We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Stunning Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wallaceville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wallaceville House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upper Hutt
Certificate of Excellence
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our return from the South Island. The grounds are private. Large and just beautiful. Loved the white doves. Lovely clean room and bedding. Park like grounds which hold many weddings are quiet and completely private. We will definately return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamHouse, Owner at Wallaceville House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We hope you made it home safely after your trip to the South Island. The dove is still here flying around. It was released at a wedding here and decided it liked it so much it would stay on. We will pass on to our housekeeping staff your great comments about the cleanliness of the room as they are very proud of what they do and appreciate it being noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
31
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Drive up from Wellington to Upper Hutt and you enter the Wallaceville Motor Lodge through trees that lead you to what look like the grounds of a country house. The welcome is friendly and helpful.

The rooms themselves are across the lawn from the main house. They are spacious, with separate kitchen area and seating near the windows and balcony (or patio) that overlooks the garden.

This was, undoubtedly, one of the best places we stayed on our holiday.

The only disappointment was that the Wallaceville follows the NZ fixation with supplying only small amounts of metered data for the wi-fi. Within an hour, or so, we had to back and plead for more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Savik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Wallaceville House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We were so thrilled to hear this was the best place you stayed while on your holiday. That is very high praise indeed given the amount of accommodation you had stayed in. Our wifi is free but we normally ask what it is you want to do and if you are only going to write and check emails, the standard voucher we give out would normally easily cover this. Thanks for your feedback though we very much appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel and the surrounding are a prefect setting for a pleasant day and a romantic evening. Not very far away from restaurants and shopping areas yet very peaceful. The garden, rooms and car parking all have a very picturesque setting. All in all, if u are on a holiday looking a for place to stay near wellington, have no doubts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Wallaceville House, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review. It is always great to receive positive feedback and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington nz
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Went to the murder mystery show and stayed the night, had a really great time, wonderful not having to worry about driving home late at night.
Rooms nice and clean, bathroom a bit dated, but perfectly alright.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WellingtonNzSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Wallaceville House, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
I am glad to hear you had a great night at the Murder Mystery and took the opportunity to stay a night in one of our motel rooms. We acknowledge the bathrooms are probably at a stage where they need updating, but I have to be honest and say with the global financial crisis of the last 5 years and then more recently our insurance premiums tripling after the Christchurch earthquake, there has just not been the available funds to refit the bathrooms. We try and overcome this by making sure the rooms are all spotlessly clean and the grounds always in tip top shape. We are really hoping to be able to do the bathrooms in our winter season of 2014. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback as it certainly helps us to know what is most important to our guests and what we need to work on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My daughter recently got married at Wallaceview House. The Venue was lovely. She had her service down by the Gazebo, her reception upstairs in the ballroom, and the bridal suite for the night was included. Her cousins and other members of the family stayed in the accommodation on site. The food was great, the staff were great, all in all a fantastic place to have a wedding, or any celebration for that fact and together with accommodation being on site it meant that people could have a drink and not worry about driving. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you have children and are say two couples with children then Rooms 1 and 2 on the ground floor ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJnJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Wallaceville House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your very detailed review. We are so glad you all enjoyed the wedding, we definitely enjoyed having you here. We actually have 4 interconnecting rooms which are ideal for families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Wallaceville House is a welcoming place to stay. The accommodation was excellent and well serviced. The owners were very helpful and everyone we met was very friendly. The setting is beautiful and car parking was ample

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helentweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Wallaceville House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you Helen for giving us a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to NZ and your stay in our Motor Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wallaceville Motor Lodge is far prettier than its picture in brochures and its main house is a gem in itself. Sitting on a hill-side just outside of Upper Hutt and offering very comfortable rooms, we much enjoyed our overnight stay. In contrast to urban motels, B&Bs and commercial hotels this ‘retreat’, offers an ‘escape’ for the weary traveler. The House, where weddings are held is magnificent in every way. Beautiful wooden staircases and ceilings, function rooms and landings, all are worth a visit. The owner could not have made us more welcome and any minor problems were immediately overcome. We strongly recommend the Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Wallaceville House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review. It is interesting to say you feel the property is far prettier in real life than the picture in our brochure. It has prompted us to book a photographer and get some new photos taken which will showcase Wallaceville House in its best light. We very much appreciate the invaluable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Hutt
18.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
18.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Silverstream Retreat
Silverstream Retreat
#6 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bristol Motel
Bristol Motel
#2 of 2 in Upper Hutt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Totara Lodge
Totara Lodge
#2 of 3 in Upper Hutt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallaceville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallaceville House

Property: Wallaceville House
Address: 2 Wallaceville Road, Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Upper Hutt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upper Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallaceville House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wallaceville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing