We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osbaston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dandelion Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed....”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent 5 days at The Dandelion Hideaway in August (in Badger's Sett), and it was a fantastic place for us all (2 adults and 4 children). The girls loved the chickens, ponies, goats, camp fires and the freedom to wander around. They especially liked the wheelbarrows! The canvas cottages were amazing and were a perfect size for us (wigwams and yurts have previously felt a bit small for a family of 6). John and Sharon are very welcoming, and put a lot of effort into providing a holiday to remember. The girls are already planning their return visit! If you like 'normal' camping, but find it a lot of effort with small children and rain, then this is the perfect balance. I would recommend this holiday to anyone ... children or no children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viva337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
201
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the Dandelion Hideaway at Osbaston House Farm.
There were 6 of us in our "canvas cottage", and another family of 6 in the next cottage with whom we travelled.
This is a brilliant way to spend a few days - thoroughly enjoyed the break.
On arrival, you check in with John the farmer (it's a goat milk far with 1000 goats), and drive to the car park, where u unload and wheel-barrow your clothes to the cottage (fun in itself!).
The canvas cottages are permanant tents, done out beautifully with lovely cottage-y decor, nice touches, wooden flooring, beautiful kitchen and bathroom (roll-top bath, shower, HOT WATER!!!) - there is no electricity, which is brilliant, as u light the cottages at night with tea-lights which is beautiful.
and 2 bedrooms and a childs "den".
These are really comfortable "tents, and had the weather been better, would have been open and an even better experience.
As it was, we had a great time, collecting eggs from the hens in the mornings, walking around the farm, going on the farm tour (really interesting and worthwhile), walking lots, having wheelbarrow races, enjoting the countryside and surrounding towns, and most importantly, barbequeuing in the evenings with the kids running riot and having fun.
There is an "honesty shop" where you can collect goods like milk and bacon etc., and you say what u take and settle up at the end.
John and Sharon were more than hospitable, kind, including bringing us home-made cakes which was a lovely touch.
Whether you're with children, group or adults or just a couple, this is a lovely lovely way to spend a few days, and come home feeling like you have well-spent time and money.
We will definitely go back next year; if you enjoy sitting in a more than comfortable "tent", log fired oven going, barbequeuing, sitting eating and drinking, being basic but not too much so, then u must must must go. Wonderful and we are grateful for having been.
Go - you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonioandgemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a find. We spent 3 nights at the Dandelion Hideaway and enjoyed the experience immensely. Our children thought they were in a Famous Five adventure from our arrival. They loved having the freedom to explore the farm and woodland, looking for the owls and badgers and learning about the farm animals. John and Sharon are amazing hosts, every detail was in place, down to the tub of fresh herbs provided on the cottage deck. I would recommend this glamping site to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogsy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Best holiday I've had ever!!! Loved the canvas cottages, the fresh air. The passion and love John and Sharon have for the farm and the animals shows with every word they say and I was truly touched and excited by this enchanting place. Kids loved it and cried when we left. We will be booking and going back next year but will stay longer this time. and invite all friends so they can experience this amazing place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent four brilliant nights in Bluebells (myself, my husband and our 18 month-old daughter).
We had a lovely warm welcome from Sharon and John. The 'tent' (if you can call it that!) was amazing, furnished so beautifully and little touches such as homemade biscuits and freshly picked sweet peas on our arrival made us feel like really special guests.
Our little girl enjoyed meeting the goats and ponies and spent lots of time being pushed around in a wheelbarrow, much to her amusement! And we were happy to let her run around outside the tent - lots of grassy open space. We were lucky enough to get some sunshine and spent a couple of glorious evenings drinking cider from the honesty shop and watching the sunset on the veranda. The cooler nights were spent by the stove, wrapped up in the numerous cosy blankets available to us surrounded by candles and tea lights.
Such a great weekend. We definitely want to go back next year, and plan on bringing more family members with us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have just spent 3 nights in the oh-so-comfortable Bluebells with our 4 yr old who was as captivated as we were by this gem of a place. We were so taken with the chickens, goats, shetland ponies, badgers, blackberries, bikes, honesty shop, wheelbarrows and enjoying the peace and quiet that we didn't even go off site! John and Sharon have created a truly fantastic place and we hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have just spent a week at the Dandelion Hideaway in 'Hare's Form'. It was truly fantastic and exceptional in every sense. John and Sharon provide unbeatable customer service, going far beyond anything that we have experienced before. They were perfect hosts. We have holidayed around the world but nothing beats this. From the friendly 'meet and greet' in the farm's honesty shop to collecting fresh eggs from the hens each morning, to cooking on the wood burning stoves, everything was a unique and exciting adventure to which we can't wait to return. The tents were immaculately furnished (roll top baths and leather sofas!) however it was the personal touches such as the sweet peas from Sharon's garden that made it feel so homely and an oasis of tranquility. Adults and children alike will love it, especially putting the hens to bed each night before watching beautiful rural sunsets. If you're very lucky, you'll also see the barn owls and badgers. If not, the goats are great fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osbaston
1.1 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,224 reviews
4.5 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
435 reviews
9.0 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
385 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
2.8 mi away
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dandelion Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dandelion Hideaway

Property: The Dandelion Hideaway
Address: Osbaston House Farm Lount Road | Leicestershire, Osbaston CV13 0HR, England (Formerly Osbaston House Farm)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Osbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Osbaston
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dandelion Hideaway offers the finest farm glamping holiday. Six, luxury country canvas cottages, nestled into the idyllic countryside, offer fun for families and pure indulgence and romance for couples. There are beautiful luxurious interiors, vintage touches and a roll top bath & shower in the en suite bathroom, with oodles of hot water! Each sleeps six guests in two bedrooms, plus a "hayloft", and the well equipped farmhouse kitchen includes a butler's sink and a traditional range cooker. Bluebells canvas cottage is just for two and is perfect for romance, proposals and celebrations, its very secluded, private and has its own delightful hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dandelion Hideaway Hotel Osbaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing