We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent value for money”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mandalay

Mandalay viewed from pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay
Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Second cabana
Garden and treehouse
Mandalay's beautifully manicured grounds
Pool cabana and sun loungers
Mandalay illuminated at dusk
Master bedroom
Overlooking second cabana from master bedroom balcony
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Fresh local fruit breakfast, prepared by your chef
Mandalay's team of staff and its fleet of vehicles
Picking our own tea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Darga Town, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JollyTrav...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Memorable Destination FOR ALL THE WRONG REASONS (AVOID)”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

WE WOULD NOT RECOMMEND MANDALAY for rental and would strongly advise families with children to avoid this property. Sadly we booked this property for our honeymoon and were deeply disappointed as Mandalay was a memorable destination but for all the wrong reasons.

At first the accommodation appeared to be lovely and we were keen to explore as many site seeing activities as possible. On the Site Managers recommendation we booked a trip to Kandy. But when we had returned from our night away we noticed that items in the downstairs bedroom (a room that we were not using) had moved, we found this very odd as the whole property and garden was booked for our sole use and now felt uneasy about the security of the property and our belongings.

Later in the holiday we planned to go to Yala National Park for another overnight stay but at the last minute decided to stay at Mandalay. It was that day to our horror that a man arrived and sat outside our property with the Site Manager, followed some time after by a woman. We were bathing by the pool and the presence of these strangers outside our holiday home made us feel very uncomfortable so we asked them to leave but they ignored our requests and went into the downstairs bedroom of our rented property and started to undress. We were very angry at this point and demanded that the man and the woman selling her personal services leave the property. Following this we looked around the property in more detail and found condom wrappers and KY jelly on top the clothes cupboard in two of the bedrooms, including the bedroom that we were using. Because people were accessing the property in our absence and because we had filmed the property being used as a brothel we no longer felt our property or persons were safe and were advised by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to vacate the property. We were left to find alternative accommodation for the remainder of the honeymoon at our expense.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The weather
Liked least: Property was being accessed by strangers during our rental
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2012
Kim Lafdi -owner-

I am responding to the unsubstantiated, malicious, damaging, allegations that were made by these guests.

There was nothing moved in the downstairs bedroom as there was nothing in it, the room was unoccupied. The house boy would go in there to get clean laundry and towels as that is where it is stored.

I DO make a full apology for my manager who allowed his friend - a political minister for Sri Lanka and his wife of 25 years - to use the room. He called and asked if he could use the shower and change into clean clothes as he was on his way to a political meeting in Hambantota. My manager said yes, he should not have done so and will never do so again. My clients setup their video camera on a tripod directed at the bedroom then walked into the bedroom taking pictures. The minister was wearing a towel as he had just showered and his wife who was not showering had her clothes ON at all times. For THIS to constitute my house being called a brothel and the ministers wife a prostitute is damaging and unforgivable.

My house is kept spotless but after a thorough search ONE condom and jelly packet were found on top of a 6 foot 6 inch high hand made double wardrobe. Unfortunately when cleaning they did not take into account the type of guest that would climb onto a chair to inspect the top of wardrobes.

The guests asked for 2 nights money as they chose to leave early, this was deposited into their account immediately and my driver also took them to the airport which is where they requested.There was NO expense to them at all.

I have had 43 guests stay at my house in the last 18 months and have NEVER received anything but the most wonderful reports from EVERYBODY.

My 4 staff are devastated and cannot understand what they are talking about.Prostitution except a little in the capital Colombo is virtually unheard of in Sri Lanka and if this review was not so damaging and dangerous then it would be laughable.

To any future guests please take into account all the other reviews and I assure you, you will have a truly wonderful holiday FOR ALL THE RIGHT REASONS.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed January 14, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service, the garden and the view
Liked least: the mosquitos
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed January 3, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: The mosquitoes
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review my staff said it was a pleasure having you there
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 22, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden,food, service, house,pool
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2012
I am so pleased that you were looked after so well and look forward to you returning
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House & view
Liked least: Loved everything
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing