We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor compared to other campsites in New Zealand”

Paekakariki Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paekakariki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paekakariki Holiday Park
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor compared to other campsites in New Zealand”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The site and location are fine. However the facilities are poor and dirty. The toaster is spotless but this is because it is broken and doesnt work. The kichen and toilet block are both dirty. The water in all three showers trickles and remains cold. Nothing to add other than I would not recommend this site.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Enders2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We intended to book a 70th Birthday Holiday for my father including fishing charter and tour of Kapiti. We paid $400 deposit to hold lodge, prices for other cabins kept changing and were not consistent between staff, the lodge was able to cater up to 30 people but only able to supply linen/bedding for 4 people. The manager was rude (however one of the ladies in reception was nice) including treatment to my parents so we cancelled 2 weeks prior to event and had to forfeit $400 we were not impressed and will not recommend to any friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HKing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paekakariki hotels

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We first stayed here 3 years ago when both our beautiful dogs were still with us and we stayed in the Dog Bay. We had checked the camp out several weeks before hand and had chosen a site which we booked. When our holiday was upon us we made our way to Paekakareki Camp and booked in and went to our site. Set up and relaxed into our 2 week holiday. The following day we were enjoying the whole thing of being in this wonderful place for 2 whole weeks.......A woman approached us and informed us we were on her site. No we said we booked this site 6 weeks ago and confirmed it when we arrived.........Fast forward three years and here we are again and had followed the same procedure of checking out the spots and making a choice of site booking it three weeks hence and going home looking forward to our two week holiday. The arrived and we turned up at the camp and got our password and proceeded to our site......yes you've guessed it someone was on our site. We had some of the other campers come to our rescue and we ended up in the next bay on a very good site for us, so no harm done. On the whole we have enjoyed our stay at this camp and continue to go back. There is a great coffee shop pizza place pub fish and chips beach and walks. Close to Wellington and Raumati Paraparaumu, What more could you ask for!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gem059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We discovered Paekakariki Holiday Park through friends of ours 3 years ago and highly recommend it to families who want a safe place to stay with their children. We’ve stayed in January and were there for 5 nights again over easter. It seems everyone knows about it now because the camp was full with happy campers and a lot of children having a great time. For such a full on weekend the facilities were kept clean and the staff super friendly – they even had someone come and show the children the eels and to talk about how they need to be protected. This was one of the highlights of our childrens stay. We appreciate the staunch approach taken by management to keep this camp family friendly and somewhere we want to return each year. Roll on summer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nardia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We travelled from Taupo to Paekakariki so that we could spend two nights prior to travelling to the South Island. It is in a well maintained position, very close ro the beach. You can hear the waves at night which makes for a very peaceful place to stay. My husband needs power, water and drainage for his dialysis machine and the staff where very helpful in choosing a site for us. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with friends and family on a recommendation of others and were greeted by the a female manage whose best described as a "pit bull" with a poor, non-service focused attitude! Rubbish and recycling bins overflowed into nearby camp sites and pathways, appalling! On a positive note, its located near the beach with some great activities for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over Easter and had we not already payed, would have left. The woman at reception spoke to us as if we were intending to hoodwink her somehow. Other people at the site said they'd also found her rude. The site is near the beach, in park setting with streams and lovely walks. There are playgrounds for children and also BBQ, kitchen, laundry and bathroom facilities. Nevertheless, we shall not be staying again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paekakariki
5.9 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
18.2 mi away
Wellington Top 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Finn's Paekakariki
Finn's Paekakariki
#1 of 1 in Paekakariki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
5.6 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
9.0 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paekakariki Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paekakariki Holiday Park

Property: Paekakariki Holiday Park
Address: Wellington Road, Paekakariki, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paekakariki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Paekakariki
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Paekakariki Holiday Park Hotel Paekakariki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing