We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Putting on the Ritz in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Putting on the Ritz in Maui”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I came to Hawaii to celebrate our 25th anniversary and chose to combine a stay on Oahu with a stay on Maui. Knowing absolutely nothing about the island of Maui other than what I could learn from guidebooks and Tripadvisor, we elected to stay here; in part because of the reputation of the Ritz-Carlton chain and in part because we could use our Marriott rewards points. We do not travel all that much and when we do we generally don't indulge ourselves with this level of luxury. So, staying here was intended to be a treat.

What impressed me most about this hotel is the staff and the level of service. From the very beginning as we stepped onto the property, we were made to feel at home. There was a brief orientation to the facilities, and then the porters added to that with some advice of their own on the way to our room. The grounds and pools were magnificent, but if you come to Maui for the beaches, the one the connects to this property may be a little bit of a disappointment. It is within walking distance but it is a bit small. That wasn't so terrible however--- you'll have the advantages of having shower and towel amenities right there, as well as a beach restaurant. You'll want to rent a car anyway, so if this beach isn't to your liking, drive down the road a bit and pick any of the other beaches for your sun and surf fun.

As for the rooms, I'd call them adequate--but, to be perfectly honest, I expected a little more from a Ritz-Carlton. The hallways and facilities were in top shape, but (and don't criticize me for this), I was surprised by the condition of the stairwells, which often appeared to be in a state of disrepair. But, who cares about stairwells anyway? Take the elevator! I just expected that things would be in pristine condition here, and that wasn't the case.

We were in "exploration mode" so we didn't stay much on site; consequently, we didn't avail ourselves of the restaurants for dinner. We did, however, have lunches at the pool bar and near the beach, and they were both quite good.

We only have one real complaint about our stay at the Ritz, and it is admittedly minor. During our five-day stay, there was construction going on to renovate the main restaurant. We didn't mind the inconvenience of not having the restaurant available to us (they did have a substitute room set up for meals, had we wanted to use it), what was annoying was the continual "beep-beep" backup warning noise from the construction machinery, which seemed to be most noticeable in the mornings as we wanted to sleep in. That complaint may sound petty and I don't fault the hotel for complying with OSHA regulations, but for a couple who saved up for years to afford to come here in search of an amazing experience, it was a nuisance.

Don't worry; I didn't let that minor problem spoil our stay. Indeed, I'd recommend the property to you primarily for the staff and the level of service. One warning for the Maui-uninitiated out there. Be sure you understand that Kapalua is a bit out-of-the way. You'll need a rental car--and if you want to do sightseeing to the big attractions like the road to Hana or Haleakala crater, you'll need to do some driving. But hey, you're in paradise---don't let the distance deter you!

Room Tip: The concierge and front desk staff, including the porters, are valuable resources to answer question...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncleagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    623
    284
    135
    85
See reviews for
747
1,521
47
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We are here on our honeymoon and wanted to share our experience so far. We love how the staff greets us every time we walk by and try to memorize our names "Welcome back, Mr. and Mrs ___!!" The pool is open 24/7, but you have to remember to grab towels before 5pm before the towel stations close. The chair covers by the pool was a great touch and we loved the three tiered pool! The only reasons we gave this hotel a 3-star review was because of the silly shuttle and the bad food. Their shuttle service is not very helpful! They will take you as far south as the Napili Kai Resort and as far north as The Plantation Golf Course, which you can easily walk to, but as for going into Lahinia or to the airport, they didn't have any free shuttle options ($20/person/way into town), which was difficult for us because we wanted to not rent a car. Unfortunately as well, parking is $18 per day so renting a car really would add up for us. We went with Speedi Shuttle to go to and from the airport ($40/person/way), which was great, and used the public Maui Bus to get into town from Napili Kai. Honestly, we have heard that the Westin provides a great shuttle and we might look into staying there for that reason. Also, the food seriously sucks. Seriously. Go elsewhere to eat. However, the Ritz has all the other bells and whistles you'd expect from a 5-star hotel. The couples' massage was perfect (be sure to use the spa afterwards!!!) and the highlight of our trip here so far. We rented snorkel gear from Snorkel Bob's just down the street and are excited to catch the shuttle up to The Plantation to check out Honolua Bay. We'd recommend this resort for honeymooners because of the friendly staff, beautiful rooms, and great activities.

Room Tip: It was our honeymoon, so let them know if it is a special occasion for an upgrade!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Lots of recycling, only clean sheets every other day, average, they don't go out of their way, but it is noticable.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Ritz Carlto... K, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for sharing such a special occasion with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated as well. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the resort and received excellent service from our ladies and gentlemen. That said I was disappointed to learn that our dining options did not exceed your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with further to gain a better understanding of where we fell short. I may be reached directly at 808-665-7037 or via email at Ian.mcphee@ritzcarlton.com. Thank you again and I look forward to speaking with you. With aloha, Ian McPhee, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The setting is perfect...great beach, easy walk to good food and perfect sunset-watching bars. Hotel itself is a huge, industrial sized monster. No ritz feel to it, no real interaction with staff other than hellos with the cleaning staff in five dats. Bar could be at a Midwest airport Sheraton, food was just ok. First room they sent us to looked out, not kidding, on a cement wall six feet away. But they moved us, and we had a great time on the beach. Hotel was just a clean place to sleep with a very comfy bed.

Room Tip: Avoid garden view, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

When you are staying at the Ritz-Carlton it is style all the way. The staff is amazing in every aspect you can think of. There are people there who really care for you to have the best time of your life.
The resort is beautiful. A short walk will take you to the hotel beach.
We too the terrace room which was very luxurious and roomy. Loved the bath room. Such nice bed bed the sheets!! The only problem with our room was that it is next to the golf course so you don't have privacy when the curtains are not shut.
Breakfast was quite pricy but fresh and good. You can find cheaper breakfast options just outside the hotel.
Would definitely come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reutye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just returned from a week long stay at the Ritz with my wife and two 20 something kids. Basically our last family vacation before youngest went off to college. Unbelievable resort, great breakfast buffet every morning with a very very great staff. From the valet to the turn down service and the front desk staff and concierge, I have never been treated so well in all of my travels. Highly recommend bringing your family to this exceptional resort. Allie at the Jean-Michel Cousteau’s Ambassadors of the Environment program was very knowledgeable and very friendly and we loved our hike through the beautiful landscape on Kapalua. The weather did tend to have showers off and on but was not in any way an inconvenience. Sunsets at the beach House were awesome as well. The private beach was very nice added bonus but the pool was the best. Very memorable stay and will definitely be going back for whale watching season some time in the bear future.

Room Tip: Definitely want to be on the 6th floor or higher to be above the palms. we combined suites, perfect...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscious - the beautiful grounds made you want to act sustainably.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPO_YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I am going to list this hotel as very good, but last time I stayed it was rated excellent. I certainly have no beef with Marriott, but ever since they took over the Ritz Carlton name, it seems like things have slipped. This property was once one of the show places in the Hawaiian Islands.
Today it has aged, employee/guest ratios have given way, and the grounds are no longer pristine. It's still above normal standards, but not up to once Ritz Carlton standards. The staff still works hard. There's just not as many of them. Hopefully, Marriott will take a step back, look at its product, and return this once proud gem to its lofty status. Don't get me wrong.... It's still very good. Just not Ritz Carlton' good..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz for four nights in early May and had a great stay. The only downside (and the reason for a four star rating instead of five) has not to do with the hotel but the weather and the beach. The weather was not a surprise given the time of year. We have learned over the years to expect a lot of wind and near daily morning (and sometimes afternoon) rain showers December through May. Best weather for Kapalua is summer and fall - June through November. The beach facilities and the sand itself is excellent but ocean conditions are usually rough and not safe for kids and adults without good swimming skills (this is why it is one of the few Maui beaches manned by life guards). Now for the good stuff. The hotel itself is excellent. All staff from bellmen to restaurant to concierge to housekeeping were top notch, friendly and helpful. We stayed in a residence one bedroom suite in excellent condition with a thousand sq. ft. of space and very well appointed. Restaurants were very good especially the sushi place and the morning breakfast buffet.Activities are excellent with world class golf and great hiking. The hotel grounds are spacious and quiet as the resort is not crammed into a "hotel row" like Kaanapali or Wailea. Bottomline we rate this hotel right up there with the 4S just be careful when you book if you want the best weather Kapalua has to offer. .

Room Tip: No bad locations or parking lot views. The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAFlyfisher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing