We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Well appointed resort, comes with the quality you expect at the Ritz.

Service at times, especially by the pool seemed slow at times.

Amazing views all over the resort property. Set back a little from the ocean, a short one or two blocks gets your toes in the sand.

Food was always good, very nice fitness center and spa, amazing golf courses, pools.

Prices are a little higher here but as expected with it being the Ritz and little hotel competition in Kapalua.

Room sizes were average, slightly smaller than expected.

Overall, if you plan on visiting (WINDY) Kapalua, stay at the Ritz.

Tip - Check out the General store - great prices open for Breakfast and Dinner. Also if you like sushi you MUST stop at Sansei.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    648
    297
    139
    88
See reviews for
822
1,577
48
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in one of the residential suites. It is perfect if you have young children and do not wish to have every meal in a restaurant as there is a tiny kitchenette. No stove but has dish washer, microwave fridge, freezer and toaster. The rooms are comfortable although the furniture and drapes are very dated.

The pool and beach is always windy. The wailea side of the island has much nicer beaches and better weather.

The property is located near great spots for dining such as sansei and merriman's. there is also a Honolua store which stores the basics and even has a deli counter selling fresh fish sandwiches. We ate there twice during our stay.

We had a great time. But the service is not up to par for a Ritz hotel. We felt that the very average service and the dated furniture and decorations throughout the hotel did not give a five star experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetta19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's a lovely hotel indeed, but the service is what sets the Ritz apart from all other hotels on the west side of Maui... Again and again they really demonstrated above and beyond service - which really stood out after spending 2 weeks at the Westin down the road... Also, they don't nickel and dime you like they do at the Westin, charging for beach chairs etc etc... Kapalua is the place for golfers, for the weather is windier, wetter, and cloudier than a few miles away in Kaanapali and Lahaina, so keep this in mind... Kapalua is a different eco-system - beautiful but different. You'll be happy putting on the Ritz...!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spruce grove
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a two night stay at the Ritz-Carlton which didn't allow much time to enjoy the area as much as we wanted.
Greeting and check in process were very welcoming. We were offered a small upgrade which was a nice surprise and gave us a nice golf course view. The room was beautiful with hardwood floors and tasteful decor. Bed was very comfortable for our tastes with plenty of pillows. Grounds were lush and a short walk brought you to T.D. Fleming beach which I'm sure would have been great to relax on had the weather been more pleasant.

Dining options were not all that great unless you enjoyed sushi and ridiculous prices to pay for basic food choices. $18 for oatmeal....really??? Drinks at the lounge were not any better and I'm sure the cocktail I had didn't have any alcohol at all which means I probably paid $13 for some fruit juices.

That being said,,,we walked a short distance to a GREAT restaurant down the road. This restaurant unlike the Ritz-Carlton's sushi restaurant offered many options other than sushi and at better prices. This place was packed with customers while the Ritz's had only a few tables seated.

The pool area looked wonderful but unfortunately because of our short stay and weather conditions we did not have a chance to enjoy it. We noticed a small play area for children and ice cream kiosk which was nice.

If you don't mind being "nickled & dimed" for everything..this would be an alright choice. The grounds and room were really great, only found the lobby area a bit small and uninteresting.
A $25 resort fee is charged for every night booked. This is for 2 bottles of water, internet and pool access I believe. In other words...stuff you get free at even the cheap motels. There is also a $10/day parking fee which many other resorts in the area include with the resort fee charged.

Room Tip: rooms facing the golf course were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds, world class service in a neat Village setting. Kapalua is definitely not a spot to be if you want to just lay in the sun and tan for 6 hours a day. After 10 days in Wailea, I felt like I was in a tropical storm when I was laying poolside at the Ritz. It was priced appropriately and the service was amazing. We got an early check in, and they upgraded our room after hearing we were at the Fairmont Kea Lani for 10 days. The spa here is the nicest one i've ever been to and on a rainy day its the spot to be. I would return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton Maui is a very nice hotel with great amenities but it is in a windy and rainy part of the island. There is a nice beach a short walk from the hotel and the pools are beautiful but if you want sun you will rarely see it here. Just a few miles away toward Lahaina it was sunny & 83 degrees every day. I wish I'd known this before I booked a room here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMurphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Arrived late Sunday night and was politely greeted and my check in was quick and smooth. I was upgraded to an ocean view room and it was fabulous.

LOCATION
It is a bit far away from things, but there is a free shuttle to get around the Kapalua resort area, and also Mai Taxi, that although pricey, was fabulous to get around if you need to go further away. Located on a small, beautiful beach with views out to Molokai. Very close to a great market (Honolua Store) which had everything you could need (shampoo, wine, hot foods, sunblock, etc...) for more reasonable prices.

ROOM
Spacious, clean, great balcony mostly facing the pools with view out to the ocean, large bathroom with robes and toiletries.

STAFF
Front desk: Efficient, friendly, available.
Housekeeping: Very pleasant.
Concierge: Arranged taxi service for me from the airport upon arrival which was nice. Christine was great, very friendly and helpful when booking my helicopter flight. Seemed knowledgable about things to do on the island.
Alaloa lounge: The bartenders (Mark, Gian, and Megan) were super friendly. The table staff was nice also.
Pool: Observant and helpful.
Retail store: Pleasant, patient, and helpful.

FOOD
Terrace: Quite pricey for breakfast ($32 for breakfast buffet). Ordering off the menu was just as expensive, but the food was pretty good.
Pool: Good food even though it also was a bit pricey.
Alaloa lounge: Ate dinner here 4/5 nights of my stay. Good variety and decent prices.
Not much for sushi so no review for Kai Sushi.
I also did not try The Banyan Tree.

OVERALL
I would definitely stay here again. Beautiful grounds and friendly staff made this stay wonderful. As mentioned above, there is a great store/market/deli/grocery within walking distance which was a nice, inexpensive alternative for breakfast, lunch, and snacks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoSwank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing