We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Most Beautiful and Luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
463 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful and Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful and stunning resort in every aspect - it feels secluded and exclusive. Every aspect of the grounds is beautiful, and views are great everywhere.

The rooms are some of the nicest we have ever experienced - beautifully maintained and updated.

Spring for the club lounge (upgrade at check in to pay less than the regular rate) - like all Ritz Carlton properties, they have great food and beverage presentations all day long.

They have valet or self parking, which is convenient.

The only downside to this amazing property is the beach. Due to a native burial ground discovered when building the resort, it is set back from the water, which gives great views but makes it a hike down to the beach. And like all Maui beaches, it is public, but the Ritz does not have umbrellas and chairs on the beach - it is too windy for umbrellas, but they do have an area with chairs just up from the beach near the beach shack and bar. It is not a snorkeling beach, not great for laying out/relaxing due to wind and no chairs/umbrellas, so that just leaves surfing and playing in the water.

However, there is a free Kapalua resort shuttle that will take you over to Kapalua Bay's beach, which is beautiful and perfect for everything but surfing. They rent chairs, umbrellas, watersports equipment, etc, which can be charged to your room.

There is also a walking trail that everyone should experience which goes all the way to Kapalua Bay, and there is another beach (Ironwoods) along the way. That is also a surfing beach, so be very careful - strong shorebreaks and lots of rocks just out from the shore.

We would definitely recommend and return to this great property, and once you know the tricks and shortcuts, you can spend less time exploring and more relaxing.

The spa was great, and the breakfast buffet is unbelievable (see Terrace restaurant review).

Room Tip: Room numbers are as follows: 1st digit - building 2nd digit - floor (lobby is 6) 3rd/4th digits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,838
    587
    262
    124
    80
See reviews for
656
1,371
43
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This property is awesome, however you have to want to be somewhat isolated. It is not within walking distance of any larger cities if you want shopping and touring. Something both my wife like to throw into our vacations.

Now, the staff is simple amazing, they truely provide a living example of Aloha!

Great golf available, excellent spa opportunities and multiple options for lounging around the pool with unbelievable scenery.

Room Tip: Rooms all have some sort of a great view, end rooms have ocean views and the rooms on the North side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel resort was breath taking and views were awesome. This was my 1st visit to Maui but it will certainly not be my last. This resort was wonderful. Breakfast each morning was a delight. So many choices. The morning strolls do to the beach were divine and the cabanas were just plush and made to relax. The bedrooms were too comfortable. The duvet was so cushiony that you literally were just sinking down in it. My dream is to retire to this island!!!

Room Tip: Above 5th floor very quiet. There is no bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife & I had a fantastic stay here. Wonderful location with great facilities and rooms. The restaurants are over-priced for the quality but perfectly fine if you're feeling lazy and don't want to leave the hotel. Plus, there are better restaurants very, very nearby so it's not a huge deal.

My biggest complaint was that they were replacing the wallpaper in our hallway the day we left but neglected to inform us so we had to basically trek through a construction zone on our way to check out. Again, not a huge deal but it would have been nice to be forewarned.

For finding restaurants or activities, talk to Anna at the concierge desk. Everyone there seems very knowledgeable but Anna was definitely a cut above everyone else.

Treat yourself to a massage and ask for Luke or Casey. Best massage ever!

Room Tip: I would try to be away from the pool. It's open 24 hours and typically fairly quiet but we did h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Hotel itself in in the secluded area of Kapalua, Maui. The staff, hotel room, and entire resort was gorgeous! The staff was super friendly, the beach was beautiful, and all the amenities were Awesome at the hotel.

I highly suggest staying at this hotel, when you go to Maui!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon. We received a warm welcome and free room upgrade to a suite. The resort grounds are very beautiful and relaxing. The hotel staff were professional and courteous. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and the stay all in all was good. This is an awesome resort with 50+ acres property. I would recommend this in general, but came across some negative points that people should keep in mind before they book here and stay
1. 20 mins north of Kanapalli where all the action is and you might want to stay here ( unless you like more peace and quiet)
2. Since the property is elongated by design, our room in Ritz was very far (  5 min walk from the front reception) ..This was a pain doing it every day or twice a day. I would prefer having a room not too far from the front lobby. Besides, there was no direct back entrance to the room to save me some time.  I had to walk through the entire hotel to get to my room.
3. The floor # and room # are out of whack, because of some history in the design of the property. Example my room # is 2342 which is located on floor 3 which is below the lobby floor which is floor 6 which is actually called Floor L.
Most people I talked to could not figure this out. 
4. Self - parking is far from Valet parking and it adds to the long walk back to your room
5. This place was too quiet and not happening for me. We would go back and stay closer to Lahaina and Kanapalli 

3 stars given for 
1. Great property which is well maintained
2. Rooms are spacious and adds to a nice stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudeepsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
26.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Cancelon, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing