We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of fresh air!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osbaston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dandelion Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Could the Dandelion Hideaway live up to the glowing reviews I'd read on Tripadvisor? YES! And more! I was blown away by the tranquility, the views, the wonderful hosts (Farmer John and Sharon) and I just cannot wait to come back. The canvas cottages are absolutely beautiful and have to be seen to be believed. I am a city girl and and so probably could not have coped well with a traditional camping experience but this was a fabulous compromise. Getting by without electricity and cooking by wood burning stove proved a bit of an adventure and I LOVED learning about the farm and the dairy industry from our farm tour. Although we did venture out each day, I believe you could probably spend the whole weekend without leaving the farm (which might be the best option if you don't have a car with you) since the farm shop has a really good range of food to purchase - milk/bacon/steak/soups/bread. If you want to get away and REALLY relax - this would be perfect. I am so happy I found the the Dandelion Hideaway, as it really is something quite special!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank VikkiLuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
187
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I am not sure conventional camping is for me, but glamping is very much for me, I have very high expectations, which were completely met by Dandelion Hideaway, the tents are gorgeous, love the roll top bath and wood burning oven, really kept the tent toasty. John and Sharon are very hospitable and it is very interesting doing the farm tour and milking the goats.
Lovely fresh eggs and honesty shop.
If you like being outdoors but dont like roughing it, then this is the place for you. They definately deserve their excellent trip advisor rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tea-nees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at The Dandelion Hideaway, along with our 2 year old son, in May 2012. The cottage exceeded all of our expectations and the vintage decor was just beautiful. We were delighted to find a lovely home made cake and a bottle of Cava to welcome us.
It didn't take long to master the wood burner and we only ate out once during our holiday as we loved cooking on it so much.
It rained every day and night during our stay, but we were so cosy that we actually enjoyed just listening to the rain on the roof, and sitting undercover on the porch wrapped in blankets.
We can't recommend The Dandelion Hideaway highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorcha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Dandelion Hideaway was everything we could have wished for and more...
We stayed in 'Bluebells' which is advertised as a romantic hideaway - & it certainly was! Total luxury in an idyllic setting. The canvas cottage was beautifully decorated with so many little details that made it just perfect. The farm itself was lovely & everyone was so welcoming - John & Sharon really were the perfect hosts. We loved being 'hen keepers' for the week, feeding & watering the hens that provided eggs for all the guests and putting them all to bed at night. The wood-burning stove was surprisingly easy to use & very atmospheric (and the first couple of nights the warmth was much needed!). A couple of beautiful evenings gave us the chance to eat outside & sit on the veranda under the stars. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerenaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at the Dandelion Hideaway. The quality of the accommodation was second to none with so much care and attention given to the 'little things' which make such a big difference.My daughter and her friend took on the responsibility of henkeeping and enjoyed getting the hens up in the morning and the challenge of putting them to bed at night!! It was so good to relax in comfort without a TV and being able to talk and have fun. Would unreservedly recommend.
Rob Steph and Sammi Cooper

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephcooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Dandelion Hideaway is truly a wonderful place. Perfect family holiday with little ones. Plenty of grassy space to run around in and there were just so many wonderful things to do. We loved collecting the eggs in the morning, petting the baby goats, going on the farm tour, cooking everything on the little wood burning stove, roasting marshmallows in the evening under the spectacular skies.

But what deserves a particular mention are the farmers: Sharon and John. What wonderfully kind and friendly people. They really made the place and our holiday very special.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tztz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a find DH is! Recommended by a friend we travelled up from london last month and stayed in Moles Hill, nestled between other cottages. The warmth and effectiveness of the wood burning stove was just lovely and the children aged 3 & 4 just loved sleeping in the cupboard which contains a big double bed! Collecting the eggs daily and enjoying John and Sharon's tour were the highlights.

Like a previous comment, we would have liked to purchase the goats milk in the shop but this is onky a minor thing!

We shall be returning and bringing all our friends with us.

Just gorgeous.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osbaston
4.6 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,058 reviews
17.9 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
6.6 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
353 reviews
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hinkley
Premier Inn Hinkley
#1 of 3 in Hinckley
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dandelion Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dandelion Hideaway

Property: The Dandelion Hideaway
Address: Osbaston House Farm Lount Road | Leicestershire, Osbaston CV13 0HR, England (Formerly Osbaston House Farm)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Osbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Osbaston
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dandelion Hideaway offers the finest farm glamping holiday. Six, luxury country canvas cottages, nestled into the idyllic countryside, offer fun for families and pure indulgence and romance for couples. There are beautiful luxurious interiors, vintage touches and a roll top bath & shower in the en suite bathroom, with oodles of hot water! Each sleeps six guests in two bedrooms, plus a "hayloft", and the well equipped farmhouse kitchen includes a butler's sink and a traditional range cooker. Bluebells canvas cottage is just for two and is perfect for romance, proposals and celebrations, its very secluded, private and has its own delightful hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dandelion Hideaway Hotel Osbaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing