We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harcourts Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Bristol Motel(Upper Hutt)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wallaceville House(Upper Hutt)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Totara Lodge(Upper Hutt)(Great Value!)
$84
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawk's Inn Motel(Upper Hutt)
$100
$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elderslea Manor(Upper Hutt)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matahari(Upper Hutt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
10
16
13
8
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
16
13
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstourist flatswalks of lifewould stay here againplaygroundparksmotelmeaningcaravanponyteenagerssunshine
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 64 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2009

I understand some of the issues people are complaining about and Harcourts should take heed to these but we always stay at Harcourts when travelling from one island to the other and have always found the rooms ok. The beds were good, clean bedding, towels available, all neat and tidy and there was a heater we didn't really need. It depends on the room you book. We booked the decent family kitchen units behind the main office. There's a pull out double bed which doubles as a lounge couch during the day, a double or queen bed in the main room and a single bed next to it. It has an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a small dining table for 4. The only things I could complain about is that the TV worked but there was no reception, so very snowy on all channels. When I move into any motel room I check under the beds for bugs, dirt, spiders etc. and have never found any such visitors in the rooms and no cobwebs. If you just pay the extra $20 you can find yourself in a great little space. No shared bathroom and toilet facilities because you'll have your own. It's a place to over night really, a place to rest for a day or two before taking the road again. There's not much to do at the holiday park itself but you can visit the lovely Te Papa Museum or walk the beautiful grounds and parks nearby. It's not a place for people with great entertainment needs but you can be entertained elsewhere. I like Harcourts because it's never packed to the rafters when I've been there and it's quiet, tranquil and the units are well spaced and private. The owners live there and are civil, not over-friendly but who cares about that, you aren't living with them, you have your own private unit. I admit, they could be friendlier but they're just not. Maybe they smile inside but show no exterior emotion. We've never had problems with them, just pick up and drop off our keys and go on our way. Warning to children, the pony gives a good nip so watch those fingers.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryke999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We had booked in for two nights into a Kitchen Cabin through their website. We arrived late on the Saturday night and had to rush straight out so didn't have time to really inspect the room, although we noticed that the room was nothing like the photo on the website. We got back later and discovered there was no heater or anyway to heat the room.

It snowed that night and we froze, if it hadn't been for our thermal sleeping bags we would have been even more uncomfortable. The room was basically an implement shed that had been lined with gib. The carport was full of horse blankets that stunk. The kitchen oven was really old, and there was an old zip on the wall.

In the morning I also noticed the cobwebs, and the huge gap under the door. Also one of the window catches was broken.

The experience got worse when we went to reception about 9.30am. We asked for an upgrade or cabin change, but were told they were booked. I asked for a heater and was given a small fan heater (which would have done nothing). We asked if they would refund our second night and were told by the young man behind the counter that his dad had to decide that and he was in the shower. We had to leave so decided to find somewhere else and then come back.

We found somewhere else to stay and then went back to Harcourts around midday. We packed up our belongings, and went to reception to give the key back. This time the father was out of the shower. He was extremely rude and refused point blank to refund any money as we had booked in advance for two nights. He made no excuse for the 'cabin' we had been put in, and said they had made some effort in giving us a heater. When I mentioned the photo on the website being misleading he logged on just to see what I was talking about as he 'didn't think there was a photo of a kitchen cabin on the website'. Once he had been proven wrong he took some money from the till, threw half of the nights accommodation at us and told us that was all he would refund.

At this point we left. We will never stay here again and are making sure that everyone we speak to knows how grotty it is and how rude the staff are.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kiwi_redhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We found our time here the most disappointing during our international visit. We arrived to our accommodation to find a small room with the double bed so badly sagging we could see it from the door. The electric blankets did not work, the fridge was so noisy that we had to turn it off at the wall, the chair at the front was badly frayed, and broken. The room was full of flying ants including in the beds, leaving our daughter with bites on her back. Upon requesting another room we found their customer sevice to be rude, con descending, and misbelieving, however, they did give us another room. This room was suppose to be "soundproof" and also had underfloor heating, we found this had neither. We heard other travellers arriving, late at night. We couldn't feel any underfloor heating, the only heating came from a heated towel rail. When picking up the key, again we found his customer service the same as before. We booked our accommodation over the internet, again poor customer service, after a couple of days, we had to email them to confirm our booking, we were advised that the accommodation that we requested was unavailable, yet when my cousin booked after us, he was given accommodation that we requested. We were also invited, by the manager, to use the onsite BBQ facilities (see photo ) we declined.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank janrob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

You Couldn't ask for much more really great service!! excellent rooms my stay was perfectly comfortable i would reccommend this inn to all my family and friends :)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stormiee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

this holiday park is the worst in the region, i advise no one to go there, they are very un helpfull, very rude, and disgusting customer service help and support, they wont help no one and dont allow people to book one night at a time, they only allow people to book 3 nights at a time. I advise not to book via email as he does not respond.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank bside89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews