We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bristol Motel

Bristol Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bristol Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upper Hutt
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed for 3 months on business. No cooking facility in my room, but local food is close.
The room was basic but clean, the bathroom gets damp on cold days but heater on with window open soon fixed that. Quiet location away from bustle. Proprieters very friendly and helpful. Bargain price for long term.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalotnzTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here for the 2nd time in 6 months. The room was clean & comfortable. Helen was very helpful & friendly and enjoyed hearing what we had been doing over the 4 days we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I would have to rate this as the best place to stay in Wellington, for quietness at least. The reasons I state this are the following... Only thing is I am conscious that upon noting it with others of its appeal, others may commercialise it and otthers flock there, thereby affecting it's cul de sac nature. It's laid back, rustic feel to it / country atmosphere, though in the heart of the Hutt. If yer like me yer want quiet place to stay in Wellington, then this it, as trains prevalent in Wellington area for sat overs, but not there in the hutt, and it's off the main st.

Of course it's not perfect so wish to highlight other points, maybe looking as 'bad' points. I noticed in my room, light/power switches etc, were visibly marked and dirty / unclean from at least the previous guests, though the feel overall for me was that of rusticness. I just cleaned these areas myself. If TV3 NZ Target were there they would've homed in on them. There were no post areas for me to appraise the motel as a guest for the host(s) to consider, nor offered me same. One thing (only my opinion of course) Helen is more amicable in reception than that of her partner. I found him to be somewhat cold as opposed to the friendly warm inviting nature of Helen. I was talking with him before leaving, and he just walked off, saying no more, which I (even if I didn't like me, wouldn't do as a host of a motel to a guest). I could put this down to being the general mentality of the general public of Wellington being different in personal attributes than say Chch or Dn people, etc. It's a good thing to have an opportunity to place feedback at the motel, but no real opportunity to do same by host given oir available. Yet it might be a good idea for them to look into this together, as it's like after sales service which I personally found lacking (once money taken, they leave yer to it). The other thing to bring to the table is there's no negotiating fee, which I rather have available from a consumer point of view for obvious reasons. The night I went there, had no other guests about, so it's not like the competition was high and sought after for a stay there. I had stayed at this motel about 6 years ago, previous owner was negotiable and better suited to the motel industry, but mostly this motel itself ROX given the poor competition elsewhere Well!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MX5owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Had booked this property over the internet as it looked quite good. In reality it is cold, old, dark and tired. The 'family' room was a combined lounge/bed area with two beds and a tiny two seater couch and a massive flat screen TV on the wall ( not sure how the 'family' was to be seated in here as there was not enough room to put the cat down, let alone swing it). The tiny kitchen was towards one end of the room, fitted out with the usual items and was adequate. The small main bedroom had a queen and a single, which was minus a leg so it sagged. The heating in the room didn't work, so the 'host' provided a two bar electric heater, which we had turned on nearly all the time as the rooms were freezing thanks to the panes of glass missing in the toilet, which ran and dripped all night long. The bathroom has been renovated, like the rest of the brick-built unit where everything has been painted over with grey paint, but was still a shower over a bath. Towels etc adequate. The bathroom door was also off it's runner and couldn't be put back, so you had to actually lift it out of the way to enter the bathroom and rest it against the wall. A group of workmen were staying long term in the surrounding units, and having to trawl through their mud and mess of boots and cigarette butts morning and evening was the pits, as was their laughter and talking all night long outside our room while they smoked. It looks as it is, an old and tired hotel with a coat of paint. On hearing where we were staying, our relations offered us a room for the second night of our stay, however the 'host' wouldn't allow us to terminate even giving with 24 hour's notice, not even when appealing to their 'better side'. Regardless of this, given the state of the room, the inadequacy of the description 'family room???" and the run-down state, I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Upper Hutt hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed here for two weeks after a nightmare in a hotel in Wellington. Barry and Helen go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable. We stayed in the family studio which would comfortably sleep 5 people. I had a king size bed and there were 3 other single beds. The bathroom is a bit cold but you don't usually get bad winters in New Zealand and you are not in the bathroom that often. We had a bath and a shower in our unit and the bath was massive. There are electric blankets in every bed and the units are serviced daily. There is Internet access at the local library which is about a half hours walk away or about 10 minutes by car with a public car park right next door. Helen even went to the bother of giving me a lift to a job interview. How many people do you know who would do that? I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich,england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

after a nightmare start to our stay in wellington we came across this little gem of a place. the hosts were friendly and very accommodating to our needs and requests. the studio was spacious and clean. flat screen t.v., microwave and hob, sink but no draining board though. bathroom was a little chilly in the mornings too. no bath but very large shower. new towels everyday and beds made. if staying for more than two nights opt for the larger room. this is a nice alternative to staying in wellington many guests come back year after year as we discovered when we were staying there.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — no internet/ cold bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Hutt
1.0 mi away
Wallaceville House
Wallaceville House
#1 of 2 in Upper Hutt
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trentham Motel on the Park
Trentham Motel on the Park
#2 of 6 in Upper Hutt
33 reviews
3.0 mi away
Silverstream Retreat
Silverstream Retreat
#6 of 14 in Lower Hutt
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Totara Lodge
Totara Lodge
#2 of 3 in Upper Hutt
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hawk's Inn Motel
Hawk's Inn Motel
#6 of 6 in Upper Hutt
30 reviews
8.1 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#2 of 14 in Lower Hutt
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Motel

Property: Bristol Motel
Address: 8-10 Bristol Street, Upper Hutt 5018, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Upper Hutt
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upper Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing