We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular, Exquisite. If you request it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Initially we were given a room overlooking the pool yet it said "Ocean view" , sure you could see the ocean but only if you were looking left and it was rather small. Since we have to be happy with the room, we had to call front desk and weigh our options. We were offered to move closer to the ocean but only a suite would have the "Ocean Front" views, tricky. We did accept the up-sell to a suite and boy what a difference! Spectacular views, Large Lanai balcony. Large Living room with dining and guest full bath with shower, The bedroom is fantastic with real views of the ocean, breakfast on the lanai is a must.
The Bedroom Bathroom has separate shower, bathtub and double sink, a small but nevertheless walk-in closet. The spacious layout of the suite make it worth the pricy price.
The spa is quite nice, hot tubs and relaxing lounges, there is a hot tub within a lava rock wall space that is very cool. The treatments are good but beware of the aggressive product add-ons.
The Beach is a little bit of a walk away, but it is very nice, with a private feel to it. Club level gives you access to munchies and pretty good small food offerings. Concierges get very busy and you could waist time waiting so plan ahead. We had great weather and enjoyed the pools and the grounds.

Room Tip: Ocean Front, on the ends of the buildings are the best.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,402)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,926 - 1,932 of 3,402 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you want to experience a little piece of paradise, try the Ritz Carlton in Kapalua. Everything says beauty, service, relaxation from pickup at the local airport to elegant rooms, delicious cuisine,

Cities under the Sea special Jacques Cousteau educational facility on site, beautiful beach, and extensive fitness and spa facility.
We took Laughter Yoga class and have maintained that laughter yoga even at home.
Different cuisines were tried with discussions with chef enabling us to try some of the cooking tips at home.
Our room had WOOD floors - a welcome treat.

Being a compulsive reader, I loved all of the books in the spa and the Jacques Cousteau center. I learned more about the City Under the Sea.

Plenty of open grassy areas and separate children's pool made this a great place for children. ( there were many, but the area is so large, they were never underfoot or heard)
With several pools in the same area, but on different terrace levels, families or family groups could be in one general area but allow children to play in one pool while adults did laps or relaxed in another pool.
Children's program is available at Jacques Cousteau center on site. Adult and family educational talks, movies and snorkeling trips available as well.

Of course, the beach is beautiful and relatively secluded allowing for quiet relaxation only hearing the waves.
Chairs and umbrellas were available.

Service and friendliness were front and center from everyone. There was a sense of WELLNESS and welcome to allow us to enjoy our HA- breath of life.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NEJMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in mid March and it is a very beautiful property. It is a bit isolated from the rest of the island which is not an entirely bad thing. There are terrific views and wonderful scenic hikes on the property.

If you want a laid back relaxing time, but also want to mix in a few excursions then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1foodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been to this three times now and have never had good weather...this last time in February was 5 days of Wind and Rain...the last time we were there was 7 days of Wind and Rain. That North end of the Island is not good. Beautiful Hotel, Great Food, Great Staff, Great View, Fabulous Gym and Spa however weather lowers the value of your stay. I am a Ritz fan however will not be back to this one...no matter how pretty it is...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property is somewhat remote on an already quiet island. Property is beautifully maintained, has a great pool and spas, short walk to private beach and several on site reastaurants. Rooms are spacious and suites with kitchens are comfortable. There are adults only areas and great areas for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view with a lani
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whoobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz Carlton for 4 night in March. 1 bedroom Garden Suite.

The price was a little expensive but so is every decent hotel in Maui... Chose the Garden Suite because there were four of us and the living room had a sofa bed. Even this room had a partial ocean view when standing on the balcony.

Set on a golf course this hotel feels very upscale with lawns and foliage all very well manicured. There is a semi-private beach about 300 yards down the path from the hotel. It is a smallish beach in a cove with some snorkeling offshore. Easily one of the best beaches on Maui.

The pool was nice and never full while I was there. The lounge/bar area is a nice place to relax in the evening.

The best places to eat in the evening are in Lahaina which is about 20 minutes drive South from Kapalua.

The one thing I remember most was the helpful hotel staff. Everyone from the front desk, to the valet attendant, to the pool shack had helpful suggestions on where to visit on the island, where to eat, where to snorkel, etc...

The staff attitude alone made the trip memorable and special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is not the place to stay if you are planning to drive all over the island and sight-see because it's pretty far out there. Being isolated on the north shore, this hotel provides a private feel that other hotels on the island can't provide. There is a large compound of the Hotel, Ritz Villas, and the Golf Course with ample services and restaurants BUT it is not crowded by other hotels and tour operators (a huge plus for a romantic anniversary getaway). Our trip was laid back and relaxed; a mix of local snorkeling, pool time, beach time, romantic walks on the bluffs/sand, and great food every night!! We did take one day the travel down the east coast of Maui and that was enough for us.
Very happy with the hotel and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: $457 - $1,558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing