We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the RC Kapalua for our anniversary. Total over-indulgence for us, but it was a special occasion. The hotel is very nice, staff are super friendly and helpful. Everything you would expect for the price you pay. I would only rate the pool as above-average, certainly not spectacular by any means. Nice enough though. Our one complaint was the noise we heard in our room. Ours was very close to the AC units and we had so much noise, even with the doors shut, that we had to run the fan all night just to generate enough white noise to sleep. This was a real issue as one of the reasons we love coming to Maui is the 24/7 weather. Over all, I would probably not come back. There are other properties that are as nice or nicer for significantly less money.

Room Tip: Stay away from the "12's".
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xbioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,402)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 3,402 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz Kapalua in October for our honeymoon. We spent 2 luxurious weeks in Maui, and can't imagine having stayed in any other hotel. Traveling from Boston the Monday after a 4 day weekend of wedding related festivities, we were delighted to be welcomed to the hotel with refreshing juices and cuicui nut leis. We inquired about upgrading to a suite, and we decided to do so at a very reasonable rate. We loved every moment in our spacious executive suite! Steven, the doorman, was lovely and brought our bags to our room, explaining the amenities and hotel location. He later sent a gift to our room - snacks, fruit and cocktails! Rachelle and Michelle at concierge were wonderful as well. We loved Adam by the pool who brought us our cocktails everyday. The ladies in the spa were also fantastic during our couples massages! I did not find the pool area to be particularly windy as other reviews state. Also, some reviewers say they feel the location isn't great. My husband and I think the opposite! On some of our group outings we drove through the other resorts and hated how they were all lined up right next to each other! It felt very commercial. The Ritz is an oasis and every moment there is to be treasured. We are counting down the days until we can return :)

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite - you won't be sorry
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised from the time we drove up. From the valet, to check-in to the welcome lady (with juice and lei in hand), it made our trip here special! Sad to leave today but will come back here for sure! Clean, friendly. Pool service could have been better but that is the only downside! Amazing views.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tbmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua is an outstanding resort, every bit of "R-C" elegance, style and service one would expect, but it is Hawaiian style. Wonderful ocean front property, impeccable grounds and pro golf course. This property is located just about 10 mins north of the tourist resorts of Kaanapali, which is where most families with kids and first time Maui visitors stay. Nothing against Kaanapali, it is where I stayed to my first trip to Maui twenty-five years ago, I didn't know any better. Now I travel to Maui at least twice a year and only stay at two properties, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua being one of them, The Four Seasons Maui, the other.

If you are flexible with your travel dates, use the Marriott (who owns RC) or RC websites to check on room prices by clicking on "My dates are flexible" button and you will see an entire month(s) lowest rate dates by calendar to help you get the best deal. Know that for reasons I cannot explain, the AAA rate is NOT always the cheapest rate. Also look at the top right corner of the website for the "overnight offers" buttons to see if any of their packages work for you (this is for ALL Marriott and RC properties).

The R-C Kapalua has a wonderful bar and lounge area with a beautiful ocean view. There is a Sushi restaurant adjacent to the lobby for a dining option, and lunch/dinner available in the bar/lobby area. Hamburgers, as with all R-C/Marriot/JW Marriott properties are consistently outstanding. There is a fine dining option downstairs that I have not tried, only because the menu did not float my boat. Good pool dining available, breakfast buffet is very good (look for Bed & Breakfast offers via the Overnight Offers button on the reservation page) if you are into buffet, but pricey. Outstanding beach front bar, a bit of a walk to get to, but not a big deal as you should walk around anyway. Golf cart shuttle available to the bar. GREAT place to have a drink and chill in the afternoon.

The R-C is located on a huge development property that has several standalone restaurants and adjacent hotel restaurants that you can drive to or take the property shuttle, or drive to Kaanapali for other dining options. This is a wonderful property and amazingly, there are some excellent deals to be had if you navigate the reservation. Keep this in mind, as with just about ALL hotels, a room is a room is a room. What you are going to pay extra for are the various views provided, but the rooms are all the same until you get into the suite categories, then there is a difference. If you are a Marriott Platinum (Visa credit card) member, you automatically receive an upgrade upon checking in. So book the cheapest room and use your free upgrade to your advantage. Excellent property to chill and enjoy the beauty of Maui. I am heading there in September, after the summer vacations end and the property rates drop like a rock.

Room Tip: Don't sweat the room location. How much time do you really spend in your room when you travel ot...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay...the service in all areas was friendly, professional, and helpful. We especially enjoyed the Ambassadors of the Environment program...especially the pigs that you could interact with and feed! Eileen was exceptional; she helped us navigate the offered programs, and she cared for the pigs like they were her children! We would come back just for the on-site animals and to visit Eileen! Allie, who was the naturalist accompanying our whale watching tour, was great, too--she was knowledgeable and nice. The whale watching really exceeded our expectations--we saw so many whales, and dolphins, too! I would highly recommend the excursion.
The spa was great--Casey was an excellent massage therapist, and Dora was super helpful in making my visit comfortable. It was truly the most beautiful spa I have been to--the steam and sauna areas were great. The spa was comfortable, relaxing and well-stocked; the price was reasonable for the amenities.
The pool and beach areas were beautiful--ocean was rough but refreshing. One day of rain out of six. Room was nice and clean; room service was very prompt and food was delicious. I have enjoyed all of my Ritz Carlton stays; it is the only hotel I ever want to stay at--it is the people who work there who are sincerely nice and caring and make it so wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just got back from a week at this hotel. The staff are utterly professional, most welcoming and always there to help you! The hotel is very clean and immaculately maintained! The shuttle service is extremely prompt, we never seemed to wait! Go visit the pigs by the ambassadors centre, you'll meet the adorable staff working there. We fed the pigs, a bit quirky but part of the Hawaiian culture!!

One special thank you to Bethany and Ariane on the front desk. They really stood out as two people passionate about working for the hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank JonathanParis1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our family of four (including two boys aged 15 and 18) stayed three nights at the Ritz Kapalua. We had stayed the earlier portion of our trip at the Marriott in Wailea. We loved the Ritz. While we had read some negative reviews about the location (not the hotel), we actually wished we had stayed at this property longer than the other (3 vs 5 nights).
We had two rooms, a few doors apart and they were so beautiful. Well appointed amenities included you would expect from a Ritz, large bathroom with double vanity, robes, bottled water everyday, great coffee and comfy bed. We were on the third floor which is the ground floor (the lobby is on 6). The resort is hard to maneuver at first until you find the easy ways to get back to the lobby. If you don't want to walk a long way, ask for a room closer to the lobby. We had a golf course view that with a nice little patio. I don't know if others had this problem but the room next door was quite noisy at times (it had an adjoining door). Maybe thin walls in some rooms? We even were treated to a plate of fresh fruit upon our arrival. We did stay on points so this may have been a perk of that but it was nice to have for the week (we kept in the mini refrigerator).

The ground/pools were spectacular. We never had an issue with finding a chair. Although the beach is a short walk, it is lovely. They do offer a golf cart shuttle down the hill to the beach but we found the walk refreshing. There is a small nature place on the way and they have two pigs that roam the property that are very tame. Adorable! And down at the beach is a restaurant / bar (closes at 3:00) that is perfect for sitting and relaxing.

If you walk on the beach walk past the hotel, you can see some great sites, including whales (during season), turtles, lovely rocky formations and very expensive homes.

If you walk outside the front of the hotel, there is a Honolua store (ABC store) that serves breakfast and lunch. We never ate at the hotel and always went there for the yummy food and coffee. Also, the Kapalua Ziplines is right next door (which we highly recommend doing...just book in advance). Yes, Kapalua is "out there" but its a 15 minute drive to Ka'anapali and Lahaina, both great places to visit for food, shopping and touristy things.

I would highly recommend this Ritz. While some reviews stated that it was windy and rainy, we only encountered one rain shower and it was short and refreshing. No wind! This may be the time of year too. We stayed in late March.

Also, while other reviewers stated that the hotel is dated, they are doing improvements (there was construction in one section). We didn't seem to notice this at all. Maybe because we came from an older Marriott in Wailea? But like I wrote, our room was awesome and the property was beautiful. Will definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Room choices depend on whether you want to be near the pool or lobby.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schnoodlelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: $457 - $1,558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing