We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Trip, had by all”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Highlea

The front of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the property.
The bedroom showing the double bed The lounge including the sofa bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The front of the property.
The bedroom showing the double bed
The lounge including the sofa bed
Another shot of the lounge
A further picture of the lounge
Part of the kitchen
Another picture of the kitchen
Another shot of the bedroom showing the single bed
The bathroom
Our delightful location with the guest accommodation on the left side of the photo
Another shot of the front of the property
The back of the accommodation showing the patio doors into the lounge
Another shot of the rear of the accommodation
Looking out across the field
A view over to our local 'Folly'
another view across the fields
Looking south west from the rear of the property
A greater spotted woodpecker in for breakfast! One of our many local wildlife visitors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Horton, Wimborne Minster, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
76Heather...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trip, had by all”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had such a lovely time, very relaxing place. The view from the garden was amazing, looking out across fields. The accommodation was of a high standard and everything was available to make it feel like home from home. Doreen and Dennis are lovely host's, so helpful with information about the area and the lemon drizzle cake was delicious. Our dog's loved their walk in the woods and though we were in a small village, it was close to so many places to visit, which really suited us and our dog's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A treasure in Dorset”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful stay at HIghlea. The cottage is beautiful with everything you could possibly want. The owners went the extra mile to make sure you were comfortable and happy. They let us have free use of their garden and even found some toys for our children to play with in their garden. The views were amazing. We feel we have found a real treasure in Dorset and will definitely be back. Fantastic value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated, comfortable, well equipped, great views and lovely hosts
Liked least: wifi signal wasn't very strong and didn't always work
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubica B
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
“Felt like at home”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A warm and cosy quiet apartment in the heart of the beautiful English countryside with wonderful views to meadows with sheep, rabbits and pheasants - one could not wish for more. But there was even much more - an exceptional hospitality and willingness of both Doreen and Dennis who had welcome their guests with the most delicious cakes and scones and even Easter eggs for children. It was an unforgetable experience and a very pleasant stay. We simply felt like at home.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk8813
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable home”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at Highlea with my 2 daughters at the end of June 2014 on the first leg of my summer trip from Singapore. It was wonderfully peaceful and comfortable making jet lag recovery very easy. The huge chocolate cake baked by Doreen helped a lot too! There were plenty of towels and hot water. The kitchenette was very useful to provide independence and the little sitting room had a lovely view over the well-kept garden, open fields and an Iron Age fort. Dennis was very helpful and chatty with all my questions and even donated a large bag for my packing efforts on the last morning. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean-burg...
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended, peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed it and thank you both for your friendliness, making us so welcome and your hospitality...esp considering the three kids I had in tow!
Lovely location so quiet with great accommodation...I hope to be back one day.
Highly recommended and a great location for Poole/Bournemouth, Weymouth and the New Forest.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolph S
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Delightful family from near Stuttgart.very polite and friendly.A pleasure to meet them and we would love to welcome them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing