it is the tropics :-) I really cant find any fault.
The dive center was well run and efficient ( a good mix of languages were spoken ) and the dives were as expected, STUNNING ( Manta's were in season :-)
The food was plentiful and if you cant put on a couple of pounds here then I don't think there is any hope for you!
In our opinion, the best villas are on the side that looks out towards Lily Beach ( 170 to 190 ? )

We will be going back !!

Simon and Cynth

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

As previous reviews state this is a beautiful, clean island. We stayed 17-24 Feb weather 32deg and sunny every day tho I heard it was raining prior to our arrival. Island incredibly quiet esp as half term week. Loads of seating everywhere making it feel spacious as never looking for a lounger where you want. Snorkelling stunning. Rooms have kettle, tea & coffee, a small travel hairdryer, ceramic refillable pots of shower gel, shampoo & conditioner. Don't bother taking your beach towels as we did as there are perfectly adequate ones provided alongside bath towels. These are changed nightly and as the air is tropical it would be hard to dry your own. You are given filtered island water in logo bottles in restaurant and room but can ask for Mineral Water although the seal on ours was broken before it reached our tables. Don't use salt & pepper on tables as again damp a problem but also when I used one a bug fell out on my plate. Sunset trip well worth doing, don't leave till final day as the last one during our stay was cancelled as low booking figures. Only need basic flip flops (sand a little coarse in restaurant and on paths) and something to protect yr feet from cuts in sea. We loved our week there but our 14 yr old son became bored after a couple of days as no other teens to link up with. Pool in centre of island beautiful and deserted, usually only a quarter of loungers in use at most! Ate in Asian Wok one night, lovely table and lighting, food so-so, very quiet there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 81splaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamendhoo
5.4 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
23.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
10.3 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
16.3 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Property: Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Address: Vilamendhoo Island, 20187
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi water villas, 30 Jacuzzi beach villas, 111 beach villas and 13 garden rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing