We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unexpected Guests and Terrible Front Desk Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected Guests and Terrible Front Desk Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and so excited to get to Maui and get to Kapalua Villas. First when we booked the room we requested a noon check in time since we were arriving in Maui at 9AM and would have wanted to check in early, get changed and enjoy the beach for an afternoon after a long flight. When we arrived at noon the woman at the front desk was quite rude and surprised that we requested an early check in and were there at noon to check in. She called the housekeeping staff to check on our room and see if it was ready which it wasn't. Not sure how often they get early check in requests, but you think they'd try to meet their clients requests as much as they can. It just seemed like they don't make that effort. She told us she'd call us when the room was ready so we went off sightseeing and returned at 9PM and never received a call from her. Again, made it seem like they don't care about their clients.
When we got into our Ridge Villa it was beautifully updated and nice. We were happy with it although it was a little far from the beach but not a bad walk and they also had parking near the beach which was fine. The air conditioners make some rattling noises, but not too bad. This was the end of our good trip...next we saw roaches in our villa and some dead ones outside. Then one day we heard something shuffling around in the kitchen and didn't know what it was. My husband took a look under the stove and there were 2 mice on one of those sticky pads under there. We were shocked by this and didn't even think to call the front desk since it was our second to last day at the villa and frankly didn't want to move to another villa for 1 day. Upon checkout, my husband mentioned the roaches and mice to the front desk so they'd know there was a problem and they said they were surprised because people have never mentioned to them that their villas have roaches and mice in them. Well obivously they had to have known there was an issue with this villa since there was a terminex receipt in one of the kitchen drawers and there was 5 other mouse traps under the sink and who knows where else in that unit there were traps. They told us they'd take the villa off their list and get it checked out, but I am sorry to say, I don't think they would do that. From what I am reading on this site, there are plenty of other people who have seen bug issues in their units, so I am not buying that they aren't aware of any bug issues in their villas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lissa727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikena H, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Aloha Lissa727,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although we have been in contact since your stay directly, I would like to take the time to explain some of the unfortunate circumstances that occurred during your stay with us for all of our valued Trip advisor readers.

When we receive early check-in requests, we do try our best to accommodate them. During an unusually busy April and May, many of the check-ins are also check-outs the same day. Our posted check-in time is 3pm, and it can prove to be very difficult to clean all villas checking in earlier then 3pm. Our general policy if guests check-in prior to 3pm, and their villa is not ready, is to take their phone number and call the guest if the villa is ready before 3pm. Often our cleaners require all the time available between these check-ins and check-outs, releasing the villas at 3pm. In these cases, we generally do not make the call out to our guests knowing that during the pre-registration process we confirmed that the villa would be ready no later then 3pm. I will take this opportunity to speak with the front desk staff and make sure that they are clear when they explain the early check-in process with our guests. It is important to note that in the event we are unable to accommodate an early check-in, our guests are welcome to drop off their luggage with the front desk, utilize the beautiful Kapalua Spa facilities, and start enjoying their day. In your case I'm glad that you were still able to go site seeing and enjoy the island until 9pm.

Pest control is a subject that we take extremely seriously, and is required to maintain pest free villa in our tropical climate where they would otherwise thrive. All villas are scheduled for regularly scheduled pest control, and when signs of additional treatments are needed (in your case) we take additional measures to put the villa out of order and address the issues. With that being said, I would like to apologize for the unacceptable conditions in your villa. I can assure you, your comments at check-out, as well as the detailed discontent of your stay with us is something that we both regret hearing, as well as utilize to better the quality of the accommodations and services we provide our guests.

This particular villa has been placed out of order, and to date has still not been placed back into our inventory. We are working closely with the property association, who schedules and maintains the pest control process, to assure that the villa is eliminated of any pests.

We want to express our sincere apologizes for allowing this to happen on your special occasion, and will do everything within our power to make up for our shortcomings. I will continue to work directly with you to find a solution to these problems, as we would relish in the opportunity to change your opinion about The Kapalua Villas, both our staff and our accommodations. Once again, mahalo for taking the time to leave these valuable comments regarding your stay. Congratulation on your wedding, and the best of wishes to you both.

Me ke aloha pumehana (with warm regards)

Ikena Hill
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    190
    67
    61
    26
See reviews for
308
315
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My young daughter and I had an amazing stay at this resort. The grounds are clean, full of flowers and birds with a lovely, professional staff. We spent hours wandering around the many different pools and walking along the waterfront path. Each morning we would rise early and grab a cup of coffee and the freshly baked muffins and head out for a walk to one of the easily accessible beaches. And we saw many whales frolicking in the water out front. This is a five star resort and I highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyMacTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikena H, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Mahalo for your extremely positive review of The Kapalua Villas, Maui. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the Kapalua Trails as well as our world class beaches located on property. I will pass on your positive comments to our staff who do their very best to assure your stay is both memorable and worthy of returning. The Humpback Whales are truly a spectacular sight to see, I'm glad you were able to experience them and share your comments with our valued guest and readers on Tripadvisor.

Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in the Gold Villa in February and this was our first time on Maui (but third trip to Hawaii). We booked through Outrigger and had a 2 bedroom golf villa for 4 adults and 2 kids. The condo was very nice, newly renovated and well equipped kitchen allowed us to cook some meals which saved money and it was also very convenient. The beach by the resort is nice, but rather small and unfortunately it was quite a walk from our villa (15-20 minutes). It may not be a problem for some people, but we had to carry our 14 month old son or take the stroller which was a hassle. I would prefer to be closer to the beach.
The property is very nice, but you definitely need a car to get around. I took one star away because of the location, it’s a far drive to Ka'anapali and Lahaina and even though we had a car I would rather not spend so much time in a car while on vacation. This fact limited our excursions little bit. Overall we had a great time and the condo was very comfortable and had a great kitchen. I would recommend eating at Pineapple Grill, it’s within walking distance and the food was very delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SylwiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikena H, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that our accommodations worked well for your family. The beaches can be a nice walk from your villa, but I hope that you were made aware of our complimentary shuttle service that services all our villas in Kapalua on an on-demand basis. Operating between the hours of 6am to 11pm, The Kapalua Shuttle is on call to service any pick-ups and drop-offs located within the Kapalua resort. They service 3 beaches, 2 golf courses, and all restaurants on property. Often return guest who have already seen much of the island choose to not rent a car and utilize the shuttle to get them where they need to get on property. The Kapalua Shuttle will also transport guests to and from the Kapalua Airport

The Pineapple grill is a great restaurant, and their Pineapple Upside down cake is ONO (Delicious)! We hope to see you return to The Kapalua Villas again! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After reading countless reviews on the Kapalua Villas, we decided on a Ridge Villa and rented direct from the owner. We had a 2 week stay at Ridge Villa 2823 -- and it was wonderful.

The property is exactly as described in the listing. Great views -- very quiet location. Many, many conveniences, including televisions, DVD player, wireless internet, washer & dryer, dishwasher. WOW! Having a lanai on both levels allowed us to enjoy coffee upstairs while our son enjoyed his extended sleep. Watching whales while sipping Kona coffee is highly recommended! The storage closet had everything we needed -- a cooler, beach chairs, umbrella, boogie board, and beach mats. This condo is in a great location within Kapalua Ridge Villas -- close to one end and with incredible views. We went for lovely walks through the property and the beaches were very close. Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJP1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The pictures don't do the grounds justice. They are beautiful and very quiet other than the mowers, etc., that happen by in the morning. Early on the lanai, it was just me and the several sorts of birds, including very friendly mallards. (Grounds are an Audubon approved bird sanctuary). The pine trees and acacia looking ones look like a weird jive of African and Norwegian trees sprinkled on an English countryside rather than what you really expect from Hawaii, but it is green and beautiful, with lots of shrubs and flowers. The overall impression was open space and green vistas.

We were in the Golf villas on the lowest floor (12P6) and it was extremely quiet other than that the mowers and other big equipment tiling parts of the course, etc. We had a two bedroom, two bath which gave us plenty of privacy and very nice decks off the living/dining and master bedroom (all glass fronted), big bathrooms, a huge shower in our room which had two single beds, a small washer and drier with some detergent in our bathroom, and very well set up full kitchen with a pineapple in the frij, dish soap, and plenty of dishes, etc. No housekeeping for the five days we were there ($50 if you want fresh towels delivered and trash dumped rather than doing it yourself at the bins across the way, or well over a hundred per bedroom for full service cleaning during your visit), but plenty of coffee and towels for the room and beach were available at the check in building, and there were free chair loans available at the beach. There was a vacuum and other cleaning stuff in the room and not having housekeepers in made it feel more like our own place for the week. Other guests were quiet and friendly.

Sunsets on the beach were gorgeous, and the snorkeling was better than the several other places we tried here and on Oahu, including Hanauma and a snorkel tour trip. There were sea turtles at one of the beaches over by the Ritz. Waves were very light, and it wasn't crowded, though we were there in mid-April and things were a little slow. Pools were small, but the beach was a five or ten minute walk or shuttle ride away.

It only took twenty minutes to half an hour into Lahaina, though one day it took over an hour to get back to the room from the aquarium because of all the "rush hour" traffic...I think mostly tourists and surfers pulling on and off the beaches along the two-lane highway between there and Ma'alaea on the south end. Most times it only took an hour or less to get all the way across to the airport from Kapalua though. Lahaina was great for whalewatching in that season (we had a great experience on one of the small boats with Pacific Whale Foundation), the Atlantis submarine was fun and more of a unique experience than I expected in terms of seeing the reefs and fish after all the snorkeling, French toast on Hawaiian bread at the Pioneer Inn by the harbor in the morning, drinks and people watching anywhere along the main drag at night (though the sidewalk rolls up fairly early). The banyan tree and museum beside it are great, and the craft fair over the weekend under it is a great place to find a unique and locally-made souvenir (you can watch local wood carvers...listen for the tapping), and the Blue Lagoon across from the park had excellent mid-day happy hour Mai thais and fish tacos.

We had nice free covered parking, though rooms were definitely not handicap accessible, and you would definitely want to ask for one closer to ground level if you had trouble with stairs or luggage and stairs. There is only a set or so, but the rooms had a step or so in and out.

The condo itself wasn't perfect, but I wouldn't complain either. It was nicely decorated with sturdy and comfortable furniture that showed a little wear. There were a few stains on the living room rug, and sheets were a little worn but very soft and fresh smelling. No bugs at all and very clean, with everything in good working order including efficient and quiet central AC (though the dish washer was more of a rinser). I slept on the couch some nights due to a snoring roomie. I think it folded out, but I didn't bother. I'm short, and it was comfy as it was. I hate sleeping in a bright room but left all the blinds open even though the whole front of the living and dining room was glass because only one distant house light, stars, and the trees were visible.

The spa was extremely nice and had a salt pool with a bit of an ocean view, plus a separate womens' area. They let us have a late check out and then use the spa on our last day- we had a red eye flight out. We went into Lahaina and then drove back for showers and free tooth brushes at the spa in the afternoon, then picked up our luggage that was stored at the front desk since rental cars are such a theft target. Thanks to United, it took us an extra seven hours to get home, so we were very grateful for that final shower! The treatment rooms were isolated bungalows in a beautiful garden, and I wished I'd scheduled a massage!

Lots of weddings took place on the beach, and women would get ready in the spa, which seemed like a really nice way to do things. This is a great place for a couple, a group of friends, or retirees, but I wouldn't really recommend this for families with young kids. (I think the Hilton we first stayed at on Oahu was crawling with families because of its convenience to the pools, entertainment, and other necessities, but this really isn't, and honestly, if you just want a pool, save the airfare and get a membership to a local one). Rooms were big enough, but there wasn't much close to entertain them, and the ABC store at Kapalua seemed more expensive than others ($12 for a small NyQuil, for example, but decent snorkels for $30 or so). The Times Supermarket near Honokowai is closer than the Safeway, seemed to have a better selection and prices, with lots of cheap coffee and some fun souvenirs and beach stuff.

Overall, if you want to spend the extra money for a large room in a more remote area, this is a very nice place. If you want perfection in your furnishings, I suspect the Ritz or similar would probably fit the bill better. The spa is great no matter what. Don't know much about golf, but it looked like paradise on that count. The beach is simply amazing with tons of coral, lots of different types of fish, and a few turtles. I hope folks who use the beach will learn a bit about why they shouldn't step on rocks and coral or try to pet the turtles so it will stay nice and not turn into a baron sandscape! If you go, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: Higher floors on the golf side might have had some view of the ocean, but a smaller lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Kapalua Villas are all individually owned but the one that we stayed in was EXCELLENT. It was a 1 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath that had a balcony overlooking the water, it's own kitchen with a bar to sit at, 4 seater table... There is a little shop/deli type store that you can purchase some food at by order or snacks as well as souvenir type things (this is on the main road/Office Road). We stayed at a golf villa which was awesome & there are pro golf tournaments held on the course that is alongside the villas.

Safeway is the place you can go to get groceries if you would like to save some money and cook in your villa. Also, the shopping is close. You can go to Ka'anapali beach for some great snorkeling or Lahaina for shopping along the street or to see the Banyan tree. All within about 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank morganariel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Southwest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in 2721 at the Ridge Villas and it was the best stay we have had in Maui yet. The location is great for the true traveler. Out of the hustle and bustle of Lahaina and Kaanapali with great views of the channel. Nothing beats watching whales play while enjoying a fresh fruit plate on the patio first thing in the morning.
We have stayed in both a standard golf villa as well and it is definitely worth the money to stay in the gold villas, although both were great. The bed was very comfortable, the furnishings were up to date, and the floor plan is very roomy. About half of our party stayed at the Kapalua Villas. we were able to experience the gold one and two bedroomsat the Golf, Ridge, and Bay Villas. I personally thought the ridge villas had the best views, while the Bay Villas had the best soundtrack. I really felt at peace sipping a vodka tonic and twist while listening to the waves crash on the rocks.
We were married at Kapalua Bay beach so we definitely enjoyed the property. The nearby beaches are some of the best on Maui...great snorkeling at Kapalua Bay and a sick shore break for those brave enough to hit up Flemming. We ate at Sansei, the Iron Imu, the Plantation House and the Honolua store...all within a short walk except for the plantation house. They were all very different but very good. The access to the Ritz facilities and spa and the associated discounts were fantastic. My wife enjoyed the Spa and had her make up and hair done at the Ritz for the wedding.
Finally, the staff. All very friendly...right from the GM Mr Osterling and the Manager Mr Hill to the grounds people and the front desk were very friendly and cheery. They checked on us upon check in to make sure everything was in order...it was. After that, we did not here from the staff until check out, not because they weren't attentive, but because everything was perfect to begin with. We will be back!

Room Tip: The higher number ridge villas have great views. The Golf Villas are a little older, but a great va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 539twjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
6.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Property: The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing