We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite of ours for years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A favorite of ours for years”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We LOVE this hotel. There are many beautiful luxury hotels in Hawaii, but what really stands out about this one is the friendly staff and excellent service. Before we even arrived Grace helped us a great deal over the phone. We love Kapalua and enjoyed the long hike to the arboretum and the beautiful coastal trail. The beach has great swimming waves and excellent snorkeling a few coves down the coast. The breakfast buffet is excellent!

Room Tip: They were very generous and offered us a room superior to what we had booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melody m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,179
    647
    297
    139
    88
See reviews for
820
1,577
48
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We've stayed in several Maui resorts that receive high marks on TripAdvisor, and this time around we decided to stay at the Ritz-Carlton in an effort to compare to the Four Seasons. Most of our activities were in the Lahaina area, so we greatly preferred the location of the Ritz-Carlton, but of course that would depend on your plans.

We stayed on the club level in both locations and found there to be very little difference. Both are among the best we have experienced anywhere. Leslie in the club lounge is the star here, and will make you feel like a member of the family before you leave. Not sure how she does it, but she remembered off the top of her head each activity we had scheduled and was able to ask us about them each day. Yes, it's her job, but still impressive when you consider she had details to remember about dozens of guests.

It is more windy here than at some other properties on the island. Keep in mind that we were here in late November, so that might have an impact. The unique U-shape of the property seems to draw in the wind. Our balcony, on the inside of the U, was fairly windy. But when we sat outside at the club lounge to eat breakfast each morning (on the outside of the U), there was no wind at all. Regardless, we didn't find that the wind especially hampered our enjoyment. A pool cabana was a great treat on one of our days, as it enabled you to be as connected (satellite TV, wireless internet, power outlets, fridge, drinks) or as disconnected (turn it all off and sit by the pool) as you wanted.

As others have mentioned, the Coastal Trail, which is 1.76 miles from start to finish, is a must-do.

There is an art to being laid-back while also being attentive. This hotel is one of the few that has figured it out. We were traveling as a couple, but saw lots of families and would not hesitate to bring our kids.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed at this property in October or November the past 5 years running. The weather can be a little on the windy side but the grounds make up for it. The Beach Grill is a great place to sit and have lunch. The pool staff (Luke) are excellent. The Banyon Tree staff (Ben) make a mean Mai Tai. The Spa (Rosa) staff are top notch. The restaurant downstairs is pricey for breakfast and food so so. A better deal at Honolua Grocery for breakfast. I hope they put a little money into the lobby and bar as it's looking dated. Don't get me wrong this is a fantastic resort overall!

Room Tip: Residence Suites have living rooms and kitchens. Great for hanging out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were welcomed to the property by a friendly hostess offering leis and the hotel's signature cocktail. The property is breathtaking and it does live up to the resort label. Our room on the Club Level was a very nice size with beautiful views of Kapalua beach/bay. Within a few hours of checking in, they even brought complimentary mai tais up to the room. The balcony was a nice size as well and you could sit relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The pool is beautiful, with lots of palm trees and waterfalls, but we didn't actually get in the pool, so I can't comment on the temperature. The staff in the Club Level was very friendly and quite helpful. We have stayed at several Ritz Carltons over the years and this certainly ranks at the top. We always stay on the Club Level as well, because of the value proposition of the meal/beverage presentations throughout the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranNewareAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a really nice property, set on 60 acres with massive ocean views. The grounds are gorgeous with tons of palm trees and plants, the pool is top notch with plenty of room and several cascading water falls. The service is also superb, we were upgraded through our AMEX platinum card to a deluxe room which was clean and nicely updated. The work out room has awesome ocean views, although the equipment could use updating. It does appear that they are slowly updating everything here so be patient. On a side note, I have to laugh at several of the negative posts, one of which was complaining that the walk down to the beach is treacherous. Seriously, the walk is about 200 yards down a gentle 8-foot wide concrete path, if you are that scared, taken the shuttle, lol. Also, another moron was complaining about the weather, really? The last time I checked, the Ritz Carleton does not control the weather on Maui, get a clue, do your home work people. It's amazing how many travel snobs there are that will never be pleased no matter what so take any negative reviews with a grain of salt!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tradrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Kudos to staff at the Club Lounge! All go above and beyond even the highest of expectations. Rooms were well-appointed. Continous, convenient shuttle service from hotel lobby goes to several of the highest rated restaurants in the area. Disadvantage was the cold pool and lack to response to our requests to warm up the pool. If the pool manager would take a walk around, he would see that hardly any guests were in the pool, while the two jacuzzis are very overcrowded, because the pool is uncomfortably cold. We are here for 9 nights and this situation has persisted.This had adversely affected our leisure time here. Very discouraging for a Ritz.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week in Maui at the Ritz for our 10th anniversary. We choose The Ritz because of previous stays at our locations unfortunately this location was a disappointment. As a previous guest commented the carpeting is stained and worn, the sheer draperies in our room were are stained too. When we arrived there were no restaurants on the property open for dinner in fact 2 of the 3 were closed the entire week of our stay and there was only 1 location open for lunch. We did eat at the on site sushi restaurant which was awful there is another sushi restaurant in Kapalua called Sensei which is the place to go, prices are great and portions are quite good. One of the reason we wanted to go to Maui was for a beach vacation, do not stay at the Ritz if you want a beach vacation because they do not allow any of their lounge chairs on the beach and did not offer us any other beach chairs to use on the beach as a previous guests notes. There reason is the currents in the ocean are too strong and the life guard needs to be able to get around the beach without chairs in their way????? There also no water sports on property either. We eneded up driving to other beaches which was not what we had planned to do on our vacation. The staff was amazing which made our trip pleasant. We did not find the concergie desk to have any pull with any restaurants or activities, they were there to make any reservation but I found I did just as well on my own through the internet. I would have expected the Ritz to have some pull with top restaurants but not the case. We also had a misunderstanding with concergie booking an activity and not advising us that the amount she quoted was per person and not for the both of us and when we tried to cxcl they basically told us there was nothing they could do to help, again not what I would expect from The Ritz. I have spent over 30 years traveling the world at top hotels and my previous experiences with the Ritz Carlton were all to my expectations so this was a big disappointment. There are so many choices in Maui it's too bad this wasn't what we hoped for. I do not think we would return to this property but would return to Maui for sure!

Room Tip: guests who met who had ocean views said they really weren't ocean view you needed to stand on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing