We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location, Decent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merriman's

Merriman's
1 Bay Club Pl, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-8760
18086696400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Merriman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, International, American, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Dine in the most stunning ocean front location in Maui, directly on the point of majestic Kapalua Bay. Merriman's Kapalua offers a farm to table concept, with 90% locally sourced award winning menu, showcasing the islands freshest fish, seafood, meat and produce. The opulent restaurant offers indoor-outdoor seating, spectacular sunset views, a modern open-air bar, and oceanfront lounge and fire pit.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Awesome sunset view. The beach deck is the best spot in the restaurant, and it's surprisingly open, even when the restaurant is at its busiest, which is just about every night.

The food is decent, though a bit over priced in my opinion. The bread pudding was one of the best I've ever had. I definitely recommend that if you're going to get desert.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,457
    367
    142
    63
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money or the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place was good, but not great like everyone says. As others have said the combinations of flavors on the plate was strange. They were going for an artsy dish and did not know when to stop adding ingredients. The wine list was very good.

The view is AMAZING though. Without the view I would only give this place 2 stars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adampietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality dinner with an AMAZING view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary here in June. We had a great dinner with an excellent view of the sunset over Molokai. Just a perfect atmosphere. I ordered the half portion lamb and my wife ordered the daily beef and greens. All the meat just melted in our mouths with flavor. Great wine selection if you are so inclined. A little on the pricey side for us, but worth the splurge for our anniversary dinner. Our waiter was very accommodating, getting a picture of us on the sunset and walked us through each entrée available. We'd go here again for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grab a cocktail and get ready for romance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A stunning setting to watch a sunset, this stunning restaurant and bar looks over Kapalua bay. Make sure you have a Molokai Mule, with Bourbon, Pimm's, lime, ginger slices and orange bitters. After a cocktail or two head down to the beach and check to see if sea turtles are swimming around the rocks. Or why not make a night of it and stay for dinner?

For more tips on Maui check out my blog:

http://www.gourmetgraze.com/2014/07/aloha-on-plate-top-foodie-spots-in.html

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jash043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location overlooking the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a great place to have dinner, especially during sunset. It has an amazing location up over the ocean and with an open restaurant with essentially no walls. There's also a deck that's right over the ocean with nice cushy patio furniture and even a few loungers.
The food is high end as expected at this price range. Service was top notch as well. I think I prefer the patio and appetizers over the sit down mainly due to the great location of the deck. There's also a bar inside with the restaurant that serves a full menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yuaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merriman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing