We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz last May and absolutely loved it. So when we were planning another trip to Maui with our friends we decided to stay there again. Since we were trying to save money the four of us stayed in one room, which was fine, the two queen beds were comfortable. The cleaning staff were very nice and they did a great job cleaning the room (even with the amount of suitcases and clothes we had sprawled out everywhere) Every day they gave us extra towels which was great since there were 4 of us and some of us were a little messy than others. The rooms were nice, we got a mountain view this time but you could still see the beach and water from our balcony. Some people pay extra to get the “ocean view” room but I think any of the other rooms is good since the hotel is situated far from the beach. It is not what you call water front property but you can still see the ocean if you get the ocean view room. We got that last time and it was amazing. Some people have complained that they paid extra for ocean view and the ocean is so far away, and yes I do agree it is far away but you still see it, it may not be right up front but it’s still a great view with all the beaches and cliffs you see. I think the view is a lot better than just looking straight into the ocean. I suggest trying to go to the Pool here at least once during your stay. I made the mistake of not going to the pool last year but this year I made sure I went at least once, and I loved it. It’s true you shouldn’t go to the pool if you’re Hawaii but this pool is pretty cool, and it’s kept warmish so it’s not freezing once you jump in. The towel people were very attentive and brought us towels as soon as we dropped out stuff off on chairs.
The hotel is situated just past all the Kaanapali hotels and resorts. It’s really far from everything else, about a 25 min drive to Lahaina. If you are planning on staying here, I suggest getting a rental car. Ritz-Carlton has Hertz on the property so if you get there and you realize you need a car, just go down to the Concierge and they will take care of that for you. The beach is quite a walk from the hotel, but I don’t mind it, it’s so nice outside that a nice walk is much needed and it gives you time to take in the atmosphere (but they do offer a golf cart shuttle service if you need it). The beach itself is windy and when the sand hits you, it does hurt. Only bring children maybe 4 and above. The waves here are good for boogey boarding but do be careful with the little ones. The waves are big enough and strong enough to drag them out to sea. So do keep a close eye on the kids if they are playing in the water. For snorkeling I wouldn’t go here to snorkel, there’s another public beach nearby that is GREAT for snorkeling, Kapalua beach, about a 5 min drive? The beach is kinda small but the water is calm and there are a lot of fishes here. You can almost immediately see the fish once you enter the water. The hotel area also has an amazing golf course (too bad I don’t play golf) and it has this little general store that I love going to. The food there for lunch is affordable and delicious (if you don’t want to spend a lot of money on lunch at the hotel or at the surrounding restaurants, I suggest you go here) The restaurants on the hotel property and around the area all have 4 stars or above ratings. My two favorite restaurants nearby are The Pineapple Grill and Merriman’s. Both have great seafood and meat selections, I love eating breakfast at the Pineapple grill, very fresh food and very good. Oh and if you want to travel to Wailea for the shopping and the beaches, it’s about an hour drive. Be careful on the Wailea beach though, the sand there got so hot that my feet got blisters from it. They were blood shot red when I got back to the car. That was painful. Hope this review was helpful!

Room Tip: You can always ask to see if you can get an upgrade from the room you have, never hurts to try. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floli1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,062
    622
    284
    135
    85
See reviews for
747
1,516
47
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Certainly a Ritz, but could easily be Houston, TX. Most rooms overlook the golf course or the pool area. . .not the ocean! Rooms are nice but could be anywhere and do not in any way replicate anything HI. The beach is a 5 minute walk and no room would be able to hear the sounds of the ocean. The service is quite good but that is the only good reason to stay here. In short if you like generic, this is the place for you. . .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mekena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A beautiful hotel w a great staff. Ritz quality service. Great reasonable priced food for such a high end hotel. Very nice heated pool and beach. An incredible kids club where they teach children about the envirnment with a focus on the ocean. Kapalua is great for golf and getting away from it all although not as lively and full of food choices as Wailea.

The one thing about the hotel is that its lay out is a bit odd. The architecht had originally planned to create a hotel parallel to the beach but could not as the remains of locals were identifed where they wanted to build a hotel. This would be fine but for some reason this hotel uses as odd definition of ocean view. Only a very small number of end units actually have ocean views from the room but they label rooms that do not actually have a view of the ocean from the room as ocean view. When I pointed this out to the very pleasant representatives that I did not have a view of the ocean from my ocean view room they tried to explain the logic of their definition of ocean view to me. They were very accomodating but at the end of the day I wanted an ocean view room which they did not have.

Room Tip: Do not pay for an ocean view room unless you are assured you can see the ocean from the room not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardinalRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Couples massage booked in the outdoor cabana was a highlight of the stay! So worth it, enjoyed it much more than the in-spa massage.
Room was OK, requested a king and got 2 doubles. Housekeeping was amazing, the room was always spotless and well stocked.
There are a couple of chairs tucked away on a terrace that over look the beach (off to the side of the pool). If you are up early and can grab those it is an ideal perch.
Gift shop has some great souvenir hats. Golf course is beautiful. We rented a jeep from the in-hotel rental desk and it was reasonably priced, great option for a day trip!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodyhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family enjoyed our weeks stay at the Ritz in Maui. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is more wind and rain on this end of the island, but we had more than enough sunshine and the breeze kept the temperature down. The beach is nice with great waves for boogie boarding. The hotel is only a short drive to Lahaina, Kanapali, and Napili. Wailea is about and hour drive. WE loved the location and the hotel. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo102597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Ritz Carlton in Kapalua, Maui is an opulent property. The town of Kapalua is very upscale with van shuttle service to restaurants and hotels in the Kapalua area. There are tradewinds blowing everyday because of the location and it is always cooler than other parts of Maui. You will never feel hot. The pool and beach area are also phenomenal. The restaurants serve excellent food and the rooms are also well designed with good views. The cabanas around the pool are nicely laid out. The restaurant at the beach has the view of the mountain and the ocean. You do not want to leave the place. The service is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEO08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We love this stately, old (but recently remodeled) hotel. It is so elegant and grand, but also very current and very customer focused. We stayed in a 2 bedroom Residence suite. The room(s) were gorgeous, very well-sized, it was extremely comfortable and spacious for our family of five (Mom and dad and kids 18, 14, 5). The room had a sleeper sofa and two bedrooms, one with a king and one with 2 queens (or doubles, not sure) and two full baths with shower and tubs. There was a large square table in the kitchen/living area, and there was a nicely appointed kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, oven, fridge and freezer. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Pool staff extremely helpful, waiters around the pool like to get to know the guests and love to share their stories of what brought them to Hawaii. Food was great at sushi bar and at poolside bar. Our only negative, aside from the windy weather (we happened to be there during a bit of a stormy time, but you can hardly blame that on the Ritz), was dinner at Banyan Tree. Wow, what an overpriced, under serving money-trap! The menu is extremely limited, but also extremely expensive. My husband and sons had steak, I had a choice of 2 types of fish or roast chicken. I asked the waiter to explain how the fish was prepared, and then I mentioned that I prefer it grilled. He didn't offer any accomodations (like, "sure, our chef can do that!") so I ordered the roast chicken for $40+. No lie, this piece of chicken looked (and tasted) like it came out of a Tyson frozen food box. Our daughter fell asleep while waiting for the meal to be served. The waiter just brought her food anyway, didn't offer to cancel it or box it up to take back to the room, as you might expect from a restaurant when you are paying a $450 tab. We're not ones to let something like this ruin our stay or change our opinion of a hotel, but we were pretty wary of the Ritz restaurants after that. If you stay here, I highly recommend you walk over to Honolua Store, just across the front entrance and parking area of the hotel. They have a full deli with delicious food.... you'd have to eat an early dinner because they close around 6:00, but they are perfect for lunch or breakfast. They have a Starbucks-like coffee bar and lots of pastries and other sweets. The beach is absolutely gorgeous at the Ritz, the pools are nice and the grounds are lovely. It is near great snorkeling places like Honolua Bay and Kapalua Bay (snorkeled Kapalua this trip and it was awesome). We also like to drive around the northern tip of the island and hike down to the blowhole and other sights. The road is narrow and winds around alot, but it is true, unadulterated Hawaii and its one of our favorite things to do.

Room Tip: Residential suites give you a nice view of pool and ocean, and are nicely accessible to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
26.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing