We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what more can be said!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what more can be said!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

think of your dream holiday, times by 100 and this is "vilamendhoo", just back after 10 days of pure bliss, stayed in villa 184 on the northern side of the island. This side of the island is more shaded,and has a slight breeze, which was most welcoming. The temperature does not alter much from day to night so the a.c. in the room was kept busy, so should you visit your outside bathroom in the night you will know what i mean, as the heat just hits you when you open your door.
The food on offer was amazing, the choices on offer caused many a dilemma, to the point that on our return we were both a few kilos heavier!
The staff from the guys that kept the beach and footpaths clear every day, the gardeners,the room guys, restaurant and bar staff, and of course the reception team, were all amazing.Nothing was too much trouble, climbing a tree for a coconut to drink, arranging for my husband to go out to the pontoon for photo opportunities,and a whole host of other things, and all done with a genuine smile.
Lou the thomson rep, what a lovely lady, not the usual pushy meeting agenda,just genuine info about the wonderful resort. Trips are organised by the resort and are well worth the money, granted you cant order dolphins,mantas or turtles to appear, but the boat guys will do there level best to find them, so that you dont come back disappointed.
Our gratitude to the team of guys that tirelessly every day shipped sand from the outer sand bars to the island for us holiday makers to enjoy such a wonderful place,due to the erosion of these islands.
If you want a small intimate island, vilamendhoo is the place. The people, snorkelling, and ambience is all here

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,211
    557
    126
    31
    19
See reviews for
448
2,113
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our first time to the Maldives and hopefully not our last, we hope to return in 2014. I did a lot of research prior to booking and Villamendhoo fitted all our requirements, seaplane tranfer, a good all inclusive plan and we wanted a watervilla. I choose this resort for a number of reasons, the new refurbishment (new watervillas), an adult only section, more than one bar and a gym was important to work off some of those extra calories from the excellent food on offer.

I was going to book with Thosoms, flying from Manchester but checked out Cosmos, they fly from Newcastle via Dubai with Emirates we weigh up he pro and cons, such as the travel and a stop off in Manchester to the wait in Dubai airport and having a better airline with no extra charges for drinks etc so the decision was easy, we went with Cosmos. I was very impressed with Cosmos when we were returning we were looking at a 7 hour wait at Male airport because the seaplanes stop at a certain time and we had to get the last seaplane at 3pm and our flight was not until 11pm. We were greeted at the airport by a Cosmos rep and we were offered a hotel room at Male for a few hours which we took with no hesitation, the travel advice is not to go to Male because of the political unrest there but we stayed in the hotel which was next to the ferry terminal and tried to get some sleep before our long journey back which was difficult because of all the noise ( Male is mad, they drive worse than the italians and French) we did witness a demonstration going past the hotel, at least we managed to freshen up, at 8pm we were escorted back to airport and got our flight which was on time.

I,m not going to repeat what others have said, the resort, reef, food and especially the staff were all excellent, all the positive reviews are true, this was our best holiday so far. I've never seen my husband so relaxed, he even left his phone in the safe.

We normally like to visit other places but we definitely plan to return

Room Tip: If you can go for a watervilla, they a superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrsvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to the Maldives travelling with Thompson /first choice ,the premium seating on the flight out was poor if not the worst we have encountered the seats have little if no comfort value and can only be compared to sitting on a bench for 11 hours , a lot of the little extras have been removed and not value for money .add to the fact our seats where dirty and food covered with sticky sweets stuck on the floor and rubbish in the compartment of the seat in front
We arrived at vilamendhoo at about 1pm to be told we was being upgraded to a water villa for the night not something we welcome as it means your living out of a suitcase till you move to your allocated room, overbooking is a big problem on vilamendhoo and isn’t typical of what we have experienced on other islands ,the island has a great if not one of the best house reefs in the Maldives and a superb dive school to compliment it with friendly staff we was impressed with the centre ,if we had any gripes it would be the fact that water isn’t supplied on the dive boats and your not informed of this before you first go out
Be warned if your looking for the desert island experience this would not be the island for you, we found the island far to busy for our liking the rooms where not as spaced and peaceful as we would have liked or had experienced on other islands , the beach was far to busy at times and trying to get a outside seat in the bar of a night can also be challenging the other down side was the way the island was split into two sections this at times created a feeling of us and them which again we found at times uncomfortable when we wandered to the other bars
The general island is kept very well and the staff are polite and reasonably attentive the facilities are all modern and again well kept and clean. The meal on the beach is wonderful as was the hot rock restaurant and Asian wok the buffet food was ok but sometimes we struggled to make a meal and often ended with a mix of foods on plate. our personal opinion is that there should be more fresh cooking stations as apposed to the two which mainly served pasta and fish for the two weeks we was there
As nice as vilamedhoo is it’s far too big and overpopulated island for the true Maldives experience but a nicely kept and clean island
We have given time to reflect and are now going to give the madives a rest for the time being and this was also the last time we use Thompson/first choice after 15 years as we also found the same holiday cheaper by 2k with cosmos

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bullesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We have just got back from Vila. An excellent idyllic island. Quiet, blue skies and clean clear blue sea. Our beach villa was at the top of the island, after we asked for a change, first being put in one by the jetty. The food was varied and of high quality. In the two weeks we were there we did not have the same thing twice. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The Maldivian night was special. The only down side was that people were allowed to smoke right outside the eating area, and the breeze would blow the smoke in. Not nice while you are eating. Our flight was excellent as we upgraded to Premium. We would highly recommend this Island.

Room Tip: Room 131 was on tip of Island. 103 is near the jetty and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsWofCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I'd like to start off by addressing some of the more negative points from other people's reviews. To be brutally honest, I think there is a degree of getting what you pay for - we booked a JWV, and had nothing but five star treatment throughout our entire stay. Our room was serviced two, sometimes three times a day, and every single staff member we encountered was not just courteous and polite, but friendly and helpful as well.

The food; yes, if you don't like curry, or fish, you might struggle. But really, what do you expect to find? This is a tiny island in the middle of an ocean - surely using local produce as much as possible is much more environmentally sound?! Also, if you want to go abroad and eat your own native cuisine, perhaps you're going to the wrong places!

Yes, there is a little noise from the seaplanes; but if you're going to resort which is best accessed by that kind of transfer, again, this is something you need to expect. The journey itself was fast, and the seaplane lounge at Malé was a pleasant place to wait, especially when given refreshing cold towels and chilled drinks.

We had wonderful service in the Ahima restaurant, and the only complaint I can make with regards to food is that it was all too delicious! How I managed to come away from a week's all-inclusive without putting on more than a couple of pounds is still a mystery to me..

The island itself is breathtakingly beautiful. No picture or write-up will ever do it justice. I'd read a *lot* of reviews before our trip, and it still surpassed my expectations. We loved being there so much we considered calling our rep the day before we were due to leave to see if we could extend our trip!

The overwater spa is heavenly, and all the ladies who work there are incredibly friendly and welcoming. Watching the fish through glass panels in the floor whilst being massaged is an experience not to be missed.

I was told by several people during our stay that the house reef at Vilamendhoo is one of the best in the area, and I can believe that very easily. There are several channels you can swim out of dotted around the island, and in just a few short swimming strokes can be surrounded by such a huge array of sealife - more than I was expecting, and every day we somehow still managed to see something new.

I can only give this resort a glowing recommendation - even if it hadn't have been our honeymoon it would have still blown us both away, and we're already trying to figure out how soon we can return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Me and my partner went to Vila at the end of Feb for 10 days and we had a fantastic holiday, The snorkelling on the house reef is the best we have ever done all in shallow water as my partner is not comfortable in the deep.The food was great had a lot of choice. The rooms were very well equipped and all you could ever want was there even the shampoos and conditioners were good.The staff are all very attentive and very polite and friendly and our waiter was Rasheed and he really looked after us well.This was the first time we had a trip on the sea plane and a great experience. If you are thinking about going then just do it, you will love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Satish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just visited the Vilamendhoo Island Resort and this was our second trip to the Maldives and we were not disappointed at this island. Wonderful and relaxing island, great beach villa, lovely air conditioned lounge at the airport whilst we were waiting for our seaplane transfer, then we were shown to our beach villa room 190, lovely room with 4 poster bed and we had a lovely room guy who made our room up and left us a new design with the bed sheets every day, our minibar was refilled every day and the iced coffee is lovely.
The buffet styled international choice of food was good, there was someting for everyone, breakfast were really good, and the chef at the egg station was very pleasant. We had the same table and waiter (Hasam) at every meal and he was very pleasant and friendly and spoke quite good English.
A magnificent holiday very relaxing, not a great deal on an evening to do but we didn't mind that as after you had been snorkling most of the day you just want to sleep any way.
The snorkling off the house reef was truly amazing, we saw loads of white tipped sharks, so many varieties of different fish, moray eels, rays, crabs, lion fish, trigger fish to name a few. Every time you went snorkling you would see something different, if you go all inclusive you must have a try at kayaking as it's free we had such a laugh doing it and it's so lovely and you can see so much from the kayak.
We watch the staff play football on a Sunday afternoon play the guests which is such good fun as the staff take it very serious but the rules are very relaxed.
We went on a couple of trips Whale Shark Excursion which we never spotted and apparently hadn't been seen for 3 weeks so they took us to see the Manta's at Manta point instead.
We also did the Manta and Turtle trip which was great to see the turtle, but at Manta point far to many boats and people for only 3 Manta's to be seen.
Lovely to relax at the Sunset bar late afternoon to watch the sun setting with the cocktail of the day.
Would we go back, yes, as the coral and fish are splendid, it's worth the long flight from Manchester but we have now found out that for next year we will probably have to travel from Gatwick, but I don't think you can go anywhere else once you have been to the Maldives it is truly a Fabulous holiday destination. Lynda and Robert

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamendhoo
5.4 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
862 reviews
23.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
1,972 reviews
10.3 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
1,866 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
874 reviews
16.3 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Property: Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Address: Vilamendhoo Island, 20187
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi water villas, 30 Jacuzzi beach villas, 111 beach villas and 13 garden rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing