We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but apparently sacred ground so should not go...”
Review of Dragon's Teeth

Dragon's Teeth
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
Attraction details
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great, but apparently sacred ground so should not go...”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Difficult to review this - like others I found out about this through the Maui Revealed book, which mentions on the same page that the nearby Ritz Carlton was built further back from the water than they wanted because the closer ground to the water is sacred to the locals. I found out after I came back from Maui on the forums here on Trip Advisor that these rock formations are also sacred, but strangely the Maui Revealed book neglects to mention this. There were plenty of people there but knowing what I know now, should not go here. That said, the rock formations are really interesting, it can be slippery, and there are good photo opportunities here. But seems best to stay away. Beyond that, as others have said, worth seeing if you don't have to drive far for it, but not worth it to go out of your way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MachThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    94
    24
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome formation”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We checked out Dragon's Teeth on the way back from Honolua Bay, while exploring West Maui. It is very easy to find and just a few turns off of hwy 30 in Kapalua. When you get to the end of the road, go right and there is a small parking lot and trail along the golf course. It doesn't look very big when you first see it but once you get down there it really spreads out. We could have spent a lot of time exploring the rocks, looking at the caves and the views from both sides but it was really windy up there! Just a note, I wouldn't bring kids here personally. It's a pretty dangerous spot for anyone, with some hidden drop-offs, caves and lots of places to trip. But definitely make a stop here to see the awesomeness!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank breespree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome. Awesome. Awesome.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loved walking along the rocks here. Surprisingly lots to see. The rock formations were really neat and the prayer labyrinth was also very interesting. Highly recommend taking a walk along these jagged rocks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting place to see”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We did not come to this sight on our first Maui trip but I am glad we checked it out on the second. It is a really interesting formation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Stunning natural rock formations”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is right next to the Ritz Kapalua so we could just walk to it with the kids. A truly unique formation and worthy of visit and pair it with a beach day and snorkeling at Kapalua Bay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mbdonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon's Teeth also viewed

 

Been to Dragon's Teeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing