We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The pool area was amazing, although extremely windy. The staff was very accommodating, letting us check in early was a nice surprise. The resort is located pretty far from other points of interest on the island, and could have had more dining/entertainment options considering that fact. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

Grace in reception was super friendly and always remembered our names whenever we passed by.

The bell hop, Joseph, was kind enough to send us a card and bottle of champagne for our engagement.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank WorldWideMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,400)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,606 - 1,612 of 3,400 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed three nights on Marriott rewards and upon checking in were told that a large group was using all the standard rooms so they upgraded us to an ocean front suite! We absolutely loved the room and the resort. The staff from front desk, to pool attendants to housekeeping to bell hops were all top notch. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr1ncessd1ane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went there for our honeymoon and it was a great experience, when you arrive they receive you with Hawaiian necklaces, the room was ready even that we arrived early, it was a garden view suite that had all the amenities you could need: 2 bathrooms, a living room, great bed, closet and a garden access, fridge, etc. The restaurants with excellent dishes (the sushi place is great and the buffet very yummy). It has pools for adults and 1 for children. Access to the beach and golf course. If you are looking for a one of a kind place to stay with exclusivity and great service don't doubt it, the ritz is the must go to place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPaulagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just came back from a great family vacation in Hawaii. Stayed at ritz for 5 nights at the residential suite. Nice size room with kitchenette. We were traveling with kids so thought kitchenette might come in handy but we did not use much as we were mostly eating out.
The property is big. I did have some concerns reading the reviews about location and wind / rain but when we were there the weather was great - sunny and not windy by the pool.
Beach is great with strong currents. Our kids 5 and 7 had a great time on the beach and the water (we had to be in the water with young kids as the current was strong).
The breakfast was ok (better breakfast we had at trump in Oahu).
All in all great property, friendly staff slightly secluded but we had a car so didn’t mind the 15 min commute to Lahaina.
Do the Road to Hana especially Black sandy beach - quite awesome.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to elevator - otherwise quite a walk.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rr_0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've stayed I this hotel at least ten times over the years and it had never ever disappointed. People complain about the rain, but they are quick rains and they cool you down. But remember that the hotel does not control the trade winds or rain. But what they do control is quality of staff, impeccable service, cleanliness, ambiance, landscaping, food quality....and all of that they do on a 5 star level. They are not perfect, but when they are not,they make sure they make it right with you. I've been upgraded, been given free night and meals all because of minor things that we're not necessary to comp. As well as they do everything, the Club Level does even more. Trust me, whatever have to pay extra for the Club Level it's totally worth it. The food is as good or better than any restaurant on the Island, a d the staff that serves you treat you a d your family like you are a family member. I'll never forget my wife hugging one of the staff there when we left because she got to know her so well. I'm not sure if I should say it, but if you can get Anthony to bring you some of his wife's homemade cinnamon rolls, you will taste the best dessert you will ever have.

The Ritz Carlton Kapalua is the hotel that makes you realize that there are Ritz Carlton's, there is everything else......

Room Tip: Club Level. Enough said.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wade29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This resport was fabulous. OUr room wasn't ready when we checked in so they asked us to wait in the bar with a drink of our choice on them. Was great to sit and take in the hotel before we saw our room. We were also upgraded for free. We ended up with a HUGE one bedroom apartment with seperate kitchen/dining and living areas. The grounds of the hotel were impecable. Some people had some not great things to say about this motel but honestly it was something i have never experienced before. For restaurants, we loved pineapple express on the same grounds but a shuttle away (or a short walk if you know where your going!) If your wondering about this motel, book it! its remarkable. PS. The housemade granola is devine. My taste buds are still missing that in the mornings!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annettemarie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Now I know some of you this may not be important too, that would be unfortunate but for a family travelling missing their pets, its huge, it shows integrity and a sense of responsibility and we loved it!!! When I saw how well the staff took such good care of the cats that help keep the gecko population down, I knew they would take good care of us too and this was the kind of hotel I could stay at and support.

Service was my next favorite thing about this place, the cleaning staff and grounds staff were the best I've ever seen, so much aloha and genuine happiness. Our room was cleaned so beautifully each day and staff work so hard to make this a beautiful stay. Beds were the most comfortable I've ever stayed in and that is the part we usually hate the most about travel is being away from our bed but now we actually miss their bed which is a change!!

Grounds are so pretty, would have liked the ocean view but didn't work out for us :(

Could they have used bbq's yes, or laundry for us non-member types yes but hey as long as the kitties are fed I can live with that :)


Aloha

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: $466 - $1,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing