We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a stop”

Kawakawa Public Toilets by Hundertwasser
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Kawakawa
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

These Public Toilets are worth a visit. Public toilets a tourist attraction - yes! They live up to their reputation as an interesting concept for artwork. But more importantly.. they are clean & free to use. Well done Kawa Kawa

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IreneF3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    119
    35
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awsome”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We live near Kawakawa. That public toilets was amazing, you never see another like it. If you passing by kawakawa to go to the north, you must make a stop in it!!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ezequiel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“worse places to spend a penny”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My parents wanted to stop and visit these toilets on the way home, they had a tour and found it very interesting. I don't know how you can make public toilets a tourist attraction. They are different and are the most interesting toilets i have visited, but they are still toilets.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlow247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood, essex, uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oh my, what a beautiful place!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in Kawakawa for 2 weeks!
We had a fabulous time, I thought the toilets were a joke! As in, I didnt really think there was any famous toilets! However there was, I thought they were nice toilets and the mosaic tiles were beautiful. However I did not use them at all.
The bay of Islands is a lovely place, it is just a long journey on 2 planes but well worth it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you're passing through”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

While I wouldn't make a trip specifically to see these toilets, it was a pleasant detour on our trip up to Paihia. Quite a bit of the small town is decorated to match the eclectic restroom design, and we enjoyed a quick stroll around taking it all in. When we actually went to use the toilets, however, I was less than impressed. The bathroom itself was incredibly disgusting with a very strong smell of human waste.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbqueen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawakawa Public Toilets by Hundertwasser also viewed

Northland Region, North Island
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Kawakawa Public Toilets by Hundertwasser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing