We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Kapalua Golf Villa 12v3 was excellent! Ocean and 10th/18th hole views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
586 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Kapalua Golf Villa 12v3 was excellent! Ocean and 10th/18th hole views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a fabulous property! We had an ocean view one-bedroom villa that was done beautifully, with new construction (granite, cabinets, appliances), comfortable yet elegant furniture & big tv’s, with all the accoutrements (nice plates and silverware, wine glasses and gourmet cookware -- fully stocked, and even a wine refrigerator we could use!) to make it both luxurious and homey. The lanai was perfect for morning coffee (and fun to watch the golfers start and finish the back 9) and evening sunset drinks (sun sets right over Lanai, which you see just beyond the Pineapple Grill, which is lit at night with tiki torches). It's only a 7 minute walk down to the beach - that's Kapalua Bay, but Napili was only 1 minute further, Ironwoods another 3 minutes, and DT Fleming's another 5 minutes beyond that. There's plenty to do nearby (ok, we golfed and snorkeled a lot), and walked the old Village golf course, which is now decommissioned for golf but turned into walking and biking trails (or you could go zip lining if you want). Our daily walk is the Coastal trail that runs from Kapalua to DT Fleming beach....all along the water with smooth beaches, crashing waves, and even a bird sanctuary. The Villas staff was great and helpful. We never did use the spa/gym, because there's so much to do outside, but it looks lovely. There's a resort shuttle if you don't feel like walking (we also didn't use.....we just walked everywhere). Someone mentioned the pools.....they're small-ish, with not great views (although the one by ours was good for sunset barbeque-ing), but clean and well maintained - we go there for the ocean, anyway, and don't even get into a swimming pool. While our unit was a 1 bedroom, it would accommodate a family via the sofa bed in the living room – by reading the guest book, that seems to be a common occurrence there (all wrote very highly of it, too). We LOVE staying in condos where we have the option of feeding ourselves (stop at Costco on your way in from the airport!). The Honolua Store is nearby for forgotten items, or you can drive to Napili to the nearest full grocery. So much to do at Kapalua......love the resort, love the golf villas. Will go again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a-travelin-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    197
    71
    62
    28
See reviews for
321
329
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Kapalua Villas in mid April, 2012. Ours was a partial ocean view villa. The front desk people were really nice and tried to find us a full ocean view but could not as they were all booked. They were really apologetic about it too. They sent us a complementary champagne once they found out that it was our honeymoon.
The villa itself was so gorgeous. Even though the view was partial ocean view, we had a nice view of the garden beyond which we could see the beach. It was a good combined view of the gardens and the beach. We could watch the sunset everyday from our balcony which even to this day remains in my memory.
The living area and the bedroom had floor to ceiling glass doors which gave the ocean view.
I had to cook as we didn't want to have restaurant food everyday. The kitchen had everything that one might need.
The only drawback is the long drive to the villa from the airport. I think it was approximately 30miles one way. If you don't mind the drive then I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The whole Kapalua resort area is beautifully laid out, with many amenities including great restaurants, golf and shops. Upon arrival, we found the service to be welcoming and very accomodating. Our Bay Villa was wonderful, with views as far as the eye could see of the ocean and other islands off the coast. It seemed we almost had the whole place to ourselves as it was very quiet and peaceful. The layout of the villas was nice, with the bathroom being a big hit with us due to having two huge sink areas, and a huge walk in shower. The patio/balcony was great as well. While we only stayed three nights, I could have easily stayed a week! The Plantation Golf Course is not to be missed, the views are breathtaking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Okay, so that title sounds a bit silly. But, the villa had floor to ceiling windows on an cliff overlooking the ocean and it felt like I was sitting on the edge without leaving bed. Best views of any hotel/accom I've ever stayed at.

Huge two story villa with all brand new facilities and amenities. Gorgeous place!

Had some great nights here and would highly recommend spending a week here.

Also suggest Pineapple Grill and the spa. ohhh... the spa (a must-do!) The Kapalua Spa was completely relaxing and a great way to unwind after a day of adventures.

Room Tip: #22 is a great villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seattlestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Apartment was nice, great views of the golf course.

Staff was friendly and apartment clean. Used the pool and BBQ a few nights which was great.

Highlight of the stay was the $25 resort fee. The Spa is AMAZING!! WELL WORTH A VISIT! and the resort shuttle was really useful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We had ocean view villa. It was very clean and open. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry and nicely furnished. The bad things were we had no beach access by foot and had to drive also they are very close together and no privacy on the back patio but very quiet and peaceful and 20 mins drive from lahaina

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiebrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here in a two bedroom, ocean view gold condo, which was very nice. The view was great and the furnishings were adequate. This was a loft unit, where the second floor was a master suite with nice en suite bathroom and covered lanai with a panoramic view of Molokai.

We brought our 2 year old daughter who slept / took naps in the downstairs bedroom which was very comfortable -- the upstairs bedroom got a little stuffy due to weak air conditioning and was hard to keep dark when the sun was coming up. Overall the accommodations were a great value.

We did find that the pool etc. was lacking. You used to be able to hang out at the Ritz Carlton which is nice enough. We tried that one day, but we couldn't get towels without a room and we felt like we were trespassing. We spent a lot of time at the nearby beach which was beautiful and great fun for me but a little rough for my little girl. Next time we'll probably stay at the Westin, where the rooms aren't as nice, but where they have a great pool scene for little kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
6.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Property: The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing