We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine hotel great resturant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fine hotel great resturant”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights. A hotel the greets you by name as you walk through the door (because you gave your name to the fellow parking your car) and has a welcoming drink for you as you approach the registration desk already has my attention. This is a well run hotel in every way. The dinner at the Banyan was excellent. My wife had the tasting menu with wine. It was excellent and the "half price Wine Wednesday" is excellent value. (Imagine a $15,000 dollar of Rothchild for $7500?) (we only imagined it) but the Silver Oak Cab was as great bargain. All the food was excellent and the service was professional and friendly without being overly "overly".

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    623
    284
    135
    85
See reviews for
747
1,523
47
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Certainly not a bad place to spend a vacation, but if you're looking for that something extra: elegance, personality, sex appeal, beauty--go elsewhere. This feels like a very nice Marriott or Hyatt--NOTE, it is not 5 STAR like a Four Seasons or St. Regis or some other Ritz Carltons!! The lobby and main entrance is totally uninspired and oddly furnished. There is no real sense of luxury or personality at all, it feels very corporate. The rooms and property are certainly 4-star, if blandly so, but decidedly not 5-star. Service is fine, nothing special. Food is also fine--the sushi bar in the lobby was definitely above par. The place just lacks appeal, from the expensive touristy convenient store next door to the types of travelers it attracts. This is not where people in the know go. I wouldn't go back--I felt like I could have been anywhere tropical. But certainly nothing terrible to report.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilikehotels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights for combined business and vacation. It was perfection. The holiday decorations were lovely and in a perfect amount. The food was delicious, the service outstanding and the resort impeccable with every detail.

The room was immaculate. It was one of the few times I felt like someone had not stayed there before us.

We cannot say enough great things about the staff. The Ritz doesn't know the word "no." We were greeted by every person, any question was answered promptly and they truly seemed to enjoy their jobs.

I am amused at the things people nitpick in these reviews. Before booking the hotel I read through the reviews and was a bit concerned. The fuss about the hallway carpets being worn had me worried about the condition of the hotel's public areas. Heavens, the carpet doesn't look brand spanking new, but they aren't worn out and are extremely clean. The beach is very nice and easily accessible by a beautiful, short walk or the golf cart shuttle. One of the restaurants was closed because we weren't there during a busy time of year. There is a shuttle to take you to any of the restaurants in the area.

One note: we were told two hours was enough time for the return trip to the airport. We barely made our flight. Leave at least 2.5 hours ahead of time. Security was slow and very busy on a Saturday afternoon.

For anyone headed to the Ritz at Kapalua--enjoy your trip to paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor looking over the pool. The palms decorated with the white holiday light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Oh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you want service with class this is your spot. Arriving from the airport you pull under the open air lobby and are greeted professionally with the Hawaiian touch. The lobby is inviting, the Alaloa Lounge is one your right, and a great view of the pools and the ocean down at the bottom of the complex awaits exploring. If you want a getaway with family, friends, business, wedding parties, or a quiet time with someone special this is a great hotel. Service is outstanding, the breakfast at The Terrace is outstanding, with a wide variety of fresh fruit, omlettes on demand, everything fresh and enough to till you up for most of the day, great before golfing, and outting, you name it. Concierge was very helpful in renting a car, even a particular style of car with no problems. They were very helpful in setting up tours and recommedations around the island. The resort is built on a hill so you may have to take elevators down from the lobby to your room. The ocean and nearby tennis courts are a short down hill walk and service is available if you wish to ride on a golf cart. DT Fleming Beach is connected to the resort and The Beach House by the water offfers local flavors and coctails. Golfing is outstanding with dramatic views of the water and nearby Molokai. This resort is top notch so plan your budget accordingly, but it is a must visit and if you want to get away from the crowded beaches elseware and the staff and patrons respect your privacy. Lahaina is a short 15-20 minute drive and is a must visit for shopping and gifts. Overall The Ritz Carlton is one of the best on Maui and I highly recommend it for that special occasion!

Room Tip: Ask either for a poolside or tennis court views, the other wing of the hotel would also offer views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelan, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is the third time, at least, I have stayed here. It really is in need of an upgrade but I suspect the years of a dour economy have had their toll on 5 star hotels as well. Actually, I am still here listening to the room next door cause the walls are so thin.

They have self-park but you don't know there is a ten dollar daily charge until you are at check-in. There is a 25 dollar resort fee. So, they are playing the game of most hotels now and luring you in with lower reates and goughing you on the extras. The rooms are nice but dated as are the common areas.

The workout room has good equipment but it shows the wear and tear of salt ocean air and poor maintenance. The breakfast buffet was quite good but even after being here almost a week I dont know what dinner options they have. The sushi restaurant hasnt been open yet?

The staff seem well trained and are helpful. The maid service is a bit shoddy and related to the size of the tip. I generally tip maid service well cause I think they are the most under-appreciated servers around.

I have reviewed this hotel before but forgot just how windy it is here....constantly. There are nice beaches nearby specially Kapalua and Kapili. Kaanapali and Lahaina are typical tourist towns and really have no redeeming qualities if you are not into overpriced jewelry stores and t-shirt shops. And to be honest I find the local restaurants scary.

The grounds are stunning and well maintained. The road to Hana is not to be missed. Overall I likely wont be back to this hotel and I suspect that in the near future I will read it has changed hands and become a Marriott or Hyatt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank gktmd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my wife's and my second time here. The room was immaculate and well appointed with conveniences such as nice toiletries and a charging station for all your gadgets on the side of the TV stand (I wish they told us about that and we didn't have to find it). The pool area is the best laid out pool complex that we have ever been to as it can accomodate many people, but still feels intimate due to the tiered levels and many pools (three large pools, one adults only, two jacuzzis, one childrens pool). There is a walk to the beach, but there are golf carts that will pick you up at the restaurants at either side (pool bar, beach bar). DT Fleming beach is perfect for the family. The restaurants, in general are very good, although there is a somewhat limited variety from each. One really nice touch is they pipe in a mild pineapple smell into the main lobby area!

The only reasons I did not rate this five stars is there are some maintenance issues such as carpet looking old, the pools are dirty and have some cracked and loose tiles and some of the restaurants are understaffed (we waiting for 15 minutes in the Aloha Lounge and were never even greeted so we went elsewhere).

All things considered, this was a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Closer to lobby area for shorter walks. All rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcsaltmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just completed our stay a the Ritz and what can I say? It's a Ritz! Everything about the place is top notch. The staff is some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I have seen in my years of travel.
The hotel itself is very beautiful and in a great location. The property itself is well maintained and the hotel has a gorgeous view of the water and a nice beach area at the bottom of the property. They say it's about a mile walk to the beach, and it doesn't look that far, but I guess it is. On the entrance road to the hotel are a number of shops including a general market where you can buy souvenirs, snacks and groceries. I think they also had prepared food. The pool is beautiful! We are pool people and love to hang by the pool in the afternoon. It was relaxing and there were plenty of chaises available. There is pool side service providing drinks and food. (the server was a real charmer! LOL!) There is also a play area for kids near the kiddie pool for those with small children.
The room itself was very comfortable. It was a basic room and was not huge, but was very comfortable. The bedding and furniture was very nice. It was also immaculately clean! (I don't say that often) Other than one small mark on the chair, I couldn't find anything unclean about the place! They mopped the floors regularly and you could tell they had recently cleaned the drawers of the dresser as it looked like someone had just used furniture polish in it! The only complaint we had a bout the room was that the bedside lights 'flickered'...we requested the staff to look into this, but forgot to remove the DND sign and so they didn't enter to check it out. However, the staff left us a message to this effect and checked that we didn't want to have it looked into. We were only a day away from leaving at this point, so we didn't bother, but this was really our fault for not persuing it further.
My husband however, didn't care for the condition of the carpeting in the hallways. I felt that was 'picking' a bit. Yes, it is well worn and even a bit discolored, but you could tell the vacuum and shampoo it often so it didn't upset me at all. Besides, I wasn't sleeping on the hallway carpet! :)
We ate breakfast a few of the days at their restaurant and enjoyed it very much, however it's a bit pricy! It was $32/pp but offered a wide variety of breakfast items and included made to order eggs benedict - which made hubby happy! Oh and great coffee! Once or twice we ventured a few miles down the road to McDonalds...and got breakfast there.
Within a few miles (south) of the hotel are a couple of supermarkets. You could easily stock up on a few snacks and such and keep them in the mini fridge in the room.
Overall a fantastic stay! Relaxing, not over crowded feeling...nothing bad to say here! They deffinetely pay attention to the 'little' details.

Room Tip: The property is HUGE...if you are not up to the maze of hallways and a lot of walking, I would sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleAgedTravlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing