We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real country farm break - with luxury too!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osbaston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dandelion Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We were lucky enough to be among the first visitors at the newly refreshed Dandelion Hideaway at Osbaston Farm. With new upgraded tents, now with hot running water, private bathrooms (with great showers!), space for 6 adults and verandah, you could use this as a base for lots of exploring, as well as stay holed up inside for a real retreat.

We chilled out as soon as we arrived with a cold glass of wine and a beautiful sunset from the verandah in the rocking chairs. We popped into the new nature den to look over the badger set and then started the log burning stove running (with inbuilt ovens now) and spent a wonderful evening around the table with friends.

After a snuggly warm and cosy sleep (even though the morning was verging on frosty) the sunrise through the bedroom window started a beautiful day. The stove was still warm so breakfast was on the go very quickly, with copious cups of tea easy to brew and eggs collected directly from the hens by the tent.

Sharon and Farmer John were excellent hosts - customer service is taken very seriously and nothing seemed too much trouble. Lots of detail obviously went into making our stay as relaxing as possible. You'll love all the little extras around the 'canvas cottages'.

This is seriously luxurious camping, whether you're after a quiet romantic escape or a family fun stay on the farm - it's a great place to go. We'll certainly be going back again for both types of break - not at the same time!

Room Tip: Remember your wellies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 285 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

Osbaston Hse is part of the Feather Down Farms experience, and what an experience! From the moment you whhel your barrow full of your stuff to your luxury tent, you just know you are going to be a happy bunny. The kids ran off immediately in search of adventure in the vast fields/woods and we just lit the log burner and slowly got aquainted with the tent. Farmer John came to visit not long after to show us around and answer any questions and to drop off our 'adopted chickens' for the week. Fire lit, we then set out to explore. The beds are lovely and comfy, duvets lovely and snuggly and we all dropped off as our heads hit the pillow. The following day was brilliant. Farmer John (who is as passionate about goats as anyone could possibly be!) showed us round all the farm, the animals and he was a mind of farming information! Everyone was so friendly and the kids immediately gelled with the other kids that were there on hols too. The small honesty shop was great, although had no veggie sausages, but everything else you could need was there. Kids borrowed some games, I stocked up on magazines and it was lovely to browse through info of the surrounding area. We cooked our own bread on the outside oven, had an impromptu camp fire with marshmallows with the other guests and even got an invite to one tent on the last night for cake as it was the little girls birthday. Star gazing at night is lovely - no serious light pollution so get a book out of the library before you go for reference! A THOROUGHLY fab time was had by all. We were sooooo happy with our farm break, we have been back only a week and are already looking to book another...! Thank you all at Osbaston Hse! And no, we didn't take a goat for a souveneir although my son thought it very, very tempting! :)))

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happybunny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Having just returned from the most fabulous week at Osbaston House Farm we want to go straight back!! We had the most idyllic time watching the kids play hide & seek in the hayfields, dare each other to run into the field in the pitch black and toast marshmallows on the open fire whilst watching the stars. We all fell in love with the goats and were made to feel incredibly welcome by Sharon & 'Farmer John'. You MUST go and watch the daily milking in the Dairy where John encouraged two city girls to milk the goats!! An experience I will never forget! You get to taste the milk straight from the goats and you can also sample the butter and cheese from the Honesty Shop.

The tents (if you can call them that - very well equipped, more like log cabins) have fab beds with deep squashy mattresses and proper duvets. The only critisism is that you need extra comfortable seating if more than 2 adults per tent. 2 deckchairs provided.

If you want a relaxing 'get away from it all' holiday with your family, then don't look any
further than Osbaston House Farm. Thank you so very much for making our holiday so special. We can't wait to book again for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flossy-0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Our third trip to Osbaston House Farm and it was just as good as the first time. Such a warm welcome from John and Sharon who are very well supported by a great team of staff. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always there to answer questions and queries. Interaction with animals is amazing and the freedom that the setting offers for young children is second to none. Anyone who has fond memories of traditional family holidays where children made friends with other children on a camp site and adults all looked out for each other will love the safe setting that Osbaston offers. The tents and outdoor cooking provide plenty of opportunities to learn and laugh together and simply enjoy the surroundings and take in the beautiful setting offered. Truly a holiday like no other. Our third visit will not be our last.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen_Neilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We have just returned from a week away at Osbaston Farm which is part of the Featherdown Farm group of farm holidays. We all had a fantastic time. Both of my children really enjoyed the freedom of the farm. They milked goats, collected chicken eggs, groomed ponies and just had a thoroughly great time. The farm is a goat farm and is also a stud farm for Shetland ponies. You can hire bikes and barbeques. The 'tent' was more like a log cabin inside but was under canvas. There was a flushing toilet. real beds and duvets which were really comfortable and there was a living area that contained a kitchen with running water, a dining table and chairs and a fabulous wood burning range to cook on. I loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed at Osbaston Farm Featherdown tents in September last year and it exceeded the experience promised by the many reviews form the broadsheets and lifestyle magazines I had found. Be warned this'll be a long and happy review.

Booking online was very simple and the website became a regular on my browser at work reading the happy descriptions of featherdown farms. The Osbaston farm seened to me the ideal choice with dairy goats and the possibility of seeing young goats (called teenagers oddly enough). Our children would love the interaction with farm animals and a working farm seemed a great option.

Family make up is me, hubby and two daughters of four and eighteen months. The tent was very spacious with a living area for eating, living and cooking, a small plumbed in flushing toilet closet, a double bedroom, a twin bunk room which also accomodated our travel cot and the favourite part for all which was the dutch canopy bed, a sort of sleeping cupboard arrangement that the kids will fight over (or all just squeeze in).

Our arrival was well handled by the farmer, he explained the workings of the farm and we had pre-booked a cottage pie which arrived at teatime hot and ready to eat that evening. The farmer gave us a tour of the farm over our stay and we were also invited to help with the milking on one occassion, 800 happy goats traipsing through the dairy room, my daughter loved putting the milking machine onto the goats herself.

The rain was heavy on our first day at the farm but with puddlejumpers for the kids and wellies we found plenty to do around the farm it was one of our best days so don't let rain put you off. Leave your wellies by the door of the tent and bring some slippers if you don't want to spend your weekend sweeping out the living area. We were able to keep the front flap completely open during even the heaviest rain as teh tents here are very private sat back in their own little cubby behind a fence and surrounded in September by the maize as high an elephants eye.

Cooking on the stove was very easy to learn, get your big kettle of water on first and keep it topped up and you will always have enough warm water for washing, tea etc etc. keep your cooking to one pot casseroles or all day breakfasts, next time we;ll be more inventive with our cooking , it seems to taste all the better for being cooked on the stove.

Nightime came early for the kids, they were falling asleep into their food fropm all teh fresh air to feed their apetite and were asleep in 60 seconds flat when put to bed. evening was enhanced by a glass or two (or three) of wine for us and a game of monopoly or on one occassion 'homemade battleships' the tent is warm and cosy with the stove lit. The farmer's store has LOADS of board games and books, you don't need to pack any extra. There is NO electricity, you don't miss it, you feel liberated, turn on teh mobile only twice a day to save on battery, oil lamps and candles at night, don't forget your glasses, you need them if you want to read by candlelight.

In spetember I'd say it got cold camping at night, the baby in her cot was a tad cold and ended up in with us half way through the night. take hot water bottles with you and you'll be fine if you go at the is time of year and maybe a woolly hat if like my husband you are folically challenged, but you brobably don't need the addition of a sleeping bad quite yet unless you are very 'nish', the duverts are warm and the beds cosy. Or snuggle in with whatever child is in the canopy bed, the warmest sleeping place. First up in teh morning relit the stove and theplace was warm very quickly.

Our kids fed and watered the hens every day, hens are THE most friendly of companions and the highlight for my four year old. The freedom even such small children accorded here is unmatched in any other part of their lives, I sat outside our tent and watched my daughter on her ''dventures" round the field and paddock, it was a very blissful experience letting her have so much freedom. If you have children or primary age I can only imagine that you'd just let them go make mischief and not worry at all.

The car park is quite a walk form the tents and if not too muddy teh farmer will help you back with your kit at teh end of teh weekend. We didn't feel the need and several trips with the wheelbarrows was a healthy turn for my hubby. the kids regularly took rides back and forth in the barrows too but were just as keen to stop, pick and eat the fresh brambles on the path. Every trip back to teh car for us included a meet and greet with teh goats, we were allowed to come and go in the goat barns, the animals are extrememly clean, happy and very friendly, they were lovely.

Showers are basic but a family event and witha little organisation one of teh fun experiences. But most of teh tiem my kids were happily caked in dirt, I just let them, it's part of the fun. Take twice as many trousers as you think the kids need and three times as meny pairs of socks. I'm thinking barefoot in summer........

Store is well stocked with 'niche' foods and some basics ( and a fridge of cider and beer.....life saver) and the osbaston goats milk soap is amazing. You can spend a fortune so think about anything you'd want to bring with you for meals, a little plan ahead will help with the budget/

So to end please make this one of your holiday 'must' destinations, borrow someone elses kids if you have to, pack your wellies and your crocs, four days can seem like a blissful fortnight.

We are of fto another farm this summer, nearer beach but we'd like to do Osbaston again, it was great.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank maria9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon E, Owner at The Dandelion Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dandelion Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dandelion Hideaway

Address: Osbaston House Farm Lount Road | Leicestershire, Osbaston CV13 0HR, England (Formerly Osbaston House Farm)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Osbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Osbaston
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dandelion Hideaway offers the finest farm glamping holiday. Six, luxury country canvas cottages, nestled into the idyllic countryside, offer fun for families and pure indulgence and romance for couples. There are beautiful luxurious interiors, vintage touches and a roll top bath & shower in the en suite bathroom, with oodles of hot water! Each sleeps six guests in two bedrooms, plus a "hayloft", and the well equipped farmhouse kitchen includes a butler's sink and a traditional range cooker. Bluebells canvas cottage is just for two and is perfect for romance, proposals and celebrations, its very secluded, private and has its own delightful hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dandelion Hideaway Hotel Osbaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing