We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our family holiday of a lifetime made even more...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mandalay

Mandalay viewed from pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay
Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Second cabana
Garden and treehouse
Mandalay's beautifully manicured grounds
Pool cabana and sun loungers
Mandalay illuminated at dusk
Master bedroom
Overlooking second cabana from master bedroom balcony
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Fresh local fruit breakfast, prepared by your chef
Mandalay's team of staff and its fleet of vehicles
Picking our own tea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Darga Town, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CollinsFa...
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our family holiday of a lifetime made even more perfect!”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There are not enough words to describe how wonderful our whole stay at Mandalay was! Our group of 6 (3 adults and 3 young children) were treated like royalty from start to finish, with Sudu and his staff doing everything possible to make our stay with them as relaxing as possible. 5* is not enough for this villa and certainly not high enough for the staff! From body boarding on Bentota beach, to a visit to the local fish market. Shopping in the local Monday market to river boat trips in the Mangroves.....so much variety to be as busy or relaxed as you wish. My family and I have made some true friends whilst in this beautiful country, especially at Mandalay and will be doing our upmost to book again as quickly as possible. Thank you Sudu for making our stay so special, you are a true gentlemen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff - unbeateable!
Liked least: The wifi is a little slow, but it is sufficient to maintain a link to home.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
Thank you all for your wonderful review. It is so nice to know that we are doing it right. I know it is so important to all at Mandalay that you have the best holiday ever.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola_C...
Wilmslow, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Faultless, just wonderful”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Mandalay Villa over the Christmas period as a group of three adults and three children for our first visit to Sri Lanka.
I cannot say enough nice things about our stay. From the second we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome, comfortable and very well looked after by Sudu and his team. Every positive comment you read on these reviews is accurate; whether it be about the stunning peaceful location; the lovingly cared for, spotless house; the delicious authentic freshly prepared food; or the incredible host Sudu, they are all just perfect, in fact, beyond perfection.
On returning to Sri Lanka in the future I can safely say I would not wish to stay anywhere else.
Our stay at Madalay reflected everything that is beautiful about Sri Lanka as a country and Sudu and the team reflect everything that is warm, welcoming, friendly and hospitable about the Sri Lankan people. Thank you for some amazing memories to be cherished forever.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
This is just wonderful. THANK YOU
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
njc1978
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Mandalay is a beautiful property situated on a small hill with a stunning view overlooking paddy fields, a river, marshland and jungle beyond on the edge of Dharga town. The house itself is lovely, and is very well maintained and furnished. It has a super range of TV channels, especially if you're a sports fan worried about missing their Sky Sports.
The gardens of the property are beautifully appointed, with an amazing display of flowers including hibiscus, orchids, jasmine, frangipani and numerous others I'm not familiar with, all surrounded by mango and coconut trees, attracting humming-birds, chipmunks, butterflies, fire-flies - a true tropical paradise! We also saw parrots, monkeys, monitors, chameleons and kingfishers. The pool at Mandalay was perfect for us and our 4 and 5 year old boys, having a separate shallow pool and shallow and deep end in main pool - where we were able to teach our 5 year old how to dive! The water was a lovely warm temperature despite not being artificially heated!
We absolutely loved this house, its setting and environment, and the abundant wildlife, however, what made this holiday amazing was how we were looked after by Sudu and his team! Sudu was there waiting for us on arrival at the airport to take us to Mandalay, and was always on hand, but also took time to visit us every morning to discuss our needs or trips for the day and week ahead. Sudu allowed us to get an insight into the Sri Lankan and Buddhist culture that would have been impossible as a normal tourist during a 2 week holiday! Sudu went out of his way to ensure we had a good holiday and was so warm and welcoming- a great guy with a lovely family, who made us feel like good friends rather than tourists!
The service we received during our stay at the house was way beyond expectations. We were met on arrival by Chataranga (sorry for spelling?) and Sanjay (?) with glasses of fresh juice for all. Chataranga is the 'house boy' and is such a nice guy, appearing at the crack of dawn to clean the pool then at meal times to serve and clean up, before cleaning bedrooms if desired. Sanjay is the genius cook who made us fat in 2 weeks. lol. We actually ate vegetarian for a good portion of our stay as his veggie dishes were so good we didn't miss meat at all - again a lovely guy! I should mention that the gardens are also kept in immaculate condition due to the efforts of the husband and wife gardeners who will have the gardening done and garden looking perfect before you get out of bed in the morning!
Before I finish the review I should mention Kim, the owner of Mandalay, who is a pleasure to deal with. I found her to be so helpful, offering advice, options and guidance with regards to our stay and potential trips.
Mandalay is the most perfect and complete holiday villa package that I have encountered, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone wanting to experience Sri Lanka. Thank-you Kim, Sudu, Lakeesha, Chataranga and Sanjay!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. I know everyone always tries to make your holiday special and when we know we have succeeded it makes us all very happy.
From Kim, Sudu and the Mandalay team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RabihF
Lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Amazing place and amazing people”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Mandalay, what a nice villa!!! we stayed there for a week in July 2014 and it was one of the best places we stayed in. We wish we booked it for longer. Our children still talk about it and ask us to go back. Kim the owner is a great person to deal with. Sudu the manager and his amazing family were the highlight of our holiday. They made us feel like we are members of the family. Even when our one and half year old girl had a small accident, Sudu did everything possible to help. The food that the chef cooked for us is so delicious and the fruit that Sudu provided every morning fresh from his garden is the best thing you can eat. The place is spotlessly clean, so beautiful and very calm. We loved being in the swimming pool and the super comfy loungers to relax on. The tree house was great for my son. You only need to think about a staff member and as if they read your mind, they appear. I already recommend it to all my friends. I can go on and on about Mandaly as there is so many wonderful things to talk about but all what I'm going to say is that if I visit Sri Lanka again I will only fo to Mandalay. Thank you Kim and a big big big thank you to Sudu and the family as you touched our hearts especially Liam and Ciara.
Well done!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa felt like you are walking in to your own home. Great quality furniture.
Liked least: The rain :)))))))
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordanlee...
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fireflys, frogs and humming birds”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I read all the reports before I rent a place because I can be very fussy. I read all, 26 in total, when I booked and initially thought it all looked too good to be true.
How wrong I was - where to start!
Inside first.
The place is exactly as the pictures show - probably better.
All rooms have a very large double bed and own bathroom.
One room has an additional single - but still loads of space this is upstairs.
Warm showers and clean surroundings.
All have a hairdryer and soap.
Large towels and additional beach / pool towels.
All beds have excellent mosquito nets and A/C.
Beds comfortable and A/C not noisy (no fans upstairs)
The living space down stairs (with one double bedroom) is excellent and two large doors lead out onto a covered veranda.
Plenty of seating and a TV with DVD player (selection of DVDs, games and decent books).
The kitchen is better than you average Sri Lankan Kitchen - plenty of everything and a washing machine.
Outside now - the best bit!
Fantastic views and lovely gardens (don't forget to leave a little tip for the gardener if you do that as I am sure he gets forgotten)
We saw humming birds, fireflies, frogs, lizards, woodpeckers, kingfishers, butterflies and monkeys stealing Mangos.
The pool is large, warm and very clean - we swam morning, afternoon, evening and late at night (it has lights in and around pool). It is cleaned daily and pumps go on every morning. There is a shallow end with an internal safety wall for little children.
The pool furniture and other garden furniture are of a very high quality - no plastic stuff just lovely wicker and wood.
We ate all our meals outside - this was another excellent treat.
All our meals were cooked for us and served to us.
Each morning we got fresh fruit, toast, juice and eggs if requested.
Each lunchtime we got soup, pancakes or spring rolls.
Each evening we got 4 currys, rice or noodles and often puppadoms
We went to the supermarket with Sudu and bought what his cook needed and extras we wanted like cornflakes, yogurt and beer and soft drinks (took about an hour on the first day). The first supermarket shop came to about £40 for a family of 4 ( we did one other at £30) and 3 vegetable shops of £10, £7 and £5. We also got some beer, about 50p a small can and some G and T (one word of warning just check that in the wine shop they charge you the right amount – they overcharged me by 1000RS = £5 – but Sudu went back and sorted this out)
The food was exceptional - my advice is buy the vegetables you like and the cook does wonders - Dhal, Spinach and Dhal, pumpkin okra and aubergine were our favs.
Lastly but definitely not least were the staff.
Sudu was extremely helpful and we had a lovely dinner with his wife Sita and 2 children. He checked on us every day and also asked us if we wanted to go anywhere everyday but we never felt pressurised to do anything. He took us to the train station one day to go to Galle and another day to the beach.
Kataranga looked after us with a smile everday – served our meals, washed up and cleaned our rooms everyday (we only needed this every 4 days but he always asked). He stopped and chatted most days but never invaded our space and family holiday - he got the balance exactly right.
Chef – produced the most fantastic currys I regret not getting the recipe for the aubergine or pumpkin one.
Alvis was the driver and he met and took us to and from the airport – drove carefully but got us there on time.
A fantastic holiday – thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being looked after
Liked least: Would have liked to have been in walking distance from a small town
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic really restful”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our 6 th visit to Mandalay, we had the most amazing stay, Sudu and his staff really looked after us . The house and gardens were as always neat clean and very tidy, we really loved the swimming pool and being able to relax and listen to the sounds of the jungle, and the local wildlife.
We were so sad to leave, and are looking forward to our next visit , hopefully next February, if it's not booked up that is, I know just how popular this villa is, so will contact Kim and book ASAP.
Many thanks to everyone for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeantyzac...
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful Villa in an idylic rural setting close to Bentota beach”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had been to Bentota before and love the beach and surrounding area.
As on this visit we were meeting up with 4 other friends we decided to forgo the hotel scene and try renting a house between us. We couldn't have chosen a better place, Mandalay is an absolute haven. Set in a beautiful rural area only 3 or 4k away from Bentota, as the kingfisher, sea eagle, or one of the other hundred or so different species of birds we saw, flies.
Exotic gardens overlooking paddy fields and bush land, and on clear days distant mountains. A paradise for tweeters, of the feathered sort, tho much to our disdain and our friends delight Mandalay has free wifi allowing those that would to twit and blog to their hearts content.
A delightful pool area without the battle of the beach chairs. 6 very comfortable loungers arranged under the shade pergola, no need to be up at dawn, towels in hand to stake your claim.
No bun fight at breakfast either, the table set on the verandah, with a very attentitive Kataranka at our beck and call. I feel sure had I taken longer to decide what to put on my, very decent, well cooked piece of toast, (what is it about Sri Lanka and the lack of ability to prepare decent toast) Kataranka would have spread the butter for me, and probaly hand fed me had I desired.
At first we were worried about being able to head into Bentota or Aluthgama when we wished, but this was no trouble at all, with the very amiable Sudu more than willing to drive us in any time we wished, with a pick up when ever we wanted.
As we were only there for 3 nights we decided to use the chef on all 3 of them. All 3 meals were delicious. At our request all were Sri Lankan curries, I'm sure if we'd have requested Western style he would have obliged, but why would you.
Finally a clamber up the magnificent tree house is a must. From where I feel sure, with a decent pair of binoculars, you could spy on those poor tourists fighting for space at the hotels on Bentota beach.
Any complaints. Yes. Why weren't we told upon our booking that 3 days would be no where near long enough. A problem we will rectify, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing