We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meeting friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

As soon as we got to the check in desk we were severed a refreshing drink, very friendly staff.
Beautiful room very spacious and large bathroom very very clean. Grounds are beautiful,
car retrieval very fast and friendly. Overall they made our trip delightful. We then went on to
Kauai for our regular vacation at Koa Kea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisladyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,400)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,777 - 1,783 of 3,400 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel sits on a very beautiful piece of property. The staff are very courteous. Room & bathroom were very clean. Excellent service at the pool. Good value. We liked this hotel because it was quiet and peaceful compared to other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 588katep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came to Hawaii for our honeymoon and stopped in maui first. Our stay at The Ritz was great! We got in late at night and sat for dinner at one of the restaurants. The waiter gave us free dessert for our honeymoon. We were also surprised with a free bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon which we enjoyed by the hot tub that night. The staff were very attentive and it was the best customer service we ever had at a hotel. Our room was clean and they replenished our bath towels twice a day which was great!! I would def stay here again. Great hotel, great staff!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The property is absolutely beautiful. Everything about our stay was picture perfect. Great pool, beach access, shuttle service to other Kapalua destinations, clean and comfortable room, excellent running trail by hotel, and workout facility. All of the staff at the Ritz were wonderful. Special thanks to Laurent at The Terrace and the Alaloa Lounge. He served 3 of our meals at the restaurants and was fabulous - friendly, helpful and provided a personal touch. My husband and I agreed that he was a true professional and is a great asset to the Ritz dining services. Fred in bell service was also wonderful- very friendly and welcoming. I do not have a single complaint about our week-long stay at the Ritz Carlton. We had a truly magical vacation and will definitely stay here again. We saw numerous hotels in Maui and none compare to the Ritz Carlton. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkcor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Travelled to Maui for the first time just two weeks ago. Maui is beautiful! An absolute paradise in fact and we would definitely return.

The Ritz Carlton in Kapalua was really in our top three resorts to stay in and we got a great rate on a one bedroom residence suite. The hotel is very clean and spacious with an airy feel. Every amenity was also clean and well appointed. But, the mattress was a nightmare. If you don't like your mattress request a room change. They are all different. Or tell the hotel up front what kind of mattress you prefer. I was beyond uncomfortable every night. By our last night there I felt like crying instead of sleeping.

The service at the hotel was less than superior as one would expect from a Ritz Carlton. The staff was frequently difficult to locate and most often under informed about their own services and offerings. The poolside service, while efficient, was staffed with pushy servers who seemed to be banking on big tips. I constantly felt pressured to order something to drink at the pool, at a very high price, in order to help the wait staff earn their tips. The fees at the hotel are also very high for parking and the additional daily service fee of $25 that I am not sure covered anything but their own overhead.

The greatest disappointment at the resort was the food menus which lacked variety. Most of what we sampled from the menus was good but expensive for what it was and not very creative. The greatest disservice to guests is the incompetence of the restaurant wait staff. It's as if none of the wait staff has ever received any training at all. This is a problem across the island as the restaurants are staffed by transient 20-something's who are just earning a wage and not interested in providing a great service experience that earns the big tip they are expecting when you get the over priced bill. Even the Roy's Hawaiian Fusion venue was subpar. Other Roy's venues are terrific so we were disappointed in the lackluster appearance and service at this one.

Kapalua is also a more isolated section of the island and the Ritz does not offer shuttle service so a car rental is necessary if you expect to see the sights. That's also how they get you for the high parking fee! If you want to stay in a more bustling area that has transportation options stay in Ka'annapali or Lahaina. What they lack in isolation they make up for with convenience. There is a small store and take out place right next to the Ritz parking lot that while pricey compared to home, is way less than the hotel rates. It is an easy walk from the hotel or car and will save you some money on drinks and snacks.

The best breakfast on the island is Slappy Cakes where you have the option to make your own pancakes. Again, terrible service, including bringing us dirty coffee cups twice!, but good food and more of a value than other venues.

We traveled with our kids and extended family and most options for excursions are kid and senior friendly. The weather was superb despite a few showers which did not interfere with anything at all. You just simply wait a few minutes and the weather changes back to sunny and there's usually a rainbow to go along with it. Again overall it was a very nice trip and we will return some time but stay at a different resort.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor residence suite. Overall quiet and equidistant from the central part of...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEM01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We like hotels (vs. rental houses, condos or the like) so with family in Napili, the R-C Kapalua is pretty much it in West Maui. Luckily, over five or six yearly trips, the hotel has always made us welcome and comfortable. This year, we had some concerns when it became clear that the concierge with whom we'd dealt for years was leaving the hotel in what appeared to be an outsourcing move by the property. But, other than missing our old contact, the new folks at the desk were attentive, careful and patient with our many complicated requests. The closing of the Banyan Tree also seemed troubling, but the dinners in the Terrace were very good, if the setting isn't as nice. Unlike some other reviewers, housekeeping and the bell staff continued to impress us with their friendliness and attention to detail. Service in the lobby lounge can be sporadic as waiters and waitresses move about tending to other things, but just go see the bartender and it will all work out. Overall, excellent, and with Honolua Bay around the corner, the Plantation House up the hill, golf, Kapalua Bay a shuttle ride away and Napili next door, the perfect location.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, a suite in the Napili wing, at the end of the building is the ticket. Also, ma...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wazito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is a dream.... beautiful rooms, a bathroom where you can live, swimming pools in which you can stay all day long, nice restaurants and bars with gentle staff, always smiling and ready to help you !
A must where you have to go !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airbus1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: $466 - $1,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing