We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Enjoyed our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent service - staff very friendly! Rooms were super! Location was nice, the property located in calm, peaceful surroundings in Kapalua, close to the the beach. It was also easy to get to the Kapalua bay to snorkel! Hubby and I had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS-Travelfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,400)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,039 - 2,045 of 3,400 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and couldn't have been better. From the moment we got there we were treated with royal service. The staff is is friendly and always smiling. The room service was excellent. The pools are simply awesome, the beach is a short walk down but we didn't mind. I can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This Ritz isn't perfect. It would be more perfect if it was located on a more dramatic part of the property (e.g., closer to the beach down the cliffs). If they would have been allowed to built down toward the beach, however, I think it would have been way more expensive.

The great thing, however, is that it still has easy access to beach (maybe a few hundred yards away), has great views, great service, great pools, etc. all at a GREAT VALUE I assume because it can't claim to be right on the beach.

Keep in mind, however, that when I say great value I'm considering that in relation to all the great things about the location and hotel. It's still expensive (it is the Ritz-Carlton after all). It's just cheap for how great it is in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caazmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

1. We gut upgraded to a ocean view room. The view was amazing!!
2. The pools are outstanding and the hottubs were really nice.
3. The shuttle service was really helpfully
4. There is a nice ABC store walking distance from the resort and you can fined nice deals for lunch (till 3 pm).
5. 2 beautiful beaches. One for relaxing in the sun and the second for snurceling.
6. It's not a cheep place. But if you are looking for a dreamy quit place. This is it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaelgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had an incredible stay at the Ritz. Pampered from the first step onto the curb where we were greeted with beaded leis and a tropical drink (which we were too tired to accept). Rooms were great, restaurants good (but check out the Honolua General Store a short walk up the road for breakfast, a deli, liquor store and more). Beaches were great - take the beach front walk all the way to Kapalua Cove which is the most sheltered beach for swimming. And you must must must watch the sunset and have dinner at Merrimans in Kapalua Cove. The hotel shuttle will take you over and back, although it is walkable. Definitely do the spa and the Banyon tree restaurant four courses with wines. This place is quiet and more of an adult retreat than a family spot.

Room Tip: Beachfront deluxe is the way to go, the higher the better for views over the trees. The golf course...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie328i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our first stay at the Ritz (using Marriott points) was absolutely amazing. Superb service throughout the resort, but especially at the pool. Charles took care of us from the very start and treated us like royalty. He even upgraded our cabana for us! Watching the baseball playoffs with a view of the ocean on an outdoor sectional was the highlight of our trip (I'm totally serious). We got the same treatment indoors with an upgrade to a huge two room, two bathroom suite for our five night stay. Highly recommended--we will definitely be back. Just watch out for the Maui onions--they literally put them on everything. I heard it's a tourist thing and that the locals don't really eat them. Otherwise, everything was fantastic. Make sure you meet Charles at the pool--love him!

Room Tip: If you are a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, they will honor that and upgrade your room for you...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blythecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Came in with a headache from partying the prior night. Staff are cool and always there to help. I had an ocean view room of which everything is just amazing. Food is great but a little pricey. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range: $466 - $1,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing