We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kapalua Resort

Kapalua Resort
Ranked #11 of 16 things to do in Kapalua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This resort offers three championship courses: The Bay, The Village and The Plantation.
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing resort!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, even for the non-golfer. Prices are very reasonable... 11 restaurants on the property, beaches, pools, activity center, etc. We are normally Hilton loyalists, but decided to venture and try something different. We were not disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amjar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maurice, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Dream vacation for the Hebert's from Louisiana”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This resort was incredibly clean and beautiful as well. Very quiet, laid back area with lots of flowers and gorgeous view of Pacific Ocean

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Kapalua resort area is phenomenal. You have a free shuttle bus that can take you to all the restaurants and hotels in the area. The views are breathtaking and the resort area is very upscale. Trade winds blowing all the time make it a very temperate climate

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CEO08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved this resort”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Ritz is the placeto relax and enjoy maui if you want to be off the beaten path and away from the crowds of kaanapali. you do have to want the silence. amazing service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, but don't expect to get pampered.”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My wife and I visited in June 2011 for our honeymoon. The villa isn't a hotel, but rather a condo that is rented out when the owners are away. Each room will be different in both decor and style, so YMMV from our experience.

This is the kind of place if you want to be self sufficent but have a nice place to stay. We had a 2-level condo with a large master bedroom suite upstairs (with Lanai) and a living room/kitchen downstairs. It was perfect for a couple, but I wouldn't recommend kids.

We bought and cooked our own food and the maid came in daily for clean up. The timing was a bit unpredictable, but not a problem for us. My wife and I used it as a base camp of sorts as we spent the days out exploring the island, not sitting in our hotel room.

The furniture was nice and comfortable and the bathroom was roomy. The kitchen was full sized with granite countertops, plenty of cabinet space, and a full sized refrigerator and dishwasher. I did a lot of cooking there and it was perfect. There was also a washer and dryer which was very useful for our extended stay.

A van is available to take you around the resort, and was only a phone call and a few minutes away. You can walk to a beach and a nature area, but it is very windy there as you are on the north side of the island. They had several small swimming pools you could walk to or take the van to the Ritz Carelton pool. It was a bit windy to really enjoy the pools however.

I am not a golfer, but the course looked nice.

In the end, if you are expecting someone to wait on you hand and foot and walk to all of your activities, I'd look elsewhere. If you want a well outfitted and comfortable "home away from home" to enjoy Maui or are a golfer, it is worth a look.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anabasis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapalua Resort also viewed

 

Been to Kapalua Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing