We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kapalua Villas DESTROYS EXPENSIVE small hotel rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Kapalua Villas DESTROYS EXPENSIVE small hotel rooms!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arriving on the last flight into Maui, starving & failing to find an open place to eat at AND locking my keys in the trunk of my rental... i finally made it to the Kapalua Villas.
it was very late & well past my check in time, but the girl at the desk was BEYOND warm & friendly.

With the turn of a key i was SWEPT OVER with an IMMENSE shock and disbelief at how amazingly nice my villa was. i had to call the front desk to make sure they gave me the right room...this place was MASSIVE! 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 patios, full service kitchen (sub zero fridge, ge monogram stove top & dishwasher), 50" sony flat screen TV in the living room with 37" flat screens in each bedroom, free wifi, hardwood floors, multi-person shower, 2 person tub, walk in closet with wine rack, ceiling to floor mirrors and a master bedroom w/french doors and a view of the ocean from bed...I IMMEDIATELY WAS IN LOVE WITH MY VILLA... i can't begin to tell you how amazingly relaxing my stay was.
everything was top notch from the TV's (ie: sony & LG) to the kitchen appliances to the 1000 thread count sheets on a pillow top mattress...this room easily made me forget about the bad parts of my trip...and drowned me in complete and utter 1st class luxurious comfort...i think the villa was about 1000+sq. ft.
and for what you pay to rent a villa versus the cost of a 400 sq. ft. hotel ROOM, hands down Kapalua Villas is the WINNER!!!

check out my video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Iz7yiw9748

RECAP:

- AMAZING VALUE for rental fee (best value when purchased w/flight package)...i wasn't renting a hotel room, i was renting a VERY NICE HOME! also felt like i was in the middle of the forest!

- NOTHING BAD ABOUT THE HOTEL but the distance from various night life, lack of movie theatre, not really a spot for someone wanting to boogie at night...

- BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL...definitely for the person who wishes to be lost and away from fast paced civilization...

Room Tip: for SUPER LOW LOW villa rates...best to book a flight & hotel bundle on expedia. also keep in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mushedroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    210
    75
    61
    31
See reviews for
342
346
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
684 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a fabulous property! We had an ocean view one-bedroom villa that was done beautifully, with new construction (granite, cabinets, appliances), comfortable yet elegant furniture & big tv’s, with all the accoutrements (nice plates and silverware, wine glasses and gourmet cookware -- fully stocked, and even a wine refrigerator we could use!) to make it both luxurious and homey. The lanai was perfect for morning coffee (and fun to watch the golfers start and finish the back 9) and evening sunset drinks (sun sets right over Lanai, which you see just beyond the Pineapple Grill, which is lit at night with tiki torches). It's only a 7 minute walk down to the beach - that's Kapalua Bay, but Napili was only 1 minute further, Ironwoods another 3 minutes, and DT Fleming's another 5 minutes beyond that. There's plenty to do nearby (ok, we golfed and snorkeled a lot), and walked the old Village golf course, which is now decommissioned for golf but turned into walking and biking trails (or you could go zip lining if you want). Our daily walk is the Coastal trail that runs from Kapalua to DT Fleming beach....all along the water with smooth beaches, crashing waves, and even a bird sanctuary. The Villas staff was great and helpful. We never did use the spa/gym, because there's so much to do outside, but it looks lovely. There's a resort shuttle if you don't feel like walking (we also didn't use.....we just walked everywhere). Someone mentioned the pools.....they're small-ish, with not great views (although the one by ours was good for sunset barbeque-ing), but clean and well maintained - we go there for the ocean, anyway, and don't even get into a swimming pool. While our unit was a 1 bedroom, it would accommodate a family via the sofa bed in the living room – by reading the guest book, that seems to be a common occurrence there (all wrote very highly of it, too). We LOVE staying in condos where we have the option of feeding ourselves (stop at Costco on your way in from the airport!). The Honolua Store is nearby for forgotten items, or you can drive to Napili to the nearest full grocery. So much to do at Kapalua......love the resort, love the golf villas. Will go again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a-travelin-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Kapalua Villas in mid April, 2012. Ours was a partial ocean view villa. The front desk people were really nice and tried to find us a full ocean view but could not as they were all booked. They were really apologetic about it too. They sent us a complementary champagne once they found out that it was our honeymoon.
The villa itself was so gorgeous. Even though the view was partial ocean view, we had a nice view of the garden beyond which we could see the beach. It was a good combined view of the gardens and the beach. We could watch the sunset everyday from our balcony which even to this day remains in my memory.
The living area and the bedroom had floor to ceiling glass doors which gave the ocean view.
I had to cook as we didn't want to have restaurant food everyday. The kitchen had everything that one might need.
The only drawback is the long drive to the villa from the airport. I think it was approximately 30miles one way. If you don't mind the drive then I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The whole Kapalua resort area is beautifully laid out, with many amenities including great restaurants, golf and shops. Upon arrival, we found the service to be welcoming and very accomodating. Our Bay Villa was wonderful, with views as far as the eye could see of the ocean and other islands off the coast. It seemed we almost had the whole place to ourselves as it was very quiet and peaceful. The layout of the villas was nice, with the bathroom being a big hit with us due to having two huge sink areas, and a huge walk in shower. The patio/balcony was great as well. While we only stayed three nights, I could have easily stayed a week! The Plantation Golf Course is not to be missed, the views are breathtaking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Okay, so that title sounds a bit silly. But, the villa had floor to ceiling windows on an cliff overlooking the ocean and it felt like I was sitting on the edge without leaving bed. Best views of any hotel/accom I've ever stayed at.

Huge two story villa with all brand new facilities and amenities. Gorgeous place!

Had some great nights here and would highly recommend spending a week here.

Also suggest Pineapple Grill and the spa. ohhh... the spa (a must-do!) The Kapalua Spa was completely relaxing and a great way to unwind after a day of adventures.

Room Tip: #22 is a great villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seattlestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Apartment was nice, great views of the golf course.

Staff was friendly and apartment clean. Used the pool and BBQ a few nights which was great.

Highlight of the stay was the $25 resort fee. The Spa is AMAZING!! WELL WORTH A VISIT! and the resort shuttle was really useful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We had ocean view villa. It was very clean and open. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry and nicely furnished. The bad things were we had no beach access by foot and had to drive also they are very close together and no privacy on the back patio but very quiet and peaceful and 20 mins drive from lahaina

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiebrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
26.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
25.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Property: The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing