We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT food, but make sure you are a deep sleeper!”
Review of Anchor and Hope

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ash
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor and Hope
Ranked #2 of 2 Ash B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights, the meal we had in the restaurant was simply PERFECT! and both breakfast were better as any I've had, BUT there was a live band playing on the Friday night, and then music playing on approx 12.24am, which if we'd been wanting to party would've been fantastic, but we needed to sleep! Then the following evening when we returned from the wedding at 12pm we were refused a drink! (and he ignored me in the morning!!! charming!)
Room was clean and the towels were new each day, TV had no analogue reception (get a freeview box???) which would've been helpful to drown out the Status Quo and similar covers, but that's just a taste thing.
Man that made our breakfast was lovely, and all the other staff were too, just one mardy bloke that let the stay down, but I guess we all have off days.
SO, if you're staying take these things into consideration, would be great if you were going to stay, eat, drink til closing then go to bed.... but don't expect them to work around your plans!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

Have stayed but visited twice now and food and beer good

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We wanted somewhere to stay near to friends who booked us into the Anchor & Hope. We were welcomed on arrival and shown to the room, which was clean and comfortable. We stayed on a Friday night when they have music on in the pub. We went out for a meal with friends, then returned for a drink and fortunately, the music finished before we wanted to go to bed. The breakfast was excellent - either full English, or to order. All the staff made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Staff were very friendly and welcoming when we called on spec in the early evening looking for accomm that night.

Dinner in restaurant and breakfast next morning was very good but the room could have been cleaner - bit dusty and a noisy rumbling extractor fan somewhere on the premises kept going all night. However the welcome and friendliness of staff plus the food made up for this. A nice character pub in a lovely setting

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolsNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

I was made welcome from the moment I arrived. The landlady and landlord - Vicky and Andy - were surprised when I brought the uninspiring review to their attention; but as they explained, they weren't in charge when it was written. The room was nice, with tea and coffee makings available, and the bed was very comfortable. Yes, the sounds are noticeable - but that is the characteristic of an old coaching inn after all. There are two large car parks and the country views are lovely.
A word of warning, Jason, the chef cooks an awesome full English breakfast. Thank you Vicky, Andy, Jason and Coral. See you in May.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank FearlessJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

When I originally booked accommodation at the Anchor & Hope pub, I was quoted a rate of £50, but then received a telephone call that the rate was actually £70 per room including breakfast. I politely said that I would have to think about it, and 2 minutes later I was phoned back to say that, as they had made the mistake, I would be charged £50 bed & breakfast, and the nice man apologised for any inconvenience caused. On arrival at the pub on Friday night, we were greeted by an extremely aggressive landlady who stated that, as the rate of £50 was not approved by her, we would have to pay £70 if we wanted to check in. When I tried to explain to her that £50 was the rate I was quoted & confirmed, she became very rude. We were tired from a long trip, and eventually checked in at a bed only rate of £50, and the lady said she would leave breakfast rolls outside our rooms by 7.30 in the morning. The room was shabby, with no toilet paper, full refuse bins, no milk or teaspoon, & the kettle was filthy. I was kept awake all night by a rumbling extractor fan (or something), and there were no bread rolls in the morning, so I imagine she had no intention of ever providing these.
We were very disappointed by this experience, and will never suggest this pub to anybody. We spent over £250 for one night, and deeply regret doing so.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Keeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sabine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma_L_Pearson, Owner at Anchor and Hope, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor and Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor and Hope

Address: South Ash Road, Ash TN15 7ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Ash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ash
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor and Hope Public House located in the village of Ash, Kent, about two miles from Brands Hatch Racing circuit and four miles from Bluewater. The Anchor & Hope is an independent country pub run and owned by Emma Pearson & Benjamin Eldridge. Along with a great team of people our aim is to ensure that you have a good time, whatever your reason for visiting us. Recently refurbished, our pub and restaurant combines a modern contemporary feel with the beauty of a 16th Century coaching Inn. We have an extensive range of beers, wines and spirits and three well kept real ales for those of you who enjoy a good pint. If you are looking to dine with us then we have both a bar menu or a restaurant menu for you to choose from. We have a large patio area to the front and side of the pub and a very large garden. There is also plenty of parking so whatever your reason - a holiday or day out in Kent, a shopping trip to Bluewater, or a trip to Brands Hatch, why don't you pop in and see us? You can even stay the night in one of our en-suite bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you to the Anchor and Hope in the near future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor And Hope Hotel New Ash Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing