We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mandalay

Mandalay viewed from pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Certificate of Excellence
Excellent
43 reviews
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay
Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Second cabana
Garden and treehouse
Mandalay's beautifully manicured grounds
Pool cabana and sun loungers
Mandalay illuminated at dusk
Master bedroom
Overlooking second cabana from master bedroom balcony
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Dining room
Fresh local fruit breakfast, prepared by your chef
Mandalay's team of staff and its fleet of vehicles
Picking our own tea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Darga Town, Western Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirstenex...
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed here for a week just after Christmas. The house and grounds are exactly as described - well maintained, spacious and in a very quiet location. Sudu, the house manager, did everything possible for our holidays to be relaxing and fun: from the pick-up in Colombo to taking us shopping to planning dinners with us to sightseeing. He even invited us to his birthday party! The other staff were also very kind and attentive, keeping the house immaculate at all times.

We stayed here with children aged 6-13 and it was ideal. But I could also imagine it would be lovely for other groups or couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sudu, the house manager, was brilliant. And the cook helped us all gain weight!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Fantastic,beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

This was one of the best holidays we have ever had. The house was so lovely, clean and just like a home from home.The staff were fantastic, they made us feel so so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. I would recommend having the cook for a week, the food is wonderful, you get spoilt. The children enjoyed the pool, the wildlife and just spending time watching the chipmunks and other creatures in the garden. You are looked after well and you can go on any trips around Sri Lanka, that can be sorted out for you when you are there. I cannot wait to go back, roll on Easter!! Thankyou so much Kim and Sudu , from all the Clarke family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house with the views and the staff
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona A
Dhahran
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

From the time I started talking to Kim until the end of our trip everything went smoothly.
The house was everything we expected, the views are to die for! Best of all, Sudu and his team took such good care of us, we didn't want to leave! We tried out so many new foods, enjoyed the beautiful country and its gentle people. My kids are ready to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the people
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldglob...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Our best holiday - EVER!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Where do I start as the holiday/accommodation/service was outstanding.

We were met at the airport and taken to Mandalay where the staff were there to meet us - even though it was late at night and in the middle of a terrific storm. Immediately we were made to feel most welcome.

The house is lovely and in the most incredibly grounds with everything you could wish for and more and in addition, you have the pool which is fabulous. One morning I spotted Chattu (the house boy) cleaning the water line of the pool - I have never seen this done in the any hotel we have stayed in!! He kept everything immaculate.

We stayed at the house, toured with Sudu (the house manager) and then returned to Mandalay and I have to say that we have stayed in many hotels but have never EVER received the level of service we experienced here.

Kim the house owner doesn't rest on her laurels just because you have booked, she will suggest itineraries and check with you that everything is o.k.

If you are thinking of visiting Sri Lanka, don't look at any other accommodation as anything else will be second best. Experience a fabulous house in terrific grounds, part of a local village with the most incredible staff.

We can not recommend this accommodation enough. Thanks to Kim, Sudu, Chattu, DJ and of course Tracy for the best holiday EVER!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Perfect Holiday!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in December 2010

I took my elderly and disabled mother to Mandalay following the bereavement of my father. At first we were incredibly nervous of travelling to Sri Lanka as this was a new and unfamiliar country to us. From the outset the owner and the manager of the property were wonderful; supplying us with all the necessary information we would require and booking and arranging the tours and hotels. They could not have made it any easier for us, it was completely stress free!

Once we arrived in Sri Lanka we soon realised we were in very safe and capable hands as the staff at Mandalay couldn’t have been more friendly, courteous and helpful. Their hospitality was first rate; nothing was too much trouble for anyone. They were especially helpful to my mother who needed assistance getting into and out of vehicles as she uses crutches and with using a wheel chair.

We were very impressed with the house and gardens. The house is located in a quiet rural setting where we enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful and manicured garden, watching lots of fantastic wildlife and swimming in the wonderful pool.

During our holiday we stayed in five excellent hotels whilst touring various parts of Sri Lanka. However my mother and I both agreed that Mandalay was exceptional and was our favourite part of the trip. It is a fantastic property, spacious, extremely comfortable with stylish furnishings. It was immaculately clean and maintained to a very high standard. The house is perfect for a disabled traveller as there is a spacious ground floor room which is easily accessible and has an en-suite bathroom.

All of the meals we received at the property were very well cooked and extremely well presented. Every day the produce was fresh and was sourced from local markets. All of our dietary requirements and requests were fulfilled; nothing was a problem for the staff.

Every tour we went on was incredible, providing us with many wonderful memories. We visited Yala, Hunas Falls, Nuaraeliya, Kandy and Dambulla. We saw and learnt so much about Sri Lanka, its people and culture. As I am a Deputy Head Teacher I was able to collect some fantastic resources for my primary aged pupils who have subsequently enjoyed learning about this amazing country.

This was a fabulous holiday which we would definitely recommend to the individual traveller, couples and families. We would like to say a very sincere thank you to the owner of the property and to all of her fabulous staff who made us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mandalay house and gardens
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillyjazz
Upton upon Severn UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly, peaceful, relaxing place”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Just returned from this delighttful villa amidst paddy fields and set in glorious gardens. The accommodation is comfortable and a proper home. There are lots of places to sit both inside, on the verandah and in the gardens. The pool is beautiful and immaculately kept as is the property. Almost the best thing about it was the Manager and his attentive staff who made our holiday really special. Nothing was too much trouble. The chef cooked us some amazing meals and we were able to go to the markets and purchase the ingredients which is always fun. I urge anyone who wants an 'away from it all' holiday to go - we certainly will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful situation and atmosphere plus wonderful management
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in January 2011

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet location.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$191
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing