We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm in a Classic Town”
Review of Casa Pavesi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Pavesi Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old World Charm in a Classic Town”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Casa Pavesi is a small family run establishment, which showed the afternoon we arrived when greeted by a very tired owner. However, things improved after she (and we) had a good night's sleep. Our room was spacious, and the bathroom appeared to be as big as the room. It had a large shower stall and an ornate tub worthy of a picture. We had two days here on a self-guided walking tour, and enjoyed having such a spacious, comfortable room. The family's English is limited, but our taxi to a restaurant in La Morra and other requests were handled fine. The place was just below the Grinzane Cavour castle, so it was a great location to sample a variety of wines from the commune's Enoteca, as well as have a fine meal in the Castle's restaurant. They also had a nice little library of books on the region. A number of businessmen appeared to be using this establishment (wine negociants?), and it does seem to be a good location for visiting the neighboring Piedmont hill towns in the Barolo district.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
57
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a really quiet hotel, with a very caring owner who deserves our support.

What lovely peaceful rooms with views back over the vineyards and how peaceful to sit outside at the back overlooking same reading a book in absolute peace.

The breakfast was beautiful as well as superb.

With the fabulous restaurant in the castle over the road in Grinzane Cavour and all the lovely hilltown villages and vineyards and walks of Barolo region all around, where better could one stay?

Thanks Paola.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKGofHOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I spent five nights in the delightful Casa Pavesi this June (which maybe should be called Casa Paola) encouraged by Tripadvisor. This is a bijou bed & breakfast hotel in a well restored very old building with beautifully individually furnished rooms, characterful lounges and a terrace overlooking the vine clad hills. Heaven!

We had the suite (no 11) with splendid views of the Piemonte countryside for the first three nights but having booked last minute we then had to move to room 32, though not a suite still spacious and equally attractive. However it is at the front of the building and we were disturbed throughout the night by the hourly chimes from the local church which for some reason rang TWICE on the hour. This seems to be common in Piemonte. Does anyone know why? Many touring cyclists and walkers stay here and maybe they are so tired that they do not hear the bells, but I would advise any light sleeper to ask for a room at the back (not street side).

We dined one night at the Michelin starred restaurant in the nearby Castiglio Cavour and enjoyed the excellent Menu Tradizionale which included wonderful wines of the region. If you are prepared to travel to Asti please go to the (starred) ristorante Gener Neuve which has been run by the same family for 40 years. Wonderful local dishes served with no pomp in a dining room whose beams are painted with sayings in Piemontese patois. In complete contrast we ate lunch in Bra, a centre of slow cooking, in a simple restaurant filled with locals called Boccondivino.

Paola runs Casa Pavesi with great attention to detail which shows in the generous breakfast (some grander hotels could learn from her).

However our conversations were always in Italian so how she manages with non Italian speakers I have no idea. She is updating her website to include online reservations which will help attract more independent travellers as many of her guests are members of organised cycling and walking tours.

We look forward to returning to Casa Pavesi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettinaNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Superb boutique rooms with the best furniture you can imagine. Fantastic view over vineyards. Gréât friendly service from Paola! Worth a weekend stay in thé truffle season.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorikketz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Casa Pavesi is a lovely small hotel in the wine country of Piedmont.

If you plan on staying a Casa Pavesi, be sure to get a room that is on the backside of the hotel overlooking the vineyards and not facing the roadway. The rooms are modern with large double sinks, nice shower and amenities.

The breakfast was small, but very nice with some of the best fresh fruit we have had in Italy. We had room 11 which had a small balcony ---- great for sipping wine, eating cheese and enjoying the view. It is probably worth the small additional cost to book a junior suite.

The owner and staff are wonderful people who make you feel welcome and will make excellent restaurant recommendations upon request.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed here for two nights during a cycling holiday in piedmont. Lovely viiews and location and Paola could not have been more helpful and friendly...although I think we shocked her wantinga 2nd glass of wine before dinner after a long cycle up the hill! The room was clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished, the breakfast great. The nearby restaurant in the castle also excelled.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here during a bike tour we did and we loved it! The room was beautiful, Paola (spelling?) was wonderful - always happy and engaging, even though her english was limited (our Italian is more limited). She even took our clothes to be dry-cleaned and picked them up- not to mention contacted our bike guides to tell them we forgot a coat! Breakfast in the morning was wonderful - the fruit was delicious. It is right next to the Grinzane Cavour castle which I believe is famous for Piedmonts' anual truffle auction. The restaurant in the castle is one of the most amazing restaurants we have ever been to! If you go- get the soufle dessert with the carmalized grapes- it is perfection!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADS0084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grinzane Cavour
4.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Beccaris
Hotel Villa Beccaris
#1 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
262 reviews
4.1 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
420 reviews
11.3 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
#2 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
264 reviews
15.1 mi away
Palazzo Righini
Palazzo Righini
#1 of 4 in Fossano
637 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa d'Amelia Relais
Villa d'Amelia Relais
#1 of 1 in Benevello
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pavesi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pavesi Hotel

Property: Casa Pavesi Hotel
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 11a | Grinzane Cavour, 12060 Grinzane Cavour, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Grinzane Cavour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grinzane Cavour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Pavesi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Pavesi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing