We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Island Paradise Luxury
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just beautiful:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

1. We gut upgraded to a ocean view room. The view was amazing!!
2. The pools are outstanding and the hottubs were really nice.
3. The shuttle service was really helpfully
4. There is a nice ABC store walking distance from the resort and you can fined nice deals for lunch (till 3 pm).
5. 2 beautiful beaches. One for relaxing in the sun and the second for snurceling.
6. It's not a cheep place. But if you are looking for a dreamy quit place. This is it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaelgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    553
    242
    121
    74
See reviews for
585
1,247
39
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had an incredible stay at the Ritz. Pampered from the first step onto the curb where we were greeted with beaded leis and a tropical drink (which we were too tired to accept). Rooms were great, restaurants good (but check out the Honolua General Store a short walk up the road for breakfast, a deli, liquor store and more). Beaches were great - take the beach front walk all the way to Kapalua Cove which is the most sheltered beach for swimming. And you must must must watch the sunset and have dinner at Merrimans in Kapalua Cove. The hotel shuttle will take you over and back, although it is walkable. Definitely do the spa and the Banyon tree restaurant four courses with wines. This place is quiet and more of an adult retreat than a family spot.

Room Tip: Beachfront deluxe is the way to go, the higher the better for views over the trees. The golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie328i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our first stay at the Ritz (using Marriott points) was absolutely amazing. Superb service throughout the resort, but especially at the pool. Charles took care of us from the very start and treated us like royalty. He even upgraded our cabana for us! Watching the baseball playoffs with a view of the ocean on an outdoor sectional was the highlight of our trip (I'm totally serious). We got the same treatment indoors with an upgrade to a huge two room, two bathroom suite for our five night stay. Highly recommended--we will definitely be back. Just watch out for the Maui onions--they literally put them on everything. I heard it's a tourist thing and that the locals don't really eat them. Otherwise, everything was fantastic. Make sure you meet Charles at the pool--love him!

Room Tip: If you are a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, they will honor that and upgrade your room for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blythecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Came in with a headache from partying the prior night. Staff are cool and always there to help. I had an ocean view room of which everything is just amazing. Food is great but a little pricey. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz only 1 night for our anniversary. The staff was VERY warm and friendly. We were greeted with a smile, a lei and a drink upon check in.
A bit later after we checked in, there was a knock at the door and we were given a plate of chocolate covered strawberries with “Happy Anniversary” written in chocolate. It was a very nice surprise.
The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. The beach is a bit of a walk and can be very windy. The food is very pricy, but it is the Ritz and you pay for the name.
The fine detail cleaning could have been better, like around the baseboard etc.
It was great for 1 night, but much preferred it when we moved down to the Marriott on Kaanapali beach the next day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomOates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wow, factor, at this Hotel. We stayed in September with our dear mother, a special trip. Great service, and the rooms were well appointed, with fabulous view of the Ocean, and beautiful Garden area. We got the package, where breakfast was included, just lovely and delicious. And the service and ambiance was real special. Out Mother just loved it, and the staff, could not have been nicer. Only down side, was that the beach was not good for swimming, because of the tides, but very beautiful to walk to, sit, enjoy and read a great book.
the pool area was lovely, with a great bar for those special hawaiian drinks.
We will be back.
Bob and Elizabeth, San Clemente, CA.

Room Tip: Not on the beach, but great beach to walk to, and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My boyfriend took me to Maui for my birthday. Everyone was so pleasant, maid service twice a day. The most romantic dinner at our cabana , private butler. Service was excellent. Would definitely recommend the Ritz Carlton and would absolutely come back, perhaps for our honeymoon ;), ;).. An unforgettable vacation .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ec129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
26.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
26.7 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing