We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in Kapalua, Maui, and our experience was nothing short of perfect. As with previous Ritz hotels we’ve stayed, we found the service impeccable. The views from this property are breathtaking.

There was a minor (very minor) mix up during our check in and the staff went above and beyond to resolve the small issue and were extremely generous with complimentary services - that we didn’t even request.

As stated in other reviews, the climate in Kapalua is quite windy making pool-side experiences somewhat tricky. However, the feeling of openness and beauty this resort provides is astoundingly beautiful. The windy climate simply adds a layer of uniqueness to your vacation. You can look out to the blue sea that seems to go on forever with the backdrop of Molokai or toward the mountains filled with Cook pine trees. It’s open and gorgeous.

Right near the resort is the Kapalua Coastal Trail offering you about a 2 mile walk along the sea that is priceless. The DT Fleming beach is private and very nice. The pathway from the resort is not far from the building structure as other reviewers stated.

The Kapalua Resort Shuttle will take you anywhere you want to go within a few miles from the Ritz (i.e., we went to the The Plantation Course, different area restaurants, etc.), and it is complimentary. There is a small store that is a two minute walk from the hotel that’s charming and handy.

We will definitely go back and stay at the Ritz-Carlton, Maui. The views are spectacular and the resort is exquisite.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,179
    647
    297
    139
    88
See reviews for
820
1,577
48
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

as a Previous poster posted make sure house keeping had re stocked toiletries prior to entering the shower
We had to wait 30 mins for conditioner and was never offered any shower gel until the third night. It's very inconsistent they forgot to replace you New mugs and cups. It's like a constant suprise to find out what your lacking next when you need it the most.

Another thing is if your a light sleeper don't bother staying here unless you get a top floor. I wake up every morning to sounds of doors opening and patio furniture moving. Just this morning they people above us ordered room service and decided to enjoy it out on the balcony I can hear full conversations.


Resort itself is amazing and beautiful.
I like the secluded location
Concierge julie and front desk Keegan were very pleasant to work with but the house keeping and noise would probably deter me away from visiting again
Will try four season or fairmont next time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gkaeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been to Maui a few times and have usually stayed in Wailea but we now prefer the Kapalua area. The Ritz Carlton is a beautiful property - large pools, Flemmings beach which is beautiful and much larger than Wailea beaches, plus the best feature of the Ritz is the Jean Cousteau center. Our family attended many of the offered programs offered by the Cousteau program. We did the Outrigger Canoeing where we used these unique canoes with a guide and swam with the green turtles; snorkeled in Kapalua Bay (which is right next to the Ritz and is the best snorkeling on the island; Tidepool exploration and Star Gazing. My boys, ages 10 and 12 loved the entire trip. The proximity of the Ritz to Lahaina is also great as most of the water sports all occur in Lahaina. For instance, Royal Hawaiian Surf Company plus Trilogy catamaran excusions are both in Lahaina.

The Ritz staff at Kapalua is very friendly and they helped me arrange for gorgeous tropical flower arrangement for my mother as well as chocolate covered strawberries and champagne upon my parent's arrival. We stayed in a suite with a full kitchen so we had breakfast each morning in the room which was convenient.

Fabulous trip and we will always go back to the Ritz!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbdonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Ritz for loads of reasons.

First of all, location. Although some people might suggest that the location is a downside, we loved how it is a bit off the beaten path. It's nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the kaanapali hotel stretch. And it isn't too far away to go visit either. We would spend the day at the Ritz and then enjoy the nightlife and restaurants closer to the Ka'anapali strip.

Service was top-notch. From the very beginning when we were upgraded to an oceanfront room for our anniversary to the surprise in our room (chocolate covered strawberries) later in the week...we were continually amazed by the service at this place. My wife was also injured during our stay and the staff was so accommodating to her by checking in on her and making sure we had what we needed.

The pool is awesome. It has an adult pool and two pools for everyone... Service is great there too although we wouldn't recommend the food or drinks only because they were extraordinarily expensive! when it comes to swimming, beach leaves something to be desired but we just got our ocean swimming done in Kihei and Ka'anapali. The view of the water from the Ritz is awesome.

The room itself was beautiful with a breathtaking Oceanview. I don't think there is a room on the campus that doesn't have a gorgeous view (even the garden rooms). We were impressed (although not surprised) by the cleanliness & how thorough the cleaning crew is on a day-to-day basis.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived at the Ritz and no one even came to our car to greet us. The hotel doesn't have that Hawaiian feel to it. No music playing, very sparse flowers and unfriendly staff. The hotel is very far from the ocean and the views are o.k. They won't trim their palm trees so many of the roomss have an obstructed view. One night my husband and went went out for a walk on the grounds to watch the meteor shower. It was 10:p.m. and we were on the walking path in front of our room when the sprinklers cam eon and soaked us. We called the Manager and he said sorry and that was it. The next morning we checked out and went to the Marriott Wailea where we had a FANTASTIC stay.Stay at a different hotel that has more heart than this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dwilcox000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 (2 kids 11 and 14) spent four nights at the Ritz in adjoining rooms... It was perfect. One room had a king size bed, the other 2 queens.

We had plenty of space and enjoyed all the family friendly amenities. The pools were great, 2 family pools 1 adult only... 1 kiddie. Shuffle board and croquet were available all day! Great seaside walks on the coastal trail... Nice gym. Great food pool side, with kids meals very affordable and good quality.

Incredible snorkeling 1 mile North at Honolua bay, and a great first thing to do in the am. Lahaina is only 10 miles South so you're not that remote... And there are plenty of restaurants on site and within a mile. Do rent a car if you stay at the Ritz or you could feel a bit remote.

We had stayed 4 nights at the Fairmont in Wailea ... We felt like our vacation started when we checked into the Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubaim0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Depends on what you are after in Maui, the RC is located in the northern part of Maui and is a good 1 hr drive from the airport and about 20 mins to the nearest happening town Lahaina. We didnt find RC Kapalua far as we were there to play golf, and loved the stunning views from the hotel and the sprawling grounds. And we wanted to be away from crowds, so the location of RC worked for us.

The room was great and well appointed in size with great views (we had the golf course view), the pools and facilities were good. Enough restaurants for the hotel. You can have a nice stroll to the beach where there's a lawn with more deck chairs.

Service was not really felt here though. When we checked in, there was no one to greet us. They got my name wrong. One day it was pouring and we were drenched, the service staff at the drive way didnt give us towels even though the towels were just at the storage cabinets at the drive way. I had to walk to reception and back to the drive way for the towel.

We had dinner one night at The Terrace. Prior to choosing this restaurant, we saw a review on tripadvisor saying the hostess had made some drama prior to sitting the guests. We had the same lousy experience! She was not warm or smiling as one should expect of a hostess, and she really spoilt the dinner experience!

This isn't quite the RC service one should be expecting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
479 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing