We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second Stay - Love the Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Second Stay - Love the Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful location. Bay Villas (Gold) are top notch with great view, furnishings and amenities. Close to the best beaches in Maui (walking distance or you can shuttle). Well equipped Spa which guests are free to use. Right beside the Ritz and having stayed at both are equally great, though the villas are better value. They even have a BBQ at the pool area. It's definitely on my list of places to return to. I would have given it a five star however not all units are equal and we ended up with a broken sofa bed for the first two nights of our stay until a new unit could be provided. Like a rental car take a walk around the unit and inform the front desk of any problems up front to get a quick resolution.

Room Tip: The Bay Villas are close to the beaches. Ask how many bathrooms as they differ by unit if your trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckontheGo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    196
    68
    61
    28
See reviews for
317
321
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Without question the BEST place we stayed in on a 14 day trip to Maui/Big Island. We had booked a standard oceanfront and were upgraded to an oceanfront gold. This Outrigger property was extremely well maintained, unbelievable views, SPACIOUS and very very relaxing. The beach was accessible within a 5 min walk, totally uncrowded which made it very private. Plenty of parking, very easily accessible. Well planned layout. Although we had plans to do a few things while staying there, we ended up just relaxing there and soaking up the ocean. We did stay in another Outrigger property later on, which was nowhere near the quality of this place. If we go back to Maui, this is the place we want to stay in again.

Room Tip: Go for gold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldudebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A really well run resort, we loved it here, very relaxing.
Great walks and views around the park.
Lots of swimming pools and other activities.
The villas are very clean and well equipped.
Each villa has its own parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shiner1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good things:
- location is great in that you can experience different beautiful beaches everyday that are all very close by. One day we beached at Napoli beach - great sand, but waves stronger, right next to it is Kapalua beach - waters calmer, rockier but great for snorkeling, we didn't visit DT Fleming beach but did take the 5-10 min drive to Honoloa Bay and snorkeled there seeing a sea turtle and other cool sea creatures!
- beautiful views of the golf course and ocean in the distance
- the room was nice (not exactly Gold standard in my opinion but nice enough)
- clean, king was comfy
- manager addressed our concerns, gave us a rollaway bed, waived the resort fee for the other troubles we had.
- service staff were helpful in fixing our t.v. and dishwasher.
- small pools that were close by/easily accessed
- shuttle service was great taking it to the beach, the Ritz and around the HUGE resort area
- mini putt putt golf for the kids
- spa and fitness facility (free access with resort fee) was awesome! it was clean, with state of the art fitness equipment. The spa was super relaxing (sauna, steam room, infinity pool, jacuzzi)...I didn't need a treatment, the facility in itself is just amazing.

Cons:
- We were told by outrigger call ctr that in order to be a gold room all appliances have to be upgraded. That wasn't the case for our room (white dishwasher that was rolling on it's last wheels, washing machine ruined our clothes, sofabed was unsleepable).
- not on the beach (but you can upgrade...we were in the fairway view villas)
- needs a kids play area/ activities

We had a fab time. I'd stay here again, but take in account my tips below

Room Tip: Fairway view rooms >2300 are high enough to give you some ocean view. Beautiful. Before settlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MistryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the Bay Villas and rented our 2-bedroom condo directly from the owner and the reservation and check-in process was very smooth. The villa was incredibly spacious and nicely furnished with two large bedrooms each with a luxurious en-suite bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space. The dining room and kitchen were fully equipped and we had a large lanai with a dining set and loungers overlooking the ocean, even though we were not in the front row villas.

As a guest you can use a number of swimming pools in the resort and the beach is just a small walk down the stairs. There is a nice coastal path you can walk, definitely recommend to do this. The Kapalua Spa looks great and has a lot to offer, but without a membership the prices were very steep so we ended up not using the facilities during our stay.

The condo is perfect for a family with children or for two couples, there is plenty of space. We even had a cupboard full of beach suppliers including boogy boards, beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels so we literally had everything we needed for a fantastic family vacation.

You do need a car when staying at the Kapalua Resort, recommend hiring a car at the airport when you arrive. The resort is about a 45-50 minute drive from the airport and Laihaina is about a 15-minute drive so the hustle and bustle and plenty of restaurants, shops and surfing lessons are just a short drive away. There are a few restaurants within walking distance but not too many so best to get your own transportation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in a 3 bedroom unit which was 6-23 (Ridge Villas) which was beautifully appointed and had all of the necessary items needed for our stay. Check in was at 3 o'clock and 3 o'clock means 3. LOL. But we had planned accordingly for the day after reading some reviews.

Had a few minor issues (3 of 4 lights out in bathroom) but with one quick call, maintenance replaced the lighting. We also used the shuttle bus a few times to visit Kapalua Bay for some snorkeling since parking is very tight down there. With one quick call, the shuttle arrives in 4-5 minutes on each occasion. So no issue there as well.

Visited the pool that is only a hundred yards away, if that. Pool was nice with a deep end of 8 feet, lots of chairs, grills, etc. On the web site the pool looked rather small but it was more than adequate and we only saw two other folks there the entire time.

Restaurants in the area are great. Sansei is our favorite. But make sure you put in your reservation a few days early and Pineapple Grill was once again, a top choice of our during our stay.

Otherwise, nothing but good things to say about Kapalua Villas and our stay there. Just wish we could have bottled up some of the trade winds to take back home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relgin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My god what can I say our family just found its perfect vacation spot for the rest of our lives. The Kapalua Villas is everything our family could have asked for and more. The whole experience from check in to check out first class. We were lucky enough to stay at the Bay Villas oceanfront resort my god how beautiful it is to wake up open the curtains the ocean staring you in the face and the sunsets take your breath away. Just a over all excellent experience. I highly recommend Kapalua Villas by the way I don't play golf but the courses look great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
6.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Property: The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Vacatia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing