We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kapalua Gold Villas, Kapalua Bay, Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kapalua Gold Villas, Kapalua Bay, Maui”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

The most amazing, spacious, luxurious condos. I don't want to stay at hotels after staying in a Gold Villa. Incredible. 5 minute drive to Ritz beach (DT Flemming), short walk down to one of several pools. Washer/dryer in room, new kitchen, two rooms is actually two full suites. Perfection on every level!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank taniosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    207
    74
    61
    30
See reviews for
336
342
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stayed at the Kapalua Bay Villas for 7 days recently. The complex is very large as it includes the Ritz Carlton Hotel, Ritz Carlton Residences, numerous condo units, at least 3 golf courses, pools, spa and tennis courts.

Originally we had booked a gold Ridge unit which overlooks one of the golf courses, gold unit were suppose to have been upgraded with new appliances and interior updating. We were told to ask at check in if we could get an upgrade to an ocean view. When we arrive we were told that we had already been upgrade to the ocean view at no extra cost. The unit we got was ocean view but not a gold level so it did not have the upgrades or updating. That being said the unit was a very large 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom unit over 2 levels and the views were spectacular. Kapalua is in the Northwest section of Maui so a car is required to visit ofther parts of the island. The only negative comment I have was on the last night there a major storm came through, the wind was very strong and the rain was heavy so the lanai on the upper level had some rain water blow in through the bottom of the sliding glass windows. We must have used 6 or more towels mopping up all the water.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We had an awesome stay at Kapalua Villas!! I was afraid of how it'd turn out, because of the reviews online (seems like Gold Villas were the only 'nice' ones). We couldn't book a "Gold" villa because Orbitz offered the best deal ($169/night, free upgrade to ocean-view, and 10% off discount w/ code found online), and they didn't have any "Gold" rooms available. I called Kapalua Villas, expressed my concerns, and they made a note that we wanted a "nice" room. I don't know if the call is what guaranteed our unit, but it was NICE! very clean, neat, nice choice of decor/furnishings, washer/dryer in the unit was awesome (they included some laundry detergent). I love that they also provided a new dishwashing detergent & scrub. They even gave us a maui pineapple! The lanai was awesome - great view, nice place to relax / enjoy a drink. we didn't want to leave our place! The best part was the ability to use the new Kapalua Spa -- the sauna, serene pool, exercise facilities were wonderful. I've never worked out so consistently in my life!

The downside of Kapalua area is that it's further from restaurants my husband & I like, and it seems to be cooler/rainier. The next time we visit, we will more likely stay closer to Kihei. However, if we were to stay around Kapalua -- Villas is the way to go!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Just got back from a 10 night honeymoon in one of the villas on the ridge. We absolutely loved the place!

After a horrible 2 night stay at the Westin Kaanapali Villas we came up to check this property out. We were given such great service - one of the staff took us around for about an hour, checking out different villas. We found one on the ridge with a really great view and loved it. Very modern, clean, and well equipped. We decided to pack our bags and move to Kapalua.

When we came back to check in there was a nice note and complementary bottle of bubbly from the manager - very nice touch!

The property is very well laid out and the landscaping is beautiful. Gorgeous beaches were only a short 15 minute walk from our villa. We had 2 pools close by which were always pretty much empty. Nice BBQ access at the pools too.

Great restaurants in walking distance - Merriman's and the Pineapple Grill were really nice.

We were also able to use the new Ritz spa fitness room which was top notch. Lots of new modern equiment, very clean, and never busy. Great friendly staff too.

The maid service was daily and we were never bothered. If we snuck out for even an hour, we'd come back to a clean room.

If you're not looking for a noisy crowded resort, check this place out. It's beautiful, quiet, relaxing, and the service is excellent. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kquarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Our multi-generational family stayed at the Kapalua Villas for five nights in September, Our group included a two and a half year old toddler up to great-grandparents. We booked the Gold two-bedroom, ocean-view villas. We were assigned a room in the Bay Villas section of the property. The room was a two-bedroom, three bath unit, complete with a full kitchen, and a washer-dryer in the unit.

We loved our experience, and would not hesitate to return. The room was tastefully furnished and very clean. The kitchen also was very well equipped with great appliances a well as a complete collection of dishes and pots. Furthermore, they provide laundry detergent, dishwasher soap, etc... so you really don't need to worry about anything. Important when you have a small child!

It's also great to be able to use the Ritz-Carlton facilities, especially the kiddie pool. Granted, you have to drive there or call the property shuttle service.

I think it's important to get the GOLD room, because otherwise you aren't really sure what you are getting. It appears that a lot of the non-gold rooms are not renovated.

Pro:
- Room furnishings and equipment (especially the washer / dryer)
- Access to Ritz-Carlton

Con:
- No restaurant in walking distance
- Kapalua can be a bit of a drive from anywhere

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoodleRank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamond bar, ca
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We visited Maui, Hawaii for the 6th time this summer. Stayed at the Kapalua bay villas. It is a condo unit in kapalua bay. the condos are right next to the ritz carlton residences. they are luxury condos. 1,2, and 3 bedroom units. ours was a two bedroom units with 3 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and a nice kitchen and living room. probably around 1900 sq feet. the gold villas are nicer than the regular villas. they all have stainless steel appliances, have been remodeled and are very luxurious. kapalua can be windy but it is very nice. the bay villas give you access to the ritz carlton hotel which is very nice as well. the pool is a nice place to hang out. the pools at the villas are nice but a bit lonely. most people hang out at the pool at the ritz. they have a shuttle that takes you back and forth. they also have a wonderful new spa that you have access to and it is free to kapalua bay villa guest. for tennis lovers, there is a tennis center that has about 10 courts that you can use for free as well. all very nice and luxurious. I would recommned them.

Helpful?
Thank 4hondas_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

1. We travelled with the baby- specifically requested a one level villa, crib and a bath tub because not all units are equipped with a tub. Upon arrival we were placed in a 2 story loft, no crib, no tub- stand up shower only. We specifically called TWICE before arrival to make sure the requests would be fulfilled and were assured they would be. Contacted the reception desk and were moved to a different villa- one level with a tub. OK. One problem solved.
2. We booked a Golf Ocean Front villa which is supposed to be equipped with the top of the line amenities. It was not clean- mildew in the bathroom, dust on the nightstand, dirty windows, no shampoo/conditioner, no dish soap. Very mediocre appliances. No crib (that was requested in advance). When we asked the receoption what happened, the lady informed us that the villa was not ready to move in. ??? Not even a remote control for the DVD and a 20" TV in the living room. Did not live up to our expectations at all.
3. Supposedly, when you book the gold villa, you are entited to a VIP check in. We waited in the reception area for 25 minutes to check in. One person assisting a group of 17 people.
4. Location- very isolated from shops and restaurants.
5. Definitely NOT a family oriented place. And yes, there is still occasional construction going on.
6. One good thing- guests are allowed to use Ritz Carlton facilities. This was a savior. The pool at Ritz was great, and the cabana service outstanding. If you are not travelling with children, stay at Ritz.

Overall, pretty disappointing stay at the villas. Next time will try Wailea beach villas. Kapalua villas are NOT worth the money.
3.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giftshopgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KapaluaResort, owner at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
We are sorry to hear of your experience at the Kapalua resort. We have recently upgraded many of our facilities and amenities and unfortunately this process impacted your visit. We are committed to complete satisfaction for all of the guests that stay with The Kapalua Villas rental program. Since your visit in September 2009, we have added 22 Villas to our Gold Program and opened our new Kapalua Spa which our Villa guests have exclusive access to. Within our 23,000 acre resort, there are 11 restaurants, 3 award-winning beaches and miles of hiking and scenic walking trails and complimentary shuttle service throughout the resort.

You comments have been shared with our staff and we hope that you will consider coming back to Kapalua Resort again to experience the enhancements and amenity upgrades firsthand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
26.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#16 of 32 in Lahaina
3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
25.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Property: The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing