We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing & Secluded Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Secluded Resort”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Kapalua Villas for our anniversary. The resort knew it was our anniversary so they had champagne and pineapple in the unit when we arrived! We upgraded to the Gold Golf villas and it was definitely worth the money. Our unit had granite kitchen counter tops with a stainless steel refrigerator. The kitchen had all the cooking utensils we needed to cook our own breakfast and dinner. The bathrooms were clean and had plenty of towels. One of the bathrooms even had a washer and dryer. The living room was spacious and had a big flat screen with connection to Netflix. Our spacious patio overlooked the golf course and had a dining area along with two lounge chairs where we spent our early evenings tanning and enjoying a cold beverage. The resort has it's own shuttle service which takes you to anywhere in the resort. The shuttle took only 10 mins to arrive after calling in. We took the shuttle down to Kapalua Bay and to Sansei Restaurant.

Some of the downsides at the resort were the mandatory cleaning fee ($130) at check out, daily resort fee ($25) and a bit far from the Kahului airport (50 mins away). Even though the daily resort fee includes entrance to the spa, beach towels at the Kapaula Bay and the shuttle, we didn't feel it was worth a daily charge.

Overall, we had a great time would love to visit again.

Room Tip: If staying at the Golf Villas, request for the higher units as it will have views of the ocean along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Aloha Monica L,

Thank you so much for choosing the Kapalua Villas to celebrate your anniversary and for posting your positive review. It sounds like you had a lovely time.

Kapalua is indeed very beautiful and peaceful, and it sounds like that you took advantage of the many things that we have to offer here.

Please feel free to contact me for reservations for your next anniversary! We will see you again here in Kapalua soon!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    210
    75
    61
    31
See reviews for
342
346
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here 12 years ago, and decided to come back. The condo at the Golf Villa was a bit outdated it, but plenty of room for 3 adults and 2 kids. We had a problem with the air condition but was quickly taken care of. One thing I did not like was that we could not walk on the golf course trail, even though it's next to the condo. The golf course attendant was very defensive about us walking there and did not explained us on "why" we could not walk there. But I figured out that it had to do with liability.

But overall, very quiet and relaxing..

Room Tip: See if you can get an updated condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime_T007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha Jaime_T007,

Thank you for writing your favorable review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Golf Villas.

I am sorry the attendant at the Bay Golf Course would not let you walk on the course trails. Luckily, here in Kapalua we have a large trail system, we have the Honolua Ridge, Maunalei Arboretum, Mahana Ridge, Village & Coastal trails. From oceanside, through the rain forest and up the mountanside! Trails for all skill levels. Not only is it an island paradise, but it a hikers paradise!

Please let us know when you would like to return, and I hope that it is not another 12 years before you visit us again!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Guest Service Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I know there are negative reviews out there, but not the case for us. We stayed in a gold villa on the ridge. Clean, updated & ocean views! Beach trip made easy with towels, a chair & umbrella available. We took advantage of the shuttle service to beaches/restaurants...quick & prompt. A general store on the property a plus. Loved this property & will return!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank caaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Aloha Caa Texas,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
The Ridge Villas indeed boast wonderful views and the shuttle service offered at Kapalua is very handy. We are pretty lucky here!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

For those who like to be outside of the busy touristy areas in a quiet area, this is a great place! Close to beaches, either driving or using complimentary shuttle. Good restaurants nearby. Pools on property. Good views as villas are terraced up the hill. Easy access to highway for spectacular west side views and driving tour!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank skiliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Aloha S Kiliza,

Thank you for your postive review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kapalua is indeed very peaceful, a great refuge from the hustle and bustle of the everyday world. We have all that, beautiful uncrowded beaches yet we are an easy drive to Lahaina and other destinations on the island.

We look forward to seeing you again in quiet Kapalua soon.

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We've been staying at both the Kapalua Bay Villas and the Kapalua Ridge Villas for years. We usually book via whichever service has the best offering at the time.

For the most part we are usually pleased and now know what to ask and look for PRIOR to finalizing the booking. It really is a hit or miss experience as some of the rentals are really run down and not deserving of the money they are demanding. Usually you can sort these units out by looking at the available photos for the unit. If most are of the view or pool areas then the unit is usually run down.

However, the more recently updated units are for the most part spectacular and truly a wonderful stay. There are so many terrific restaurants in the close vicinity which makes this the perfect location.

We've always found the management to be professional and quick to respond. On our last trip the upstairs bedroom air conditioner unit was not working properly and within a day a new unit was installed.

We look forward to our next trip to Maui and our next stay at Kapalua.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTimeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Aloha Big Time Travel,

Thank you for taking time out of your stay and posting your positive review! I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our villas are individually owned so they do vary in decor and furnishings. We appreciate it when a traveler takes the time to let us know their individual needs ahead of time (bedding, stairs vs no stairs, etc) so that we can make sure that they are met. A little research and communication ahead of time can go a long way!

I am sorry to hear that your A/C unit failed during your stay but happy it got replaces quickly! I apologize for the disruption in your otherwise enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you again on the Valley Island soon!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our recent trip to Maui was a family vacation for five. We all loved the Kapalua Villa we stayed in. Keep in mind there are different types of Kapalua villa that can be rented, ours was a "Golf Villa" which had a lovely ocean view over the gold course. Nice two story condowith a master bedroom suite upstairs. Downstairs was a pull out sofa bed for sleeping. Large lanai with table, chairs and two chaise lounges. Walking distance to a very nice pool (one of several) but not walking distance to the ocean. If that's important there are other Kapalua Villas such as the Kapalua Bay Villas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRoseS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Aloha DRoseS_11,

Thank you for posting your positive review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Kapalua Villas!

The Golf Villas are very peaceful. We have three different groups, the Golf Villas, the Ridge Villas and the Bay Villas, and they all offer their own charm. The Bay Villas are the closest to the ocean, and all groups of villas offer varying (but wonderful) views.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Maui!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary with 9 days at the Kapalua Bay Villas. We reserved an oceanfront gold villa- 29B3 and initially was disappointed in the placement of the villa. Our unit was set back a bit from the other oceanfront villas so it was not a full ocean view- not as much privacy from the other villas as I had imagined. After spending the first night, we decided to stay and not switch units. The management was very willing to move us upon another unit opening up but we realized we were in Maui so no need to stress too much about it!
We explored much of the west side of Maui but without question our favorite beach was directly in front of our unit- Onelea beach(sp). You can gain access by walking down the trail on the hill- it felt like we had our own private beach!
For the most part, our unit was very updated( gold villa) and the only issue we had was our washing machine did not drain out when we first tried to wash clothes. We called management and they arrived in 10 minutes to take a look. They could not repair the issue so they completely replaced the unit immediately. We were very pleased with how everything was handled.
Overall, we had a wonderful time at the Kapalua Villas and will definitely return- this is a great place to stay if you are looking to escape the busier Kaanapali resort area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaG197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Aloha EricaG197,

Thank you for posting your review today! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your vacation on Maui. Oneloa (aka Ironwoods) Beach is indeed beautiful and very private, a very tranquil place to spend your day.

I am sorry that you had issues with the washer and dryer in your unit but pleased that our team took care of everything so quickly for you. We apologize for the interruption.

I hope that you returned from your vacation rejuvinated and relaxed. We look forward to seeing you again in Kapalua soon!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
26.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
25.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Property: The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing