We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday getaway with hubby to Maui!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday getaway with hubby to Maui!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

My first time in Hawaii.. Maui is just majestic and amazing! The ritz Carlton is located in a quieter yet beautiful location in Kapalua. Staff is friendly, warm and very attentive..always ready to attend to our needs. Concierge were very informative and the staff is very knowledgable of their surrounding and gave us great recommendations including dirt roads and walking paths to explore.
Our valet attendants were great.. Special Thank u to Josiah, Derrick chef Annie Marshall and Sarah at Concierge..I felt safe here and the view is just amazing. Great running and walking area! Close by to the bay to snorkel. It's right off Route 30 which is just an amazing view of surfers, kayakers, campers and great waves, eating places and twists and turns..
Clean environment..food is expensive but plenty of other options not too far. Highly recommend car rental.. If possible get a jeep!! It's worth it!! It's just paradise!! Would recommend to family and friends and defiantly come back again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JessIcaPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    623
    284
    135
    85
See reviews for
747
1,523
47
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were nice and clean but not that big. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the pools had no umbrellas which is not acceptable for a Ritz! Things disapeared from our room(shorts and underwear), we filled a report with the hotel security, problem was never resolved! We were told we would be given a $50 discount at check out, and when we brought it up, the receptionist said that he can't do it! Seriously Ritz Carlton?!!! We could not believe that this can happen at the Ritz, we are not coming back so this year we are staying at Marriott at Wailea!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Camelia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Ritz Carlto... K, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Aloha Camelia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. While I was happy to hear you enjoyed the resort overall, I was disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your experience did not exceed your expectations. I will personally follow up with our Loss Prevention team as to the status of your missing items and the discount you were to receive. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail and I invite you to contact me personally at 808-665-7037 or ian.mcphee@ritzcarlton.com at your earliest convenience.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
(With Warmest Regards)
Ian McPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Yeah, you heard me. On Maui, we walked into this hotel and checked in. That's the short version.

The longer version starts with my recent review of the Hyatt and our desperation to get away from there. We checked out several options, flying out to Honolulu early being our first, but as it turns out, our hotel was (luckily) fully booked. Instead, we rented a car and drove around the west part of the island. At two in the afternoon, we drove up to the Ritz for a late lunch, at their beach restaurant. From there, our stay on Maui changed, for the better. All the staff members were friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome.

After lunch, we decided to walk by reception to see IF they had an empty room, and they did. Lucky us. We checked in right away, drove back to the Hyatt, checked out, and never looked back.

The property is big, but everything is quiet, serene, and every last staff member is friendly, smiles at you and makes you feel very welcome. Our ocean front suite was beautifully decorated and although we had to walk a long way to get back to reception and restaurants, it was totally worth it.

This is an amazing hotel, and there is very little room for improvement. However, there are a few small things that we look forward to seeing improved next time: for instance, our room attendant didn't replenish the tiny container for cotton swabs. Big deal, eh? Apart from that, I think the hotel shouldn't distinguish between their continental and American breakfast. First of all, there is only one buffet, so people easily choose the 'wrong' things, but more importantly, I overheard a conversation between a guest and a server where the server apologized for checking the guests' plates for what they had ordered. Embarrassing for the guest, not to mention awkward for the server.

Other than that, all I can say is I look forward to returning...

Room Tip: Their beachfront suites are to die for, but unless you get a room with a mountain view in wing 2, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in May and loved (almost - see below) every minute! Kapalua is stunning and this hotel is classic and elegant. I was a bit hesitant to stay here after reading some of the reviews but am so glad we chose the Ritz!

First, the hotel grounds are amazing. Yes the hotel is set back from the beach but it is so peaceful and calm. We booked a 'Deluxe Garden View' room and actually had a view of the pool and could see the ocean from our lanai! The rooms are classy and were kept clean and tidy.

The location of Kapalua was perfect for us. Some people complain that it is too far from "town." In my opinion, the farther the better! We came to relax and unwind :)

The drinks at the pool are pricey but so delicious! We were in heaven. The only places we ate on the property were Aiana cafe (overpriced and not great, but convenient) and the pool bar. The pool bar had amazing fish tacos. We went to the bar in the lobby two nights and watched the sunset. One night they had a band playing, it was wonderful and so relaxing.

There is Honolua Store and Sansei within walking distance, and the resort shuttle will take you anywhere in the Kapalua area. We used it to go to the Plantation House Restaurant, Merriman's, the Montage Spa, and Kapalua Bay.

The only downside to this hotel is the conferences. On our last full day there, a huge group showed up for a conference and it completely ruined the quiet atmosphere of the hotel! The people were so loud and completely took over every area. On our last morning we went to Aiana to grab coffees and the line was SO long and the conference people were all talking super loudly or talking on their cell phones and being rude to the people working at the cafe. I also sat out on the lanai, as I did every morning, and there was suddenly a lady in the room next to ours, also on her lanai, talking loudly to another coference participant on their separate lanai. Hotel management should take note that guests paying a high price for a peaceful vacation do not want to be swarmed with loud obnoxious people who have no consideration for other guests. While I LOVED our stay (I guess we got lucky in only having a conference on one day of our visit), I might be hesitant to stay in the future. Hotel management should seriously reconsider their policy on allowing conferences.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TrojanTraveler142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in a beautiful suite in July. The grounds & location are perfection. The staff is phenomenal, especially Grace at the front desk who was more than accomodating when we requested late check out. We love the pools and sports available. The walk down to the beach is a little far but it's breathtaking. I'd suggest walking down & taking the golf cart back up! The beach is beautiful as is the restaurant right next to the water. Our kids love the pigs-Loco & Moco! The shops inside are fantastic-excellent selection! Our only complaints are the poolside drinks-they are so over priced yet so SMALL. $16 for a drink in a cup a little bigger than a Dixie cup. I know it's the Ritz but they'd sell more drinks if they were either $10 or $16 but triple the size. Other hotels on Maui charge around $10, give or take, and are much larger. The other complaint is the air conditioning in the rooms. Our vent for the master bedroom was behind the door. So you only get air circulating around the room if the door is closed. The bathroom has zero airflow-it's so hot trying to get ready in there. Especially with 4 people showering & steaming it up. Nonetheless, we would stay here again in a heartbeat. The complaints were minor in comparison to everything else offered here. The worst part of the trip was leaving the Ritz!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad location at the Ritz!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CookiesMomPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I recently spent 10 days at the Ritz-Carlton in Kapalua to celebrate our wedding and honeymoon. We're huge fans of the Ritz brand, and Maui seemed like the perfect location. Our experience is difficult to put into words; it really was that incredible.

I am a seasoned business traveller --I spend 150+ nights a year in hotels-- and from the moment we arrived at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua I was continually blown away by the level of customer service, the cleanliness and beauty of the hotel and it's perfect location. In all the travelling I've done, I have never been in a more perfect place.

The location is fantastic; it is not completely beach-side (short 5 minute walk down to the beach), but the walk down was a treat every day. The grounds are immaculately kept and the weather in Maui is so perfect that you want to be outside as much as possible. The hotel sits along the Kapalua trail, a 1.75 mile trail that takes you from D.T. Fleming beach (at the base of the hotel) all the way to Kapalua Bay. There are four beaches along the trail, all are incredible in their own way. If you go at the right time of the day, you can see Green Sea Turtles all along the lava rock formations; no picture could ever do their beauty justice! We walked the trail every single day, and it's probably what I miss most now that I'm home. Some people may find the hotel further out than they'd like, but in my opinion, the location is THE selling feature of this hotel.

The level of customer service was above and beyond what I expected, even for a Ritz property. We got to know many of the staff members on a first name basis, and they are a good part of the reason why my wife and I will absolutely be returning. Burton in concierge was super cool, a Maui local and very knowledgable about the island. He gave us better recommendations on places to go and see than any website or travel forum I could find. Thank you, Burton!

If you're looking for a hotel that is the epitome of luxury, in a paradise that offers so much that you couldn't possibly cover everything in one trip, I recommend the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua. It might just be the most perfect place on Earth.

Room Tip: Splurge on a club-level room. It costs a bit more, but the free food and drinks more than pay for th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Maui is easily the cleanest place I've every visited. The entire island is very eco-friendly and all about sustainability. You'll notice the Ritz follows these values strictly; food is locally sourced when possible and the grounds are outrageously clean.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

First-class all the way. This is a great property for couples more so then families. The hotel property is fairly remote from most of the Maui activities and the pool is average, but the relaxation and the pampering - wow! Spent one week of pure indulgence with great golf, great beach and excellent food selections. Like I stated, the downside is the drive to activities, so if you are looking for serenity and peace - this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discernment316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing