We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Day at Kapalua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapalua Beach

Kapalua Beach
Ritz Carlton, Kapalua, Maui, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$99*
and up
Club Alii Nui
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
phx arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Day at Kapalua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Arrived early and had the beach to ourselves, very good snorkeling, clarity was good and lots of fish and even a turtle.!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank breezzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    162
    27
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful snorkle site for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Limited parking is the only drawback for this wonderful snorkle beach! Flat water, beach and grass and tons of fish to watch!! Super for families and those who do not like boat rides to snorkle spots - you will see plenty of fish here without the sea sickness or expense of a boat ride!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank larryw696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favourite snorkling spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were so happy to find this spot. We found it on the "Maui Dive Shop" snorkling map. We had a difficult time finding the beach from their directions and by the time we arrived, the parking was difficult to find. The beach has lovely sand, but it gets deep quickly. This is good for snorklers, as you can get rewarded with awesome fish close to shore. We even saw a turtle there. It was also the beginning of the "Kapalua Coastal Trail". We changed our clothes in the washroom (only ONE stall working for the women) and walked this 2mile hike each way. What an awesome island! We'll definitely go there again.. perhaps even find a condo close by this time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholls, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best snorkelling with turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just up the coast from Kannapali, free car parking, lifeguard on duty, picnic/BBQ facilities, toilets, beautiful beach and also some shade under the trees. We spent a couple of hours at the beach after checking out of our resort before heading back to the airport. We watched the turtles rise out of the water to breath and there were heaps of them. You could swim along side them and they would come up and touch your hand. Beautiful place to visit a must and not crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank penslops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a great place to go snorkeling!!! No fee!!! Get there early so you can find parking. If you don't have snorkeling gear you can rent it there. The beach is nice and clean. The water was calm and clear. It does get fairly deep, but you can stay shallow and still see fish. We saw lots of colorful fish, eels, and three turtles!!! Highly recommend this spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapalua Beach also viewed

 

Been to Kapalua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing