We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Loxahatchee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and luxurious”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We are at day 5 of 7 at the Ridge Villas in Kapalua. We have a Gold Oceanview which is great - the vistas are gorgeous. It's very quiet and private but maybe that would be different in the high season. Sensei was super Asian cuisine, and the snorkeling is fabulous at Kapalua Bay and Honolua Bay is even better. We did the Manaha Ridge Hike which was spectacular - uphill it's quite strenuous but the shuttle brought us back down. Not for a novice hiker. Overall I would definitely come back here - it's close to Ka'anapali and Lahaina but there are no crowds. If you want a party scene this is probably not the place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Aloha Shannon D,

Thank you for posting your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Kapalas Villas and you were able to partake in the many things we have to offer here. It is indeed peaceful and relaxing here, that is what a perfect island vacation is all about!

We will see you when you return!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    207
    74
    61
    30
See reviews for
336
342
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed 8 nights at Kapalua Villas. Overall, it was wonderful.

If you upgrade to the gold villas and stay in the Bay Villas, you'll have a condo that looks brand new. The place was immaculate the fixtures and furniture were nearly flawless. Our view out our Bay window and lanai were incredible. The bathroom was very nice.

The grounds / resort itself is so impressive! The landscaping was absolutely stunning. They really keep the place up. The staff was great, too. They're always tending to the grounds and I couldn't believe how beautiful it was.

The spa was great too! Everything is free except for classes (but they have a reduced rate for guests at KVs) and massages. My wife got a massage and raved about it. The staff there was wonderful (Cara, etc). Treat yourself to a spa visit (or two, or three) if you can.

Other places on the property: The Honolua Store was great!! Very clean and well organized. The food selections were very good and the liquor selection was incredible! This is a great place to grab a meal, snacks or drinks to cut costs. I thought the prices were very reasonable. Save your receipts for the entire trip and you'll get a nice gift.

We also stopped at the Wine Palette and Merriman's. Merriman's is very nice, but pricey so you might want to do what we did and just do drinks there. The view from there is great! Wine Palette was very nice but note that they only have appetizers, not full plated meals.

My wife and I absolutely loved our stay. If it would allow, however, I would rate it a 4.5 as there were a few minor issues:

> There's no ATM anywhere (except at the Ritz which is a pain). I don't know why they can't simply plant an ATM machine in the lobby or in the Honolua store. It would be a convenience for guests and seems like such a simple fix.

> AC didn't work real well, esp, if you had the Bay windows open. I called about it and the man who came said "that's the coolest I can get it" (and it was warm and stuffy) "it's just how these units work" (???)

> The biggest issue was privacy. Know that the way the villas are angled, your neighbors can easily see clearly inside your condo and hear you on the patio, etc. This I can deal with but we had an AWFUL neighbor downstairs that ruined our trip. My wife were out on our patio on our second night (it was our anniversary). I speak softly and my wife speaks moderately. It was just the two of us simply having a normal convo on the patio. The guy below blew a gasket and screamed and cursed for 5 straight minutes for us to shut up. He really had a screw loose. It was only about 10:15 pm and it was just the two of us. We didn't have a party, weren't blasting music, didn't have kids running around, weren't speaking loudly, etc. He said he "only wanted to hear the wind". We ignored him bc we felt we were entitled to have a normal conversation on a patio but warning: if you get a neighbor who is rude and supersensitive to noise there could be an issue (the hypocrite had no problem making his own noise with two loud guests as well as smoking smelly cigars).

Despite this little hiccup, we had a great stay here (I don't blame KV in any way for the incident with the neighbor - sometimes you just get unlucky with your neighbor).

Stay at Kapalua Villas!

Room Tip: We stayed in 14b1 (Gold Villas, Bay Villas). Worth the upgrade to Gold. The view (Molokai, the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMac2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Aloha BMac2005,

Thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review! I am pleased that you had a wonderful time at the Villas. You have included some great tips for fellow travelers - I love the Honolua Store (however it is a little dangerous for me to have so much good food available so close!)

I am sorry to hear that your neighbor did not extend the spirit of Aloha. Please keep in mind that we do have security on duty, and in the unfortuante event someone acts in such a manner they can ask them to calm down.

We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Maui!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas-Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the villas for our anniversary. It was great, spacious, awesome kitchen with all the kitchen appliances and cookware you need, washer and dryer.
Spa and gym was excellent
I would say, I could see other people maybe complaining about the wear of the furniture or scuffs on the walls.
The cleaning is an extra cost as well.

I love the place and plan on going back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JTat001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Aloha JTat001,

Thank you for taking the time and posting your favorable review. We are so pleased that you chose us for your anniversary vacation!

We hope that you will join us again soon.

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Front Office Manager
Kapalua Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We got married on Oneloa (Ironwoods) beach and stayed in one of the gold ocean view villas. The villa was spacious and clean with wonderful views, the concierge staff (Donna) was great, the spa is out of this world and access is included with the resort fee, the resort bus picks up on demand which was so convenient, we even used or for our wedding and the Hawaiian driver is just lovely. One of the big attractions for hubby was the golf and he loved both courses. Even with all these positives though - it does miss the mark a bit. It is a 5 star resort with 5 star prices yet they weren't able to accommodate small things like friends and family wanted to organise champagne in our room to congratulate us after we married (we eloped) and that was too hard - they knew we were married there but there was no congratulations card or even words - I went to a lot of trouble to check out menus and book a nice restaurant for us for our wedding lunch and booked the Plantation Restaurant when I booked months ago ( via email telling them it was for our wedding lunch all I requested was a nice table with an ocean view) we got put around the side with a golf course view and the lunch menu had changed since I booked and we had burgers for our wedding lunch! They looked surprised when we arrived and while they had the booking the table wasn't reserved and the high chair wasn't organised (our baby daughter was our only guest) - none of this ruined our day it just could have been done nicer! Also the golfing staff on the Plantation course are a little uninterested and arrogant especially in the shop. It doesn't take much up be friendly! Overall it was lovely, but customer service was not great, prices especially food were very high and there were those little disappointments that could easily be fixed with good training

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Aloha Donna S,

First of all let me say congratulations on your wedding! Oneloa Beach is my favorite on the island and I visit it often.

Thank you for taking the time for posting your favorable review. We strive to give our guest the Hawaiian Dream Vacation that they wish for. I am sorry that we missed the mark in some ways.

Please feel free to contact me when you come and see us again so that we can provide you a bottle of champagne for your anniversary!

Mahalo,

Dale Mustard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent 7 nights, 8 days at Kapalua Bay Villas, at a cost of approx. $500.00 per day. Area was beautiful, condo was in serious need of updating and repair. We booked, direct through Outrigger's web site, a Gold, 2 bedroom, ocean front condo and were told that this was comparable to a 5-star facility. Perhaps some of the units are, but ours was more in line with a 2-star. Aside from the roaches, ants and beetles inside the unit, uncomfortable beds, Goodwill type furniture, peeling paint, leaky windows and inadequate patio furniture...the view made the facility. Too bad the facility didn't match the view. On our next trip, if we pay for a 5-star facility, we'll make sure that we get one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank M28UIjamesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Aloha M28Uljamesb,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the view from your unit however I apologize that the interior of this unit did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience so we can better discuss your stay.

I look forward to hearing from y ou.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
reservations@kapaluavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is our 4th time staying here and it is by far the best bang for your buck. The bay villas are basically ocean front and the views are fantastic. A short drive or walk to Kapalua Bay for some snorkling and R&R. It's quiet in Kapalua and only a 15 min drive to Lahaina. I will definitely stay here again. Can't get enough of Maui and the Kapalua Villas.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Aloha Aloha123456789,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review and for staying with us once again. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Bay Villas.

Please contact me if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
reservations@kapaluavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here to host my daughters wedding celebration with family and friends. We had a 3 bedroom villa overlooking the golf fairways on the Bay course. The view was spectacular and the villa quite spacious. Unfortunately our villa was very outdated. The buttons were worn off of the dishwasher, we had to have maintenance come to the villa twice to repair the fridge which was fixed after the second visit. The decor had not seen an update since at least 1990 or very close , as well, The track lighting fixtures were rusted......the upside was our daughter's two bedroom villa as well as the other 2 villas rented by friends were very nice. Since our villa was the largest we did most of the entertaining so we were quite disappointed with the unit. Upon check out I made our concerns known and were told that we had rented an owners unit and unfortunately those units are only updated if the owner chooses or things wear out. I wish I had known ahead of time since the pictures on the website did not represent the unit we had rented. Spa is second to none and service very good.

Room Tip: Go for the gold and enquire first exactly when the room was last updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cojalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVL-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Aloha Cojalu,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that you were not aware of the differences in unit types. I will forward your comments to management to see if we are able to work with the owner in updating this unit.

The rest of the group booked our Gold Villas which is why they were a lot more updated than the unit you received. I apologize once again that we were not able to meet your expectations. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking a future stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
reservations@kapaluavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
26.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#16 of 32 in Lahaina
3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
25.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Property: The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Vacatia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing