We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long boat ride, but simply beautiful”

Apo Reef Natural Park
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Sablayan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Long boat ride, but simply beautiful”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We did a day tour trip in Apo Reef Island during our Sablayan tour. The Island is simply beautiful and majestic. The mangrove lake is really enchanting, and the raft transfer is an adventure. The view from the viewing deck of the light house is simply majestic: clear blue water and the limestone formation on one side. Apo Reef also have the liveliest coral I saw. School of fish everywhere, moray eels, starfish, big sea cucumber, trigger fish, and lots of non-stinging jellyfish (beware, there are few stinging jelly fish also).
The long boat ride is really worth it.

Helpful?
5 Thank Cata_P0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    10
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautyfull reef”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

very good dives there, but very expensive fee also ! similar dive in balicasag island, bohol, fee ten time more cheaper .....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank makosdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Explore the crystal clear water..”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

One of the best place i have ever seen.. Perfect for divers that loves and appreciates every little detail of the underwater world..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ParadiveSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't book with Sablayan ecotourism office”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

To get to Apo Reef, we went to Sablayan town and visited the ecotourism office. They organize trips out to the island. These are overnight trips, so you sleep on the island after diving from a banca during the day. Staying on the island is cool, and the diving is excellent (even in low season we saw white tips and hawksbill turtles each dive, among many other sights). However, the operators in Sablayan are low quality. Many of our tanks were missing O-rings, and several regulators had large leaks. The people in our group who rented equipment found that it was in poor condition. The dive guide was, I am guessing, unqualified by any organization as a dive master or instructor. Also, be prepared for the office in Sablayan to gouge you remorsefully for every item, service, or favor imaginable. You might be better off taking a dive trip from somewhere else (Coron, etc.) But either way, Apo Reef is great for divers and definitely worth visiting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Niko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great diving and snorkelling, but the price is nuts.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We came all the way down through Mindoro (takes a couple of days) to go to Apo after hearing it is such a great dive site (Which it emphatically is).

However i think people should know just how expensive it is. In Sablayan you can only go with Pandan island or the local tourist office, both of which are expensive.

Assuming you can find a group of 4 to go with, you are looking at about USD155 each for 3 dives. It is however, about USD33 to snorkel 3 times, so we decided to do that and found it very good, although we would have liked to dive, it just wasn't worth the expense.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apo Reef Natural Park also viewed

Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro Province
San Jose, Occidental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Abra de Ilog, Occidental Mindoro Province
 

Been to Apo Reef Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing